Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

JLab Audio Bombora Over the Ear Headphones with Universal Mic - Midnight Black / Gunmetal
Style: Glossy|Color: Midnight Black / Gumetal|Product Packaging: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$33.59 - $49.99

on January 27, 2018
I've purchased probably a dozen jlab earbuds over the years. This is my first over-ear headphones from jlab and I'm not nearly as satisfied with these as I have been with other jlab products. They sound to me as if there is a layer of cardboard between the speaker and my ear. The mid-bass overwhelms, the highs sound muffled to me, and the presence is just not there. The ear foam makes an obnoxious crinkling sound that happens from the slightest movement like moving your jaw. I think some attenuation could make a small improvement but I would prefer something that just sounds pleasing out of the box. Maybe I shouldn't expect as much from a $40 pair of headphones, after all, in the spectrum of headphones, these are cheap.

UPDATE: 2/5/2018
I've had these 8 days now. The sound may have improved ten percent or so I presume from break-in, or maybe just getting used to them. Still not phenomenal. The little button on the cord broke, the cover fell off and I don't know where it went. In the past Jlab has been good with their warranty but for this, I won't worry about it, just cosmetic. I have a pair of Bluetooth Omni headphones on the way. Omni cost 2.5 X as much but get better reviews in regards to sound so the Bombora are about to be stowed. I like to shop on a budget and try to find things that work well but cost less. Unfortunately, these didn't really cut it for me so you don't necessarily save money every time that way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 5, 2017
There are certain items such as this that I tend to wait to review for good cause. While many reviews claimed that it was as good as Skull Candy, I don't believe they adequately followed up. I bought one for each of my kids who are quite responsible. They both said they loved the sound and having a mic for when calls came it was great. Unfortunately, the speakers blew out after only 3 months. The supposed "no tangle" wire frayed off and the cords tangled all the time.

Now I realize that $14 may not seem much but I've purchased Memorex ones from frys that lasted longer than this. It's package in phenomenal packaged, the headrest cel cushion is great but the speaker quality duration just doesn't cut the mustard. Sure, sure maybe they listened too loud bladdy bladdy blah. Not my kids because I always check their levels.

Additionally, the colors they came in were more muted compared to their vibrant picture counterparts. I absolutely can't stand manipulating colors through photography.Just show what the ACTUAL product looks like.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 26, 2017
These headphones are really great! I bought myself a pair a year or so ago and they held up really well.

The real test was when I went looking for headphones for my kids and every pair of cute kid's headphones fell apart in a week. Even the most "durable" branded kid's just couldn't last. I finally broke down and out of frustration, got them each a pair of these as my last resort. I regret not doing it sooner! They've survived a cross-country trip, and several months of regular use by a 4 and 7 year old, at that! Ive had to replace the wire a few times and pop the cushions back on but that's user damamge, not a faulty product. A regular AUX wire works just fine. They can really take a beating and still keep working.

Im very happy with my purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2016
I am really surprised that I have to write such a negative review of a J Labs product. But the quality of this product is extremely disappointing. I bought these for my son and in less than two weeks, the ear pad separated from the headphone. To make things worse, I contacted J Labs about registering the product and acquiring a replacement, but they have yet to respond and it's been nearly a week since I emailed them. I have been a huge J Labs fan for a few years and have been very satisfied with a number of their products, but something has changed with their company over the course of the past year. I hope that this is a misstep on their part as I now have to look at other options when I need replacement headphones.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 22, 2014
Now I am no audiophile or those lousy in-store djs, but I intend to use a headphone for recreational uses like walking in the concrete jungle, running away from cops in style, or simply relax and listen to some tunes. The audio portion of it is simply good, so don't go expecting as if you were in a Van Halen concert wedge between a pair cleavage and stereo speaker, the sound suit just fine and you can always adjust it through your own personal equalizer in the phone and whatever else stereos you may got which will amplify the sound. The comfort is far excellent, soft and snuggle like a Mr snuggle the bear, the quality is quite bloody nice, faux leather (good thing because I am terribly allergic to real leather), the cord is detachable which is neat, despite the weird slant angle of the plug but no biggie. Oh I got this really fast, faster than Superman, I literally ordered it on Sunday and then bam! next day right when I got woken up by delivery man, I even asked him what day it was just to be sure I did not drunk and stone myself for a long excessive days.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 5, 2016
I currently own different 4 pairs of headphones for a variety of uses. All have their pros and cons, but my Bombora headphones are my current favorite. A little context- I'm plugged into headphones of one type or another 8-10 hours a day. I usually work in crowded and noisy spaces (airports, coffee shops, etc.)

Apple Ear Pods-
I got the new Apple "Ear Pods" with my phone. They are the most comfortable in-ear headphones I've ever owned, but they let way too much background noise in for my taste. I can imagine these would be great for parents with small kids or work in an office (basically anywhere where background noise might not be such a problem)

Bowers & Wilkins P5 Mobile Headphones-
Initially planning on purchasing the Bose QC 15 Acoustic Noise Canceling Headphones, I picked up the P5's instead after being blown away in a sided by side comparison. The P5's are "on ear" headphones. They sound incredible, but if I wear them over an hour they really start to hurt, and the leather ear-pads don't do much for breathability (they get a bit sweaty).

J.Fi Acoustic Natural Ebony Wood and Metal Fusion Earphones-
My first exposure to J Lab, and I was blown away. The earbuds look great, they sound incredible, and have some of the deepest bass from any earbud I've ever heard. They come with an absurd number of fittings so finding the most comfortable option is a cinch. If you're looking for earbuds, that's what I recommend.

Which brings us to the Bombora.

Based off the quality and value I got from the earbuds, I had pretty high expectations, and the Bombora easily exceeded them. Here are a few of my favorite features-

- Sound Quality is incredible. The range is fantastic, and it doesn't matter if you're listening to spoken audio (like podcasts), acoustic tunes, even loud instrumental/dubstep type music. It all sounds amazing.

- Beautiful design. I picked up the "TEKST Edition". The colors pop, they are super glossy, and they look amazing in person. Not sure if it was a promotion or regular deal, but they were priced the exact same as the other colors. Worth every penny.

- Finally, the flat (& detachable!) nylon cord- Usually at the end of the day I crumple up my headphones and toss them in my bag. The cord is unique. It doesn't knot up like most headphone cords. And the fact that it's detachable means... replaceable.

- Comfort is top notch. There is super soft memory foam along the outer edge, but the shape of the cushion allows your ear to fit inside with ease.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2017
Why I bought these headphones: I was looking for something that would be comfortable, able to fit over my large ears while wearing glasses and sit comfortably for extended periods of time. In that regard, these headphones are great.

Issues with the headphones:

1. Ear cushions were very poorly attached. Within a couple days of normal use, the cushions started peeling, and within a week one completely detached. As far as I could tell, there was nothing keeping them on apart from some kind of weak adhesive (which obviously failed quickly). I remedied this issue by applying superglue to reattach the cushions.

2. Cord is very short (3 or 4 feet). Consider getting an extension cord.

3. No volume control. I guess this might be expected for a product like this at this price range so can't complain too much.

Overall pretty decent headphones at a very low price. A+ in terms of comfort. Sound quality also seems pretty good (though I'm by no means an audiophile). Just be aware that you will probably want to also get an extension cord and some superglue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 17, 2016
Originally left a 4 star rating. But after owning them for about 6 months, minimal use. The cover quite disappointed. They haven't really held up to minimal/medium usage over the time Ive owned them. The little plastic piece where the microphone is has somehow come off leaving the electronic components visible. It's now only going to be a matter of time before either a drop of rain or something gets on the internal electric components now, since its not covered, and once that happends the headphones will be completely and entirely useless.
Since the piece that broke off is the area where the microphone is located, im not even able to cover it with electric tape to try to shield the components from the elements as if i do, it will interfere with the microphone. :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 21, 2016
These headphones rock, I ordered a second pair since I love them so much. Great sound, they rival my Sony Monitor headphones. Very very comfortable. The brown and gold was what was on sale at the time. I actually love the color. The cord it came with was short, and thin, and rubbery. I replaced it a brown and gold braided cord: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01HXRGP4M/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Love these!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 3, 2016
Ive read the reviews and one that cought my eye was when someone said they beat aviator skullcandy headphones out of the water... well me i own a pair and let me tell you, they do beat em out of the water. Here are the reasons
1: they are 15 dollars
2:they have very good bass support
And 3: they are over ear headphones that are equavilant to beats by dr. Dreah.

You cant beat these heaphones.
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse