Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 47 reviews
on February 18, 2013
My experience has been awful with this company.

I first purchased in December. They took over a month to ship to Canada. The product arrived after even the delayed estimated shipping date. After complaining to QQ Tech for the delay, they offered a $5 rebate.

Then I unboxed the product and tried to use it. The earphones are flimsy and the armstrap will not stay on your arm. No problem though, I planned on buying a better set of headphones regardless.

The construction of the MP3 player unit seems solid. It has a nice weighted feel in your hand. However, my device does not work. I attempted using it several times, trouble shooting on the internet and re-reading the manual. I am typically a power-user when it comes to electronic devices, and did everything in my power to get it to work. I contacted QQ tech again. They offered me a $4 refund if I were to keep the device. Why would I keep a broken device? Now I'm trying to ship back to them for a refund and it is a massive headache. The customer service replies in incomprehensible English, using incomplete sentences, no punctuation and very confusing wording. I can show samples if needed.

It's unfortunate that my experience was so poor with this product and company. I was really looking forward to making this purchase in December 2012. It's now February 2012, and I have no functioning product and a great headache in dealing with this shoddy company.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2012
I swim laps six days a week, and I can't imagine swimming without a waterproof MP3 player after trying one out. I bought this one based on customer reviews, as well as price, and I'm so glad I did. When I had a question for the company, they returned my email right away. I have almost all positive things to say about the product--the sound quality is good, the price great, and the ease of use for the things I've done so far is fine. The instruction booklet is a little intimidating for me, but that's probably more "operator know-how" than the manufacturer's fault. But the people at QQ-Tech were kind enough to send a simplified instruction sheet with the order, so that helped a lot. Yes, the buttons are small, but the device is really small so it's not surprising. I managed to break the plastic clip that holds it to your goggles (or whatever) but I just tuck it underneath my goggle strap and don't even know it's there. I do have a problem with the earbuds staying in--that seems to be the problem with a lot of players, though. I'd rather adjust the earbuds and have music.

Alissa W.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2012
Plugged in player to MacBook Pro, received pop-up error, "USB Over Current." Player would not load. Google'd error, tried to reset PRAM:

1. Shut down your Mac.
2. Locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command (⌘), Option, P, and R. You will need to hold these keys down simultaneously in step four.
3. Turn on the computer.
4. Press and hold the Command-Option-P-R keys before the gray screen appears.
5. Hold the keys down until the computer restarts and you hear the startup sound for the second time.
6. Release the keys.

This seemed to resolve the issue - no more error and player mounted laptop. I copied mp3's to player, tested briefly, and headed happily to the pool. In pool, player and headphones worked well. However, more technical difficulty - some mp3's displayed "wrong format" while other mp3's (from the exact same album) played fine. About 50% of songs did not play. I kept having to stop and navigate the (too tiny) buttons to skip the "wrong format" songs. I decided to troubleshoot when I got home, thinking I would try to re-load the songs. But I could not connect player to laptop, as I again got the "USB Over Current" error. Resetting the PRAM several times did not resolve the issue.

At a loss, I asked for a refund. Luckily I was within the 30 day return period (by 1 day!). After paying for shipping (about $10), and many emails to the company (they were responsive, but I felt we were working through a language barrier), they said I would be refunded the price of the player. Based on the other reviews, I gambled on this cheaper unit and lost - I agree with the other reviews, and I will do the same - save up for the waterproof shuffle by Waterfi - you can also buy this on Amazon.

I should note - for anyone that has never swam with music before, it's really awesome! I'm looking forward to the Waterfi once I save $.

Happy swimming!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2012
Bought this waterproof MP3 player to replace another more expensive one which had headphones that just kept dying due to corrosion of the wires in the plug (upon taking it apart for further examination, found sketchy molding process/QC). Since it uses a smaller size than the standard headset plug, you pretty much are limited to the factory replacements and that was getting expensive given their short lifespan.
After using the QQ-Tech waterproof MP3 player for a few surf sessions this is what I found:
The sound is pretty decent through the included headset and the cable length is just about right for my needs. It does take some fiddling to make them fit comfortably although they will lose their seal on occasion. The radio is much better than expected. Good reception, unlike the other MP3 player both on land and out at my local surf spot. The display set on maximum brightness could be seen even in broad daylight which made selecting tracks or radio stations much easier during lulls between sets.
This product is definitely not user-friendly - the instructions are somewhat helpful, but the best way to learn is to just try all of the buttons until you get the hang of it. However, two shortcomings prevent me from recommending this MP3 player to others, especially if it will see use in water. The first one being a selectable "random play" mode in the menu which only plays the same number of songs (around 10 or so that the player chose - at random?) and that is a bummer. I do not like listening to my music in a set list, much less being limited to hearing the same songs during a surf session. The second, and perhaps biggest flaw I discovered was evidence of water intrusion in the headset jack and plug after rinsing the unit off and drying it with a towel. Not good. One would think something designed to be waterproof would have something like a gasket or o-ring seal in that area. The other MP3 player I have actually has a screw-on plug with a rubber gasket which works great at keeping the water out of the unit. Though the QQ-Tech MP3 player is still working and there does not appear to be signs of more serious water intrusion in it - yet (condensation in the display screen). It gives me doubts about the long term reliability of the player. The search for a good waterproof MP3 player that is not a modified i***d shuffle continues...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2013
The first time I ordered this MP3 player, it arrived in a bubble envelope with a big dent in the MP3 player's packaging. When I took the MP3 player out, I found that the left arrow button (for turning the volume down and going backwards) didn't work at all.

I contacted customer support and they were very helpful. They told me to put the machine in the mail and that they'd send me a new one right away, which they did. I now have a working machine. I had to pay to ship the broken machine back, though, so I feel a little like I paid $3 extra for the privilege of having a working machine. Also, they replaced only the machine, rather than sending me an entirely new package (package comes with headphones and alternate earbuds). Prompt, 3-star customer service. They did the basics; nothing exceptional and nothing to make up for my inconvenience.

The machine itself is alright. It's what you expect when you're buying a $30 mp3 player. Nothing too fancy. The sound quality is okay. I don't know that I'd shop from this company again, but I'm not unhappy with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2013
I am using this in the pool for water exercise. I enjoy it immensely when it works. I have had problems with the earphones cutting out. And I had to jerry rig an old arm brace to keep it on. The Velcro on theirs gets loose with very little movement. But when it works, it is great. Exercising goes by much quicker and the sound is good. I like the fact that it has an FM radio. Which picks up channels very well in the pool. The instructions are little more then useless, but even I, computer challenged as I am, was able to figure enough out to download music from my computer and how to work the FM dial. Again the instructions are pretty useless. I know it can do so much more then I can figure, but I don't need much. I just want to listen to music in the pool and for the money so far, I am getting what I paid for. I hope it lasts. I am really enjoying listening to music in the water, but am not willing to pay the price for the well known name brands out there. I hope this product holds out for awhile
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2012
While I agree with some of the other reviews about the manual being poorly written and the initial set-up being a bit cumbersome, I found this MP3 player to be well-worth the money. I did choose the cheapest color, because honestly who cares what color it is. DO NOT worry about installing any additional software that pops up when connecting to your PC as you won't need it. It really is a simple drag and drop from your music files (which MUST be MP3 or WMA format to play- hint, most itunes downloads will have to be converted to one of these formats first!) and putting them into your USB drive that you've connected the player to. I've had mine for about two weeks now and swim laps at least four hours a week. During the time I've had it, I've only had to charge it once. The headphones that it comes with aren't the best but they work fine for now. I've been looking into getting better ones since I'm in the water and sometimes am submerged, but so long as I wear a swim cap they stay in and work just fine. This player has quickly become the envy of other lap swimmers. The FM feature works great until I get in/under the water. While water is a great conductor of electricity, it's not the best for receiving radio waves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2013
At first I was kind of scared to purchase this MP3 player with so many bad reviews but so far I love it and have not had any issues besides with the menu button. I thought it was stuck or just wouldn't work, yet all the other buttons would work. Come to find out, if it's really low on the battery, the button doesn't want to let you in to the music screen. Otherwise it's great, just keep it charged up. I wrote to where I bought it from and they replied really fast and were going to replace it no problem but there was no need after figuring that out. The playback sounds really good and it was easy to drag all my music over to it on the computer. There was an basic instruction manual with it along with a PDF file located on the player once you plugged itup to the computer to add music. So I would go read that if your not used to these MP3 players. The FM radio works really well also on reception. I haven't used the headphones because I plug it up to an actual waterproof radio and my stereo at home, but the sound is great on both of them.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
I used this for swimming laps in the pool. I loved that it was easy to use, easy to hear, and a clear display. The radio worked great underwater. The earphones it came with were okay, but they are labeled improperly. The L goes on the right ear, and the R goes on the left. Sometimes the water would break the 'seal' in your ear and you couldn't hear it. However testing it out of the water it was still working. I would recommend investing in better earphones for this device, and use these as a backup.

After 3 workouts the device would no longer turn on and I was unable to charge it. Disappointed it stopped working because when it did work it worked really well. I am hoping to get a replacement but the seller's replacement policy is 30 days. It's been about 2 months. I will not buy again if the seller won't work with me b/c what if it happens again?

Good luck!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2013
My old FREESTYLE died after 6 years of 3Xweek 30min swim use. I did not want to spend tons of money. I took a chance. It is very cheap and after one month of use, on my routine, battery is still charged, did not need to re-charge and downloading music was very easy(for me: non tech-savy person). I rinse off in water afterwards. I will see how many years it will last but at this price, if it dies after a year, I will buy another one. The ear plug was not the best, I am using my old ones. I recommend it. Get this one with DISPLAY window.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Need customer service? Click here