Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 42 reviews
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 7, 2013
What is in the box

Case
4 rubber bumpers
Test cloth for submersion

Setup

Before you trust this device, you must see if this is seaworthy. Place the test cloth inside and submerge the case. If the cloth is dry, then you're set. If not, you'll need an exchange.

Using an iPad 4, I used the four rubber bumpers on the rear inside corners of the case. I snapped the case shut using the 5 rubber clasps.

Construction

Hard plastic frame with a polypropylene face and back. There are rubber seals in the seams. It adds some serious bulk in thickness and width so I don't see this as a full time use. Only with sitting in the jacuzzi or hot tub (or sitting by my pool) would I practically use it.

Use

The touch screen works ok. However, there is no way to take up the slack so when you type you are pushing on "bubbles". The home button is accessible. There is a port for the headset. Aside from that, you don't have access to the power button, the toggle switch or the volume. There is no adapter for the charging plug, either. So it's essentially as use as you go item.

The headset jack protrudes out along the rear and I'm surprised that they didn't make this flush with the case.

The front and back are clear enough to allow use of the cameras.

It would work well if you're traveling and want to be poolside with the iPad. If you're swimming or wading in the pool and you cannot be without your Facebook or twitter account, then this is pretty good. The shear size makes it impractical for every day use. Typing is a pain. The buttons along the bottom of the virtual keyboard is harder to press because of the poor fit of the front film. I have increased my typographical errors typing this review for all of you to read, so typing efficiency drops.

It smells like one of those blow up beach balls and the film is likely made of the same material.

If dropped, it would likely dent the back of the iPad because of the placement of the speaker port. Poorly thought out in my opinion. However, this seems to beat an overpriced ziplock bag which is essentially what the other designs give you.

Sound transmission is actually decent. It sounds like it is actually louder because of how sound is reflected within the housing.

The camera works without a significant distortion or aberration despite the imperfection of incomplete contact.

This is far from perfect, as you have read, but I still like it. I won't ding the company too badly. At least they thought outside the box. Universal cases are never perfect for any one device.

Conclusion

If you're willing to put up with some of the quirks, then I think it's worth trying this out for the water faring, water daring electronic loving technophiles out there.

Eagle Vision still gives this a two thumbs up.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
This is a great case that worked perfect. It's durable and extremely easy. But if you loose one of the bumpers you need for an ipad 2, 3, or 4 (like I did) then you have a problem. I had to stuff toilet paper in it to get it to seat right after my son lost a bumper.

Then as a gift I received an iPad Air and this case became useless because of the Air's different size. The case isn't made for the Air so I can forgive that. I was even able to use some foam from my wife's jewelry boxes to jimmy rig a way to use the Air in this case. It works bug not great.

I gave this product four stars instead five only because of the loose bumpers that get really annoying and are very easy to loose. I'd give it 3 stars for that alone because it is a big deal, but because I found a way to jimmy rig it for an iPad Air I bumped it up to four.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2014
This universal waterproof case holds my iPad Air, Nook HD+, and Kindle Fire HDX 7" too. The iPad Air fits best out of the three since the headphone jack is on the top left where the Nook is top right so fit is harder, but stays secure due to that issue. Headphone jack works great, sound is clear. You can work the functions of the devices with your hand pushing down harder so can't use stylus. Constantly worried about what laying it down on since warning on package warns of paper print transference and says to keep out of sun, and sand, yet shows picture at beach. Like it, but a lot more worries than expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2017
fast and easy. A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2013
This review is by "Mike's wife"...

Summery: It passed the submersion test with the tissue that came with it for the test. I held it under about 3 inches of water for a few minutes and the tissue was dry. The iPad 4 will only fit if you add the little corner bumpers (which is included). If you don't use the bumpers the iPad 4 will flop around in the case. When the iPad is not in the case, the bumpers fall all over the place inside the case. The clips are rather very secure and it is actually somewhat difficult to clip/unclip the latches. The plastic over the glass is a "grippy", soft, pliable type plastic and there is a warning not to place it on printed surfaces like a newspaper/magazine. The touch screen works with the iPad 4 as long as you have the bumpers in place otherwise the iPad is pretty far away from the plastic and you have to push harder risking damage to the case. With the bumpers in place the plastic touches the screen and makes "rainbow" distortions between the plastic and the screen. The camera/video works with this case in place, however the images are distorted because it is taking pictures through the plastic cover. I took a video with Christmas lights on in the room and there are little light specks all over the video where there are not lights present in the shoot. It's logical why this occurs but it is something to keep in mind when you are considering uses for this case.

Features listed on package:
*IPX-7 waterproof standard (3.3 Feet)
*Included clamp to secure device to sailboat - This was on the package but NOT actually included in the package!
*Multitouch control of device works through the plastic cover
*3.5 mm four-channel headphone Jack compatible with headphones and iPhone headset for talking (I didn't test this)
*Clear rear cover for camera operation
*Sounds emit clearly through case (I didn't test this)
*Compatibility: iPad 1, 2, 3, and other tablets and eBook readers
*Clamping unit diameter: 0.7-1.0" (again, no actual clamp was included)
*Clamp has easy release button and angle adjustment (again, no actual clamp was included)

As noted above this is MADE IN CHINA. So we'll see how long the case holds up.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2014
i ordered this and thought it was great and a great price.. i love pyle.. but when i got it i followed directions and it was water tight during the test.. then i put my ipad in it and lucky i seen the water starting to seep in.. i was able to save my ipad.. dont buy this product.. it doesnt seal right with the ipad in it..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2013
Item was as described and shipping was fast. A+ seller -- would definitely buy from again. It does what it says it's going to do; provides waterproof surround for any model iPad. Not sure about slightly differently sized Android tablets.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
This product is one small step better than a plastic bag. You can not access side buttons, can not hear without headphones. Also the soft case in the middle provides limited protection. On the plus side it is waterproof and cheaper than some of the others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2014
a little cumbesome but certainly does what is expected. It keeps my Ipad 1 dry and accessible touch screen is working fine and all normal ipad activity works as expected yet the unit is dry and protected from the elements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2016
It has worked well for both an ipad & an ipad mini. The touch works through the cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse