Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 12 reviews
on October 2, 2013
As a musician I've trusted JBL live sound reinforcement as top of the pack. These floor standing home units are incredibly accurate
all the way down to 40hrz.
The bottom isn't over the top but if you want pleasant real sound you will not be disappointed.
I run them with a high quality 80's receiver/amp at 32 honest watts per side, The result is very good.
With the 100 real watts they could handle I image they would satisfy most. cheers
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2012
I bought a pair of these for about 500.00 from Amazon over Christmas. There were few reviews on the Internet and most of them complained about the looks. Since these were to be used in my "dad's" off to the side home theater, I did not care about looks. I had just installed a pair of JBL JRX125's in our church and found their sound to be outstanding, so I gave these 190's a try. Four dollar next day air shipping and they showed up. My friend the Fedex driver was straining to deliver them, which seemed like a good sign.

I powered the 190's with a Pioneer VSX-1121 home theater receiver. The sound is excellent for the price. While the grills look a little unusual, they don't look that bad. Besides, I'm not looking at them, I'm listening to them. The bass is strong, but not boomy, the mid range is outstanding, and the highs are not overwhelming. It was the mid range response that sold me on these speakers. In this price range, lows and highs are usually emphasized and the mid range is left out. Not so with the 190's.

If you want sound that is professional level, and will, if you ask for it, blow down the walls, then you need two JRX125's, a crown XTI2000, and source material. On the hand, if you just want good sound in a small room, the 190's are hard to beat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2014
Nice quality speakers that sound excellent. Driving them with my NAD 2600A power envelope which is 150w rms per channel, 4.7 db dynamic headroom, and has a large current capability. The only complaint I have with them is the fact that they ARE inefficient. They will also find any weak spots in your amplifier system as they do present a significant load on the power amp. But if you have good gear these should work very well for you. Dont let the little 6" woofers fool you- they pound out surprisingly large amounts of bass that is actually quite lively and quick in transient response. No port noise whatsoever. The midrange and upper register is nice and clear sounding with no signs of sibilance. The only other slight issue is that the grilles are a REAL pain to remove. Be patient taking them off to avoid broken pegs!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2013
I am absolutely floored by the sound quality of these speakers at this price point. I have heard many speakers that retail for $1,000 to $2,000 that do not sound near as good as these speakers. I don't know how JBL did it but these speakers are a tremendous value.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2013
I think JBL products are fantastic they have great looks fantastic sound I'm very pleased with them and would recommend them to anyone who loves good sounding music
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
Great looking as well as good quality. Bought them for our daughter and son-in-law for Christmas and they love them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2014
Great sound. You need to run a sub with these.
Love them. So I ordered the 130 rear speakers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
Hard to beat this amazon deal and they do sound pretty good. Slightly better sensitivity might help. At 80w per channel on a Pioneer VSX-1022k, I have to raise the volume just a little higher than I would prefer to get full sound. Full sound is pretty good though.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
I have no complaints at all with this product. They sound amazing whether i am playing Mussorgsky, Type O Negative, and everything in between. They are good enough that owning them has been similar to when you get a good set of headphones - suddenly i am hearing parts of the music that i previously hadn't known existed. I can't think of a single criticism of this product.

The strength of this product is its wonderful balance of sound regardless of amplitude or frequency.

I removed the grill covers and they look great for my purposes, but be aware that these speakers definitely do not have a traditional aesthetic. They look wonderful surrounding my bookshelves, but judge the looks for yourself and buy accordingly ;)

-greg frohring
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here