Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 40 reviews
on August 24, 2016
These are amazing speakers. For me, the gold standard of how the stereo listening experience should be is as follows -

1) immersive -- where you are in the sound stage and the stage moves all around you
2) you are able to spatially locate the instruments in the music
3) you don't get listening fatigue after somewhat longish sessions (I listen to prog rock and jazz fusion, both of which lend to deep immersive listening experiences)

My buddy's rig is by far the best I've heard. He makes his own amps and DACs and uses a pair of Magnepans with separate sub-woofers and give's us the experience.

Without using a custom amp or DAC, using an old Yamaha receiver and play standard CDs on a 90$ sony blu-ray player, my rig sounds pretty good already. It's not all the way there yet, but I think the remainder of the work needs to be picked up by a good amp and DAC.

My experiences with the speakers -

1) Fresh out of the box, I ran them with an unbroken (new) Onkyo receiver and was disappointed with the sound. It was harsh and while there was still the clarity, the sound stage was not there at all. I borrowed my buddy's old Yamaha receiver and immediately the effect was excellent.
2) after playing with the distance from the back wall and the toeing in of the speakers, I finally was able to get a clear center-image and the soundstage started to form.
3) After burning the speakers in over 100 hours, the sound improved. I had been using a MartinLogan 500W sub-woofer which I decided to disconnect. The woofers in the ESLs themselves are more than adequate for the type of music I listen to (prog rock, Jazz, Jazz-fusion etc).

It took at least 5 days of tinkering and fine tuning the speaker placements for optimal (according to me) soundstage and clarity. If you aren't getting the best sound in the world from these speakers, make sure your Amp is of good quality and/or broken in. Also, do play with the placement of the speakers, the degree of toe-in needed for your room.

One thing I found very interesting is that the sweet spot is slightly spread and not pin-pointed as some reviewers have mentioned. That implies that more people will get an excellent experience imho.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2013
Bought them with a Yamaha AS500. Still waiting for the famous 72 hours settle period, but as of now, music is awesome. Movies as well sound better, though for that case usually a 5.1 system is better, due to heavy surround effects.

I'm still working on getting it to the maximum level possible of quality (dampening my back wall, placing properly according to owners manual, and trying a quality DAC/flac files).

Bass sound is not lacking. You don't need a subwoofer as its kick is very tight and defined. You don't want to mess that up.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
Absolutely, positively love these speakers! One of the best purchases I've made in a while. I hope they last as long as my old Bose speakers, which I bought back in 1993. I would recommend these speakers to anyone that really appreciates music of all types. Go ahead purchase them and you'll rediscover your old music all over again, I am.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
OUTSTANDING. I have been a fan of the ML Electrostats for years, but until the ESLs came out, was a little out of reach. What can I say that hasn't already been said about electrostats? The highs are ear-piercing, but the lows really need a decent sub to mellow it out. But seriously, for the price, the sound (and heck, the aesthetics) are untouchable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2017
Love these speakers I bought two more. They are my right and left front & rear channels. Have a pair of Sunfire sub woofers. B&W center with home brew tweeter array. Liked the Martin Logan speakers so much I bought a pair of side channel speakers from Martin Logan. Drive them all with 4 Crown stereo power amps. Highly recommend these electrostatic speakers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2015
This is by far the best full spectrum speaker on the market. I wear hearing aides, and have listened to hundreds of fine speakers. This is the best speaker I could hear all the highs, and lows, without the boominess of inexpensive subs. I am fully satisfied.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
These speakers have excellent sound quality. The dynamic range is outstanding when watching a movie on a big screen or listening to classical music or artists with wide vocal range.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2015
The best buy ever!
I waiting a lot of time to have a pair of Martin Logan. This speaker are great. The sound is crips and Bright. I use a Yamaha A-S700 and I don't need sub-woofer. I have one, but not needed. I bought from Audio Advisor, great people and fast shipping
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
I have owned a number of high end speakers over the years and the MartinLogan's are the best yet. Crisp highs, solid lows - it sounds like the bands are in my living room. Highly recommend these speakers, which perform on par with much more expensive MartinLogan models.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2016
These speakers are simply incredible! I always look for speakers with a wide sound field and crystal clear reproduction and these simply hit the mark every time. I remember hearing them in a sound studio five years ago and they took my breath away. They were playing a Jazz track and I recall leaving the room to the lobby. As I was in the lobby, it sounded like the artist was playing live in the room I left. It is such a pleasure listening to them. However, you need to get high quality recordings for them. If you try an play MP3's you will notice immediately. These speakers CRAVE high quality recordings since you will hear the "flatness" and lack of dynamics in lower quality. Forget Pandora. Go with Tidal if you stream. Otherwise high quality CD's like Vollenwieder.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse