Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 37 reviews
on January 28, 2013
I am writing this review from my containerized housing unit at a contingency operations base in Central Asia. I paired these Infinity speakers with a Lepai Tripath Class T Audio Amplifier. I needed a system that would fit into my less than 80 square foot personal space. My source is an Ipod Classic in a Pyle dock to bypass the Ipod's output amplifier.

This evening I am listening to a little Pink Floyd, Phish, Radiohead, and Miles Davis. All sound great on this rig. The combination of the Lepai and the Primus speakers is an excellent small discrete system. Even though this system set me back less than $150, I'm not roughing it at all in the tunes department.

I highly recommend these speakers and the Lepai amplifier for a small environment.
33 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
it is as advertised it sounds great ,Im using it as my rear center channel could'nt be more pleased its been a great experince all the way around from the delivery to hearing the rich sound reproduction I'm considering adding more of the INFINITY PRIMUS to my system
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
I bought one to use as an extension speaker highlighting midrange, ie, speech, frequencies from a short wave tabletop receiver. Compared with a fifteen month old P163 from my room stereo, the smaller P143 predictedly, according to the Infinity Primus catalog, requires a tad more volume for the same sound level and has a bit less bass. The latter isn't a problem in my application. It is a definite improvement over my subdued midrange old Polk Studio Monitors, which had - and continues to be used - in that function. The radios used to drive the speakers include a Lowe HF-150 and an HF-225, as well as a Palstar R30A. The $60 P143 sounds great with the HF-150 - so great I thought I'd get a P143 for the HF-225 and R30A, too - until I found the more efficient P163's at the same Prime price. Needless to say, the P163s are much larger and heavier - perhaps a problem. The benefit of size isn't the only thing the P143 has on it's side - it also has built-in wall hanger slots! Decisions...

The radios come with built-in speakers - teeny/tinny units at best. At 65, my midrange hearing is slightly deficient - making me appreciate the decent sound of the P143. And, compared to the cost of a 'communications' speaker, the P143 is a deal. Besides, I can always repurpose it as a center channel speaker in my office - between the P163s and fed by a repurposed Yamaha 5.1 A/V receiver. For my purposes, the P143 was a great buy. Typical of the Infinity Primus line (I have a pair of P363s in the living room!), the fit & finish are top drawer.

7/6 - Back orders do get filled, as did my order for a second P143, a pair of additional P163's, and an additional pair of P363's for my rear mains in my LR. You must watch Amazon's Prime pricing - keep the desired speakers in your watch list so you can order them when the price is right - and they are worth the wait. I have the P143's connected to two SW tabletop receivers - and they work great. The huge P163's take up a lot of space on the shelf, while the P143's could be wall hangers. I ordered a P153 recently - $5 more than the lowest price I saw for the P143. I likely have at least a few more weeks to wait for that one. It is supposedly for the office's center speaker, which has a Polk Studio Monitor repurposed there now. You can bet I'll try it on a SW radio, even if it is nearly the size of the P163's. Truth be told, I wish I had bought several more of the smaller P143's at that 'bottomed-out' price... they really are that good. They'd likely help my wife's old mini-stereo, too. I'll keep my eyes open...
9/14 - I ordered another pair of P143's @ $35/ea delivered on 9/12 - they arrived Sunday, 9/14! Build date - on the box - 5/14. I recycled the large P163's to another room's stereo, my SW receivers each have a P143 now - 'enough'! The P153 is still on backorder.
55 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
These sound great as satellite speakers! Shipping too longer then I expected, 2 day shipping means 5 days I guess, that's the only reason I didn't give 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
I had previously bought the 6" model of this speaker and wish I had again!
Don't get me wrong, it's just too small for the rest of my 9.2 Speakers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
This little speaker was awesome. Fit my application exactly, sounds great and price was better than expected.
Thanks Amazon. Bill R.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2012
These little speakers have awesome sound!I'm using them for rear surrounds in my Infinity system
along with a pair of RS-8 towers & a PC351 center channel.This system rocks!Thanks again Amazon.You Rock!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2014
This speaker filled out my Infinity speaker system. Is a great surround speaker to match my Primus 160 front speakers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
Great sound ! Love these speakers. Quality workmanship. I own the entire Infinity Primus speaker line and highly recommend them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2013
Sound is great for the price. These speakers perform. Could use a touch more mid, but I will fix this minimal lack of frequency with the addition of new drivers in my towers and drive front.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse