Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 79 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 100 reviews
on April 26, 2011
Pros
- Decently built, crank seems solid. Charging while not fun is ok.
- DOES indeed charge newer cell phones. HTC Evo 5v usb connection tested and passed. Be prepared for a workout though. Highly recommend that you do this with at least a half charge in the onboard Dyno battery.
- Onboard Dyno Battery !!! Excellent. I have mine plugged into AC and near my battery storage. Always fully charged and ready to go in seconds.
- Also works with standard AA
- Decent reception and volume
- NOAA reception/WB channels quite good

Cons
- ONBOARD BATTERY LIFE IS SEVERELY NEGATIVELY AFFECTED WHEN USING THE 'ALERT' FEATURE -- BEWARE NOT TO USE THIS FEATURE UNLESS DIRECTLY CONNECTED TO AN AC SOURCE.
- Documentation is horrible.
- Alert 'feature' and NOAA channels not documented at all. User will have to research frequencies in their area.
- 4 leds are very low quality and light output is just passable. Red led is almost useless because it is so dim.
- No Solar charging on this unit
- Rear plastic/rubber cover over battery cover & connection options is cheap and flimsy
- Antenna does not reside flush in unit
- overall ergonomics are not great
- This unit is NOT waterproof or weatherproof. Beware.

Summary
Lot better than nothing and overall a decent unit. Priced too high for what you get, but it does provide enough current to charge a cell phone - which most units cannot.
I give it a pass, but will replace with something better as technology allows.
Used within the limitations described above. It will perform for you.
Currently this would have to be rated top in its class so I give it 4 stars.
88 comments| 173 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've been using Eton products for many years and, in general, have been pleased with them. They used to be overpriced, but the quality factor made up for it. After all, with an emergency radio, you want to be as sure as possible that the radio will indeed be in workable condition during an emergency. I purchased a smaller Eton radio (Eton Rover) on sale earlier this year and was, frankly, disappointed. Even at the very low sale price, I didn't find value in it. Tuning is miserably finicky. Reception is always a maybe and requires twisting and turning it this way and that.

I bought this one on sale as well to replace a much earlier Eton American Red Cross FR-400 radio that had suffered damage. Had I paid the full currently advertised price I would have felt cheated - as it is, even with the sale price, I still feel that I've paid too much.

The design of ARCPT300W is okay. The LED display is very welcome for accurate tuning. The handle lends itself to easy carrying, particularly when using the flashlight feature. There is a four-button switch panel. You have to choose the power source first, either DYN to use the internal rechargeable Ni-MH battery or BATT to use three AAA cells.

Recharging the Ni-MH battery is done by turning the crank. According to the manual, 1 minute of cranking will power the radio for 5 minutes at low volume. My results were slightly better than that. You can also recharge the Ni-MH through a USB port connected to your computer or an AC adapter. A full charge takes 8 hours, according to the manual, and supposedly will power the radio for 4 to 5 hours, but my experience has tended toward the lower number. You can play the radio while charging through a computer USB port. I was able to do this. But when I tried an AC adapter, I encountered hum so bad that I could not hear the station. I will have to check that out further with other adapters. The regular AAA batteries, if you use them, drain very quickly even with the radio off, the alert feature turned off and the unit charging.I would strongly suggest not leaving the AAA batteries in the unit when you are not using it.

By the way, the USB cable supplied with the unit is only about 18 inches long.

Reception on AM and FM was excellent, the latter using the built-in extendable antenna. You can tune 7 NOAA stations and in my area, I had excellent reception on two of them.

I haven't tried the cell phone charging feature. Supposedly you can charge it from the built-in NI-MH battery if it is at half or more capacity. The manual also states that you can crank at 130 RPM for 7 minutes to charge the cell phone enough for 5 minutes of talk time. That's a lot of cranking to be sure, but when the main power is down, it would be worth it.

There's a white light 4 LED diode flashlight which is adequate and a 1-diode red flasher which strikes me as being of limited usefulness. There is also an audio-in connector for using this with MP3 players and such.

Build quality is barely adequate, if that. It appears to be all plastic and it is doubtful it would survive being dropped, so handle with care. The lettering on the carry handle has rubbed off after being carried room to room a few times. No carrying case or AC adapter is supplied.

Overall, I think Eton has downgraded its quality to the point where the product value is questionable. At the full price, I would have been unhappy - at the sale price, I still feel somewhat cheated. As I mentioned earlier, I am a long-time Eton customer. The FR-400 radio this one is replacing was superb: this one has a more useful design in some ways, but I think the quality is lower in some respects. On the whole, I am no longer impressed with Eton quality and will be looking for an alternative.

Jerry
55 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
Mine came with a dead battery, that aside, I was not impressed with the rear panel covers that don't close because the charging plug was left in over night. I never got to test the "dump" feature in which you charge your phone from the internal battery. The radio performed well, but time did not display while listening. Time displays only when radio is off. White light was decent, but red blink light was pointless. Being able to have multiple power sources you can select from is the best thing about this. In an emergency, having two battery sources is nice. Too bad you cant charge your phone from the triple A batteries. Since the internal battery was bad on mine, that fact negated the emergency features for me, leaving me a battery powered radio that is just ok. I sent it back, and I'm still searching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2012
I have a smaller Eton flashlight emergency radio. The Axis would be what I call a nice middle ground. The flashlight is larger,comes with an comfortable grip handle and this can be a steady beam or flashing red light. Unlike my smaller unit it takes batteries and has an illuminated digital readout radio-alarm clock. I like the digital feature because I do not have to re tune (as I do with the analog type) when I switch bands to my favorite FM station. It doesn't have memory presets,so keeping the station is the next best thing. The speaker sounds great as well.

$1.02 from the sale of each unit goes to the Red Cross...and that in a small way is for a good cause.

I'll more than likely not even bother using the crank or will be charging a phone with it,but it's good that it's there.

Makes a nice desk or bedside radio. If you travel outside North America, the AM band steps in fixed 10 kHz steps,unlike 9 kHz for Europe,Asia,and Africa. It won't work well overseas and unlike other digital radios,there is no way to change that setting.
Best advice is not to pack it for an overseas trip.

As others have pointed out,it isn't waterproof,and I'll caution not even splash proof.

So take it for what it is and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
This small unit does multiple functions and does them well. One minute of cranking the hand-cranked generator will charge the unit enough for 5 minutes of radio - more cranking more time. The crank is sturdy and easy to use. The battery can also be charged via a USB input and there is also AAA battery power - a battery status on display tracks both rechargeable and AAA charge. Radio covers all NOAA weather stations plus FM/AM. Radio sound is very good. Radio also has NOAA alert feature, but you have to plug in the USB charge cord to keep radio on for a period long enough to utilize the alert (or crank regularly). The USB dump will charge phones, ipods, etc. - it is not a full charge, but will allow a short phone call and longer ipod usage.

I picked this unit because it has a metal crank (more durable than plastic), and the set up of the handle and crank makes it easier than some other units to steady the unit while cranking.

I bought 8 units for gifts - one had a defective rechargeable battery plug wire and Eton replaced it very quickly - Eton has excellent customer service.

Overall - I think this unit is the best of reasonably priced emergency, hand-crank radio/chargers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2013
This item met my expectations of good quality. Using the crank is very easy and smooth. Led lights are good and bright and I personally like the way the light is located on the handle, easy to carry. The radio is light enough weight and a good one to keep for emergency, which is why I purchased it. I do wish it had a solar panel to charge but, aside from that I like this unit and feel more confident having it in case we need a means of hearing what's going on weather-wise. I did a lot of research and this one met most of my needs. I do plan to get one more radio, also by RedCross I think, it's square with the crank handle in the middle of the radio and has the solar panel and with much research I found it to be another quality radio that I'd like having. It's in the Hammacher Schlemmer magazine and also available on Amazon. About same price of $49-59. Comes in red or black. More for black color...but radio seems to have exact same features...said: "model allowed analysts to hear every word of the seven NOAA Weather Bands, unlike other models that produced distorted static-filled audio." Hope this info helps others to make a choice. I would have given this five stars if it had the solar panel. VERY good radio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2014
Took on Boy Scout Camping Trip. Charged overnight, so it was 100%. Set alarm for Sat. am. woke up turned off radio. Noticed the power bar at 2 of 3 so cranked on it on and off until I had it back to 3. Saturday night used the flashlight to get back to my tent , plugged in my dead phone and it couldn't even power up the phone and drained the battery so I couldn't even use the alarm the next day.

Will agree with other reviews the crank is SOLID. I've since charged it to 100% again and tried to revive dead LG Phone, a dead Kindle and a dead MP3 player and it will revive the dead MP3 player so I can at least listen to my music in an emergency.

Another adult on the trip had another brand that has solar panel and a crank. Unit feels way cheaper than my ETON but on a cloudy day it charged her iphone to 100% while the ETON couldn't even start up my LG. Radio reception was fine. Flashlight is good, alarm worked ... but the usb feature I bought this for is worthless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
I have two Eton weather radios, this one and an older one. The older one goes off for no reason sometimes, so we bought this new one to replace it. This one doesn't go off for no reason like the old one does, BUT for a long period of time we thought it was set to monitor the weather, and it was actually off! We heard the old one going off in the closet, so that's how we knew we were missing a storm coming. Because it doesn't have dials and switches, there's no way to just look at it to see if it's turned on to monitor or not, you have to push the alert button to make the screen light up, which then, ironically, will turn it off. Then you have to push it again to set it back to alert. And if it's been sitting awhile, or if you have other people who use it too, you have to keep messing with it to make sure it's still monitoring and someone else didn't forget to do this silly process when they were done listening. It makes it unreliable, and we are back to the old one, false alarms and all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2012
This is an awesome radio - except for two issues, one major and one minor.

Digital tuning ensures perfect reception as well as receiving all 7 NOAA weatherband stations. The hand crank with rechargeable battery makes perfect sense; a full charge ensures many hours of use. The ability to charge your iPhone via the USB is nice, if not a necessary addition in today's world. The two light options, bright white & flashing red is a practical, just in case, addition.

First, the minor criticism:- the radio seems to be a wee bit top heavy mainly because of the metal torchlight handle, however, the slightly wider base does compensate, but not enough - the fix would be to make the base wider and heavier.

Second, the major criticism (a serious design flaw):- the four buttons are too small and having them adjacent to each other makes it tricky if not difficult to press the correct one, even for those with nimble fingers. The four button layout is so seriously flawed, I have to wonder how it ever got past the design phase. I have no problem with the four button option, but they should be bigger and separate (vertical from top to bottom). The four buttons together, as they are now, should be the size of a single button, easy to find and easy to press.

I would recommend this radio to most people, but I would caution about the button layout and for some it is likely to be the single reason not to purchase.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2013
I received this item on time in its original packaging. It is well made. I read reviews on this item before purchasing. Some negative, but mostly positive. I have charged the battery as indicated in the manual, and haven't had any problems. The sound is very good. The unit is easy to operate. The crank handle works well, and is better than I expected after some of the negative reviews I read about that. I would recommend this product to others.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse