Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 33 reviews
on September 13, 2015
I bought a pair of these a few months back and I have absolutely nothing negative to say about them. I have them as well as a pair of klipsch bookshelf speakers hooked up to the sony 2 channel stereo receiver and the the sound is great and I listen to all sorts of music. You are able to turn them up and have no distortion across the ranges, and everything comes through at regular listening levels. I do not have a sub and these handle the lower bass quite well where you do get that thump but its not overpowering, it is more subtle, I am not saying if you turn the bass and volume all the way up on your receiver and play dubstep you wont have distortion, you have to tune your stereo for different styles of music. The mids and highs are great as well, everything comes through clear.
They are a nice size as well, its nice they do not take up much room. When I first opened them I was a little put off of how narrow they were but once I hooked them up that quickly went away and now I am glad they are smaller since I live in an apartment and space is precious. The quality and build of them are great, they look great and feel solid. You can tell that they were not just slapped together in some factory but that care was put into them.
Overall they are definitely worth the money, even if you are unsure and thinking about going for a cheaper pair you will be glad that you saved up a little longer to get these
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2015
Outstanding value for money. I am driving these with a hybrid tube amp from China. The amp gets its line signal from a pro-ject tube pre-amp coming from a pro-ject RPM 3 turntable. Whilst I am not an audio expert the output is fantastic.

I listened to a number of types of music from both analogue and digital sources and love the high end on these. The vocals sound great. For the size the bass is also very impressive. I have separate speakers for my 7.1 movie watching with a dedicated sub.

Packing was great and instructions for setup were very clear, not that speakers are complicated but its a nice touch when opening the box to have everything clearly laid out for you.

Finally they look very smart in my living room (see photos).
review image review image
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2015
UPDATE: These aren't as good as I thought. If you have/use a sub then get the bookshelf model because the floor standing model outputs just enough bass to muddy the low end and conflict with the sub but not enough deep bass to use without sub. Lemme repeat...these do not put out enough bass to use without a sub.

These sound much better than the Energy Take Classics and they're more efficient too but you're paying for what you get. The best I can say is that I set them up, use Audessy EQ setup in my Onkyo, tweak the levels, and forget 'em. They look great too! These are not all that tall so if you're used to having speakers above 48" or so to project over objects in the room, these may be a problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2015
I replaced a set of 18 year old tired speakers with the RF 42s. Fantastic speakers. When you listen to easy jazz and instrumental, I don't need to blow the roof off. These speakers sound great...the lows mids and highs. I can Pick out the bass, hear every sound of a sax with a light brush on a snare. I couldn't be more pleased. You need to pull them away from the wall, a bit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2015
I love these speakers, the sound is very detailed and crisp. I would not say they are overly bright, but they will expose any other weaknesses in your system. I am powering them with a 60w Adcom amp and they have plenty of sound. Good bass for the size, but you may want a sub at some point. Could not beat the price. These are not the same as the models Best Buy sells.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2011
These speakers are a thing of beauty. I had to ditch my old B&W speakers because they were so large and I was upgrading my TV from 46" to 55" and I needed more room. With a width of only 6", these things not only look and sound great but save a lot of room with the thin design. I did a lot of research, and these seemed to be the best floor standing speakers for the size. They work well with banana plugs or straight wire.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
Still have these two as my main speakers. Can not say enough good thing about them. I know all of us hear things differnetly so what sounds great to one may not sound great to others. These handle movies, music and games with out any issue. Seem to great great sound. Matched them up to other RF-42II reference speaksers for center and surond for an killer setup!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2015
I'm really enjoying the sound and for the value it does very well. I added the 52 center (as the 42 is not longer available) and for the sub added the BIC force. I haven't added the surround speakers yet but with what i already have it sounds pretty good. I drive them with a marantz receiver and it does movies a little better than music but they both sound pretty impressive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2015
I was told that these were good speakers so i took some one;s advice and bought them ,they are excellent, very sleek so they fit perfectly, and the most important is the sound and again wow the sound is great , happy to say we are pleased with this purchase,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2015
Great sound! Enough base that I do not feel I need a sub right now. Use it mainly for music listening. Paired them with a Pioneer receiver and could not be happier. The size is good too, the 62/82s too big and not much size difference between these and the 52s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here