Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 19 reviews
on April 15, 2014
The KEFs 900s are an amazing speaker. I demo'd three others before I settled on them. In fact, I like the KEF sound so much, I bought the KEF R700s. I should have gotten the R900s, but they are 5k and out of my price range. The R's are very nice, more refined in their sound, but don't go as low. I will upgrade to the R900s when I get a change. Before the Q900s I had the PSB Imagine Ts from Crutchfield. Great high end, very nice speaker. Just not loud enough for a large basement. Not as esthetically appealling either. Kind of small, with yellow cones. Turned them in for the JBL Synthesis LS 60. Granted, I did not break these in enough, but the sound never bested the KEF 900s. Returned them. Finally, I tried the Bowers and Wilkins CM9s from Magnolia at Best Buy. Didn't like them over the KEFs or Imagine Ts. Gave them 100hrs minimum of break in, and I never liked the sound from the Kevlar. It does cause some fatigue you read about in some circles. Some people may think BWs are vastly superior because of the name and they cost $1000 more than the KEF 900s, but I found the opposite. The KEFS slam, straight up. You can drive them to 80/100 with no distortion. I would buy them again in an instant.
My rig:
Anthem MCA 20 amp with 225 W/channel continuous.
Integra 80.3 processor.
Transparent Interconnects and speaker cable.
Oppo BDP 105 BR player.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2013
I have been looking for some time to upgrade my Snell speakers, a wonderful speaker company that I think is no longer in business.
These new KEF speakers are wonderful and for a price less than a car. There is a real clarity in their response, nothing ``muddy'' in the sound. I listen to rock and jazz and also use them as part of my surround sound system. They also are sleek in appearance slightly smaller than I had anticipated, that fits well in the small room where they are located. I am very happy with the sound, performance and price of these speakers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
Read up on speaker placement and break-in periods and you will be very happy.

These speakers sound amazing...very deep, brilliantly neutral image for the price. 5 stars all the way, enjoy!
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
Great sound super wide. yes less bassie than others but nice tight sound and balance. we completed a 9.2 system with the brand and models.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
Excellent sound, provided that you know other good served with high-end components, the sound is very clean and clear give nearly 5 stars since I see that the cabinet could be something more without leaving modern classic. .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2011
The speakers are phenomenal - great response, incredible clarity, a wonderful midrange, and good volume. 5/5 for the speakers.

However, one of my speakers was chipped due to bad packaging. The packaging is incredibly flimsy. The cardboard box is practically paper and the foam inserts are worthless. I'm glad they arrived intact. For an $800 speaker, spend another 10 bucks on the box so they actually survive the trip. For anything at this price range, KEF you can do better. 1/5
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2017
Same with the other review! Every thing broken inside.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2016
We ordered a pair of these speakers to use with a home theater system in October of 2014. One speaker has failed three times now- the tweeter buzzes and distorts, primarily with bass sounds. Amazon replaced the speaker twice, most recently in September of 2015. They indicated they would replace it again, but then reversed themselves several days later and referred me to the manufacturer, KEF. Based on other reviews, I'm not optimistic about receiving warranty service from KEF. Both the product and Amazon's service were very disappointing. Proceed with caution if you are considering this purchase.
55 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2016
I bought a pair of q900s from a third party. The stands and associated hardware came to sealed in plastic bags. It was never used. During assembly, the spikes, designed to thread into collars in the support wings, stripped. Five of eight stripped, so that there was no combination or permutation of the wings that resulted in a level loudspeaker. Worse, the result was always one speaker tilted up and the other down; they sounded out of phase. Since they're only pretty good properly set up, they were awful using the supplied supports.
An email to KEF "customer service" resulted in them telling me I had no warranty because I didn't get them from an authorized dealer! They did offer two replacement assemblies for $160.00 PLUS shipping. Since the failure rate on the original set was 62.5%, the odds of that additional $160.00 being remedial seemed to me to be near zero.
They're on BDR shelves now, supported by BDR cones. Total cost? $1120.00.
They aren't worth $1120.00.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here