All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Fire TV Stick: $29.99. Offer ends 3/26/18 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now TG18PP_gno Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One

on January 4, 2011
I just got to use these for a run. It was great not having to deal with the wires of headphones. It will take some getting used to because it takes a little time to get comfortable with the pieces in the ears, but nothing worth complaining about. Good sound quality for the price and easy to use. Very simple to transfer music to as well and the memory is more than enough for long distance running.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 29, 2011
Gets the job done for running/working out without cords getting in the way, which is nice, but they're a little awkward looking and bulky to wear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 7, 2010
I have been on a seemingly endless search for a convenient way to listen to music while I run. Lots of people like to run/jog/walk/bike/etc. while listening to music, right? One would think that there would be a myriad of reliable, high quality options out on the market to support this demand.

This Sony player was the latest in a series of options that I have tried since my old Rio Cali player. I was coming off an ill-fated attempt to use the iPod Shuffle for exercise, an attempt which failed for two well-documented reasons: repeated malfunctioning when exposed to moisture/sweat, and the failure of the earbuds (the only option available for the Shuffle) to stay in one's ears during any sort of rigorous activity (like running). I did quite a bit of research online and saw that this Sony player was getting a lot of good reviews from runners. It was supposed to be essentially waterproof, stay in your ears, and have the added convenience of no wiring or external device to hook into. Great! I ordered it and eagerly awaited its arrival.

The first thing I noticed when I put these headphones on: they are ugly. Some people care more about how they look when they run than others, and I am probably somewhere in the middle, but these are right up there with the least aesthetically pleasing headphones I have seen. The black rectangular pieces on the side look like giant bluetooth devices and are larger than they seem by looking at the pictures. Ok, whatever. As long as I can run with them, I can deal.

Begin running. After about half a mile, I'm starting to sweat just a little bit, and the earbuds are starting to slip out of my ears. They are generally staying on (as opposed to the whole unit falling off my head onto the ground) but the buds are jiggling around a bit and my ability to hear the music is suffering accordingly. This continued with increasing frequency for the duration of the run. Very frustrating. I tried again a couple of days later after having changed the earbuds to one of the additional size inserts that comes with the unit. Same result: not acceptable.

There are certainly some good things about this player. The interface on the unit is fairly easy to use while running. There didn't seem to be any issues with sweat affecting the performance (although again, I only used them twice). Also, the computer software that comes with the unit was easy to install and easy to use. But none of that really matters if you can't go half a mile without having to re-arrange your nerdy freak-show looking headphones in your ears on the run every other minute.

And so the endless search continues...
77 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 27, 2011
I purchased this MP3 player to replace my old walkman and headphones. The one piece design makes it great for the gym and hands free means I don't have to worry about wire management. lack of a display didn't bother me as much as I had first thought and navigating the songs on the device is a snap with the fwd/back button conveniently located on the earpiece. volume is more than adequate, I found myself turning it down so others couldn't hear what I was listing to. The extra ear pieces ensure a proper fit. The only negative is the location of the USB connector. It cannot be used to charge the headset while the headset is in its cradle. Overall the MP3 player is a good value and a very well designed device.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 27, 2010
Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase of this product. I did not expect it to be perfect, yet it has proven to perform very effectively. I really hope Sony never drops this concept and instead keeps on adding improvements in its next generations. I would definitely recommend this product and would buy one with higher capacity if they ever offer it.

****Update- 12-30-2010****

I'll make this update plain and simple; If you appreciate tactical, to- the-point and reliable technology..."This is BY FAR the best there is"...I have put this MP3 through the grinder in my workouts and I'm still impressed.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 8, 2011
I love my Sony Digital Music Player. The sound quality is good and the volume can go plenty high. It holds over 250 songs or 16 hours of music, which is more than adequate for my needs. The player is small, comfortable and stays in place while running and lifting weights. It is highly water resistant and holds up to sweaty workouts and poolside use.

The Sony Digital Music Player has several features which I like. You can play songs in alphabetical or random order and easily skip forward or backwards to the next song. It also has a feature, Zap, that plays 4 or 10 seconds (determined by the user) of a recognizable part of a song (determined by computer algorithm). It "zaps" from song to song until you find a song you want to hear.

The computer interface is easy and intuitive. And, the battery holds a ten hour charge and recharges quickly.

Last but not least, it is quite affordable and a great value for the money. It is not the be all end all for all music players. If you want a player to hold ten thousand songs and have a computer screen for playlists and album art, then this player will not suit your needs. But if you are looking for a player to wear while working out, it is ideal.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 15, 2011
Are you trying to retain a language you've studied, and can't schedule daily exposure? Maybe you'd love to use audiobooks or other material, but can't find the time?

This particular headset can give you an extra half-hour or more per day.

The key is how fast they slip on and shut off. Hang them on your ears and flick across a switch... takes two seconds. To shut it off just take them off and the magnetic closure does the rest.

Easy to use while getting dressed, unpacking groceries, kitchen work, other chores. No hassle... you can even change a T-shirt while wearing these.

If you'd like to get some extra listening time throughout the day, then this particular form-factor is a pleasant surprise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 11, 2014
Excellent product. My wife and I bought newer versions of the Sony MP3 headsets, but audio of these discontinue version are superior in range of frequency and audio quality. These are so convenient to use for working out,(and water resistent) and these are more comfortable than the newest versions,. Battery charge life is amazing and charge time is very short. The delivery of these was extremely fast and very well packaged. A+ rating on this transaction. Could not be happier!.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 19, 2011
I don't write reviews about products within a couple months of purchasing them because...well...we own them longer than that. This item was, as far as I am aware, meant to be used in conjunction with exercising. I've done a lot of exercising in the past year and now the metal magnetic connectors are rusting and the rocker switch gets stuck in the forward position and continually skips songs. The battery life also does not last; it drains itself in under a day even though I keep it in the plastic holder provided with the device. The ear buds never fully stayed in my ear properly and now I have to readjust them quite frequently. If I'm sweating a great deal, then I have no hope for the ear buds to stay in well.

The design of it makes sense, but I'd rather have one with neck cord that isn't stiff and the ear pieces actually *clip onto* my ear. The buttons are great (when they're working) and the ease of adding music and removing it is great.

However, if you want something for more than a couple months, this product is something I simply cannot recommend.

EDIT September 21st, 2011: As I write this edit, I just discovered that the rocker button (for turning the device on/off and changing the song) is now completely broken. It has become stuck inside the device and is completely loose if I manage to pull it out.

EDIT 12/30/11: grammar/spelling.
33 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 9, 2013
this is my second one of these. They are great. The first died after about 3 years, but I think that is okay at this price point. After reading the reviews of the new model, I decided it would be best to get the old model. I am small and always get tangled up in ear bud cords, so this works well for me. Also, I like to wear them when I am doing yard and house work, and they just stay out of the way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse