Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Fire TV Stick: $29.99. Offer ends 3/26/18 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

on September 25, 2014
It's okay - not great, but doesn't suck either. 600 Watts is really misleading. This thing doesn't really go that loud (not like a dj system or pa speaker system). The software interface and ability to control the unit itself is pretty minimal and even somewhat lame. The other downside is that if you have a newer apple device, the connection on top of this speaker won't work. It connects only to the older ipod style connections (30 pin I believe). The new ipod touch and other devices with the new "lightning" type connections won't work, and if you buy an adapter that goes from 30 pin to lightning, the unit won't control your device.

I wouldn't buy again only because this model is really made for older style 30 pin ipod/iphone, etc. devices. You will get the loudest sounds by using the 30 pin connection on top of the speaker. If you use the aux jack for audio in the back, the max volume is about 30% less than if you use the 30 pin connection on top. If they offer a new speaker with the lightning connection on top, it would allow those with newer apple devices to utilize them. For a college dorm room, or a small apartment, this would probably be a good solution sound. For larger homes or areas to fill with sound, this just doesn't cut it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 18, 2013
I have owned this Pyle docking tower for over a year. It is hands down the best sounding stereo that I have owned. It is also a good looking unit that sits in a corner without taking up a lot of space.
I use my Iphone 4S docked to the unit so that it stays charged, and play music from Pandora all day long. The speakers sound like the old fashioned home components from years ago that had 12" or 14" speakers. The bass sounds fabulous on this unit.
I may buy one for my office at work.
The only drawbacks I see are the remote control and lack of bluetooth connectivity. On the remote, I only use the volume controls or the mute. It is not very intuitive.
Bluetooth is missing but could be added with a 30 pin bluetooth adapter that plugs into the dock.
My favorite Amazon purchase hands down.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 28, 2012
First off, I want to give Amazon a big thumbs up. They run a tight ship and never disappoint. The package arrived in good condition and was packed extremely well. I really like how easy this was to set up. It is a true plug and play system. Also I like how it looks. The picture is a little different that how it actually appears. I ordered the system with the cherry wood finish and it is much darker (thankfully) than the picture shows. Also it is not as bulky as it looks in the picture. It is light and easy to move. It looks very attractive in the corner of my living room. I would rate fit and finish a 9 on a scale of 1-10. The battery in my remote was dead right out of the box so I cannot review the remote control. The dock for the iPod is exceptional. The iPod fits perfectly and securely. No need to worry about the iPod falling. I like the clever backrest that slides up to hold my iPod securely.

Now...for the gripes. I was not impressed with the quality of the FM radio. I was a technician on very complicated electronics (sonar systems) in the navy for many years and I have a passion for audio and quality electronic equipment. Also, I am a radio enthusiast. I would rate the built-in FM radio a 2 on a scale of 1-10. It just doesn't have good reception. I did a side by side test with my favorite small radio (a cheap Sangean) and a very expensive portable world band receiver next to this system and both radios smoked it on reception and clarity. I played around with the antenna wire (on the back)...still no difference. The other gripe is the power. I have a 220 watt bass guitar amp and I sometimes run my iPod through that. In that configuration you can drive people out the door with volume. So I figured if this was 600 watts as the specs suggest, it would blow me away. Sadly, it does not. The lower frequencies are a bit muddy and undefined. The mid and high freqs are not as clear and crisp as I expected either. I boosted the bass in my iPod's EQ setting and cranked the volume...that helped a bit but it is still not impressive as 600 watts should be. Now don't get me wrong, it is certainly not terrible. In fact, if you use it at normal volume settings in a smaller room, it would exceed most people's expectations. I like low volume classical music playing in the background and this is very good for that purpose. Also, it would be good on the deck during a small party or a BBQ with a few friends. Just don't expect to rock the block with this system. Overall, I would rate it a 6.5 out of 10. If Pyle can develop a better radio receiver and improve speaker quality and cabinet tuning, this thing would seriously kick butt.

UPDATE... Product died today after just seven months. The tuner is dead. I tried everything...off/on/unplugging it/etc. It is dead. I wasn't very excited about this from the start and now I have a 42 lb paperweight that looks nice in the corner. I hope I can send it back!
44 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 8, 2012
I opened up the product and tried to play my ipod and iphone through it but for my ipod it would charge but it would buzz the entire time and not play any music. My iphone on the other hand it would not register at all that it was even on the port. Extremely disappointed in this product. I bought a smaller pyle earlier this year and it worked great so i didn't see how this one would be any different but i guess i was wrong.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 28, 2012
The tower kicks a lot of power to the listner.
built in radio, alarm clock dock, built in chanel amplifier, and video out fed is awesome, touch screen control and remote (full function) so it works all.
600 wt good power
great sound, great inclosed speakers.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 1, 2013
I leave my iPad plugged into it and it plays my song lists I have created for parties or special events. It is loud enough to set the mood for my entire house. The sound quality is excellent. I wish I had the ability to choose the playlist for the alarm function, and the remote is not the best quality. Other than that I really love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 3, 2012
Nice self contained unit, that puts out good volume and bass. The front controls and remote are not easy to use. It needs an an auxiliary input other than the one set of RCA jacks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2015
Have not had any problems with this system and worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 14, 2012
This system is awesome, it's loud but still clear no matter how loud you have it. The only compliant I have is that it's a little hard to get the hang of the controller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 12, 2015
i love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 19 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here