Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on February 28, 2015
I'm running this center with the BP-8060ST towers and Mythos Gem surrounds. I'm driving the setup with a Denon AVR-X4100W.

I absolutely love the power, focus and sound that comes out of this center. I was previously using a Polk CSi A4 center; the Definitive is a massive step up.

You will need a proper receiver to get the right sound out of the Definitive Speakers. I tried testing this center on a $400 Yamaha unit and got sub-par results (not bad but...not worth the price of admission). Anything in the $1000+ range should perform well and will show you what this speaker is capable of. If you run an Audyssey setup I got the best results by setting the sub volume to 12 o'clock on the back for the Audyssey setup, then dial it up to about 2 or 3 o'clock after running Audyssey if you are in a large room. Some tweaking is natural if you run Audyssey with a Bi-Polar setup (as is indicated by Definitive). Don't just go with what Audyssey gives you, experiment.

After tuning out my system I got just beautiful dialogue out of this center. The sub does exactly what you want it to which is add gravitas and full range to voices with a baritone signature. Sound effects and gunfire sound solid when they come through this speaker as well. There is plenty of punch and clarity. Voices like Bane's in The Dark Knight Rises really shine on this center channel. You get hit with the full impact of his voice.

This speaker fit perfectly into the center channel drawer of my BDI Avion cabinet and sounds great recessed in there as well. I had some concerns that placing this speaker in the cabinet would have a bad effect due to the 8" woofer being located on the top of the speaker. I have no complaints however and find it still sounds great. I'm sure not-recessing it would make the sound even better though if you are planning to use this with the Avion, i'd say don't let that hold you back.

If you're a fan of removing speaker grilles you may not like this center. The grill is more of a mesh that surrounds the speaker. Theoretically you could unwrap the mesh but there is no easy way to remove it and put it back on quickly. I could care less myself and find no point to removing the grille. The clarity on this speaker is top notch and that's even going through the 2nd cloth grille on my Avion setup.

Build quality is high and the speaker is really nice looking. The left and right end-caps come off the speaker easily allowing you to replace the mesh if you ever had to.

Overall I couldn't be happier with this center and am not wanting for more. No buyer's remorse. Worth every penny.
review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2015
If I could rate this 10 stars I would do it.
I am a technology lover and borderline audiophile. I love great sound but I also have to keep a budget in mind.
While this speaker is hardly cheap the price is excellent for the quality.
The difference in audio quality by having the lower range of vocals be replicated by this speaker only and not coming out of your subwoofer is incredible. I could never go back to having center that is mid's and high's only.
I have this paired with the BP-8060 towers for L/R and with the BP-8080 surround speakers and the sound is simply impeccable.
I can't recommend that combo highly enough. My friends and family who are not really into sound all comment on how amazing it sounds. "It's like being at the movies, maybe even better". I can't argue with them.

Just FYI, I have an additional 12" woofer set for LFE below 80hz because I love the extra punch on certain movie scenes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2013
I have a pretty small place and I didn't want a sub that would blow me out of my seat and make my neighbors scream and shout in anger.
With that said, I was hoping the 8060HD would be the proper choice over the 8080HD, which is a little more substantial in size, which includes a 10" subwoofer over this speaker's 8".

CENTER AUDIO - Once I had my initial sound levels "leveled out", I was kind of disturbed by how well the audio matched my other speakers. There was complete uniformity across all channels, moreso than I ever heard before. I am so not used to this kind of balance, since I previously had a CS10 center with my crappy Bose system, and the CS10 took the brunt of the audio abuse (I had to turn the center volume up more than I would have wished).
Now, there is a seamless melding across the channels, and I keep thinking that I should turn up the center volume, but there is ZERO issue hearing dialog, yet ambient sound effects are at the SAME LEVEL of volume as my center speaker.
It is slightly trebly, with a very "crisp" snap to it. In a month they may warm up a bit. Mids are juicy, and the lower register... well, that's for the subwoofer section to deal with.

LFE/SUBWOOFER - As I mentioned, I didn't want an overwhelming subwoofer.

- How my speaker is orientated: Definitive Tech states that the speaker only needs one inch of clearance for proper LFE dispersion. I have this speaker encased in an open-back 25" wide, 16" deep, 8" high riser so I can rest my TV on top of it. There is about 12 inches of clearance in the back, where sound reverberates off of my aluminum foil-draped sliding window/doors. The 8" top clearance allows for roughly 1.75" clearance from speaker to ceiling.

- How it sounds: I am not done tweaking yet, but at first I thought there'd be a little bit more "oomph" than I was initially getting. I turned the LFE dial on the speaker all the way, increased bass volume on the receiver to "+2" (most other speakers are about "-1"), and I wasn't quite sure what was going on because there wasn't as much low register power as I was expecting.
But then I turned up the volume. That made a huge difference. I can play a movie at very low volume and I still hear the dialogue, but when I go to "movie-watching" volume, where I know maybe the neighbors can hear but it's not nighttime yet so I do it anyway - that is when the subwoofer begins showing off.

The bass is not loose or "floppy" at all. It's more tight, precise and makes is presence known without trying to brag about it.

I give this 5 stars because it does what it's supposed to do, which is present a very "honest" audio picture based on the source material. After listening to THE AVENGERS, STAR TREK (2009), THE INCREDIBLE HULK, AVATAR, THOR and a few other choice titles known for great audio, I have grown into this speaker's audio presentation. It's when you turn it up - not even to a crazy-high volume - that the subwoofer starts to get some attitude.

I believe that if you're a big fan of big LFE, then you wouldn't even be considering this speaker: you HAVE to go with a separate subwoofer, there's no other choice about that.
For someone who is wishing for a more "discreet" LFE offering, who wants to save space by skipping on a sub, then this is certainly a worthy purchase. I am sure the 8080HD would fill in things even more, but as I mentioned earlier, once I turn the volume up to "movie watching" levels instead of "being quiet in my room" levels, the breadth of this speaker really starts to shine.
Also, if you want a more "artificial" boost with your LFE, you should do good with adjusting EQ from your receiver, if possible.

My sound setup:
Cambridge Audio Azur 551r
Definitive Technology speakers:
Center - 8060HD, Left/Right - SM55, Surround Back L/R Sides L/R - SM45
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2013
What a great manufacture Looked very hard when I had lighting spike destroy a lot of my equipment (electronics) I never listened to a center channel with a subwoofer,I will always from now on.This was after I the addition of the SR-8040BP to our surround system, liking them so much I bought 4 more replacing my Infinity Quadrelpoles and move up to the 9.2 surround sound.This all started with the addition of Definitive Technology Tr-8060BP Tower to replace my blow Infinity Overture III Towers.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
Awesome work-horse of a center channel with amazing sound, superb volume, and beautiful appearance. You can spend more money on higher end equipment, but my ears are great and I can't imagine ANYTHING sounding better than this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2015
Fantastic upgrade from my Mythos 3 center. The Dialogue is now clear and full, easy to understand movies without boosting the center channel with my receiver. I'm a big proponent of Def Tech and this speaker is top notch! A bit larger than my old center but I will take that trade-off any day.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
great speakers. However I dont see much difference in powered vs non powered center speaker, the 8040hd probably sound just as good. I unplugged the speaker and pretty much sounds the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2012
This speaker has excellent, full range sound. It blends well with the older Definitive Tech Towers and the adjustable sub-woofer power allows it to be musical or cranked up for movie enjoyment.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
Definitive Technology makes the best speakers on the market in my opinion the sound quality is unsurpassed you will not regret buying this speaker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2013
Best center channel speaker I've ever owned, and matches perfectly with my BP-8040ST towers. I hear dialog much more clearly, and this speaker reproduces all the frequencies in the voice range so that I can stop asking my wife, "What did he say?" Most importantly, she loves it too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse