Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Noah Gundersen GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 138 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 149 reviews
on October 1, 2009
Unfortunately the design of the new shuffle precludes the use of any other headphones except the provided Apple phones and once they get damp they don't function anymore. You can't change the volume or use the voice over feature. Bad design. Go to Apple forums and read all the people's comments on these dreary phones. With this unit the controls are on the shuffle and best of all you can now use any phones that you like. I waited for months for this unit to be available and I'm so glad I didn't throw the shuffle out which was my first instinct! This unit works just as promised and now I can enjoy the benefit of a 4gb ipod with the phones of MY choice. Thank you Scosche.
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2010
INTRODUCTION.
To provide an objective view of my review, I think it is important to state my relationship with mp3 players. I have used 11 mp3 players, 7 of them ipods. I am a
workout fanatic and a professional athlete thus all the mp3 players I use must be resistant to soaking sweat, rain, durable, and have convenient fast controls. I started years back with the Rio 300 32 MB which came out in the late 90's which could only squeeze on 5 songs at a time but rubber casing kept it working for roughly 2-3 years. I have gone through the Sony Stick, Samsung Stick, Shuffle first gen, Nano first gen, Shuffle second gen, and Shuffle third gen.

INFERIORITY OF THE 3RD GEN WHEN COMPARED TO THE WELL DESIGNED 2ND GEN.
Let me state first of all the best iPod created by Apple FOR working out is the shuffle second gen. When you are working out, you want big buttons you can quickly tap once to switch or replay a track. Especially on an mp3 player without a display where you can manually select a song, it is KEY to have the ability to get to the song you want immediately (when I sprint, I switch to my favorite rock song...when I walk I switch to a more mellow one). This is because music is used to influence mood and I would go as far as to say even release epinephrine at the right times. Because the new 3rd gen shuffle requires tapping the middle button twice or three times at minimum to switch tracks, finding the track you want takes more conscious effort and is two - three times more tedious.

WHY THE TAPSTICK IS BETTER THAN ANY REMOTE.
The second reason the second gen is perfect for working out is because the actual unit is the remote itself, you have the flexibility of choosing where the remote is located. For running, where your arms are conveniently gliding next to your waist and torso, it is fast to switch tracks. You simply have to lower your arm to your waist where your shuffle (and your remote) is attached. With the remote system attached to the headsets found on the 3rd gen shuffle, you are forced to raise your hands to your face. If you are running or jogging, this is a kinesiologically out of place movement requiring concentration that can be put into the quality of the run. Furthermore, the former point of being forced to tap the remote a minimum of two times keeps your hands there throwing your body off balance. Because I do not use the original 3rd gen ipod shuffle headphones, I was forced to buy two remotes. Both of them were belkin. If you look at all the 3rd gen shuffle headset remotes on amazon, they all ARE NOT resistant to sweat. My two remotes broke within 2 days. My first one broke at the end of my 3 hour workout. My second one broke my 3rd workout. It is especially inconvenient to have the remotes if you attach your ipod to your waist. This area is SWEAT HEAVY on an exercising individual and the remotes get DRENCHED in sweat. I even took apart the remotes to try to fix them. No avail. The remotes are composed of one chip and 3 sets of 2 metallic plates that link the chip to the controls. This is not to mention the remotes attach right to your unit then to your headphones. With controls you have to tap two to three times right next to your ipod, you wonder if this kind of design even makes sense. Usually to locate your custom third party remote, you have to find your ipod, then trace your hand up to the remote. It feels awkward and superfluous. Then in anger you wonder if iPod created the third generation ipod just to other companies such as belkin could benefit from contracts.

After trying multiple ipods and remotes, I looked up the tapstick and bought it. Let me say I am EXTREMELY happy with it. It makes the ipod shuffle 3rd gen almost like the perfectly designed 2nd gen. The fact you have to tap the buttons two - three times is offset by the benefit of having voice overs. Now in terms of durability, this product gets 6/5 stars. When soaked in sweat (this is after two hours of 80 percent HR intense cardio) it continues to function. There was one workout where it stopped working after the sweat but when it dried up, IT WAS FULLY FUNCTIONAL THE NEXT DAY. I even made the mistake of throwing the tapstick in my washer and after it dried out IT STILL WORKED. I am really rough with my stuff and thats why I have a blackberry instead of an iPhone because I drop my stuff alot. I have epoxy surfboards instead of fiberglass because they ding less easily. I SELECT ITEMS BASED ON DURABILITY because everything breaks on me. My tapstick has salt leaking out of the cracks and it still works.

The only complaint I have on this product is how it makes the shuffle much longer. In this case, when you snap it onto your waist if there is any torso movement (extension or flexion) it makes the product come off. this is because the thing that attaches the ipod to your pants is only roughly 60 percent the length of the tapstick ipod. SO you have this extra long bit that rubs against your tummy when you run, do elliptical, or stairs. I have learned to put my tapstick 3rd gen shuffle on the side to avoid this problem.

So in summary

Ipod Second Gen - BEST, but no longer manufactured and must be bought on craigslist. If your existing iPod Second Gen breaks, try to find another one on craigslist. The biggest weakness of this model in my opinion is the charger. It is a flat platform with a thin stick sticking up. This easily breaks when traveling or packing it in the gym bag.

Ipod Third gen /w TAPSTICK - NEXT TO BEST - best designed charger system (durable), good tapstick remote (extremely durable). Cons of this setup is having to tap the unit two- three times per track and is very expensive.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2010
Problem: the new (4th generation) shuffles have the controls in the earphone cord, so you have to use the included Apple earphones. I have big ears, and the erphones fall out on the treadmill. I read all the Amazon reviews trying to figure out how to adapt my JVC headphones to the shuffle. Most of the reviews suggested this TapStick (which I then ordered from Amazon). Since the shuffle has the on/ play/ shuffle switch on top, once you turn it on and slide it into the TapStick, you have to slide it back out to turn it off (although you can hit pause on the TapStick).

The three large buttons on the TapStick work just like the three little buttons on the Apple earphone cord, only now you can plug in your own headphones. Also included is a cord that plugs into the earphone jack so you can plug the shuffle into a stereo. You also have to remove the TapStick to charge or download the shuffle on a laptop, since everything uses the same jack on the shuffle.

That's all there is to it. It's an extra twenty bucks or so to make the shuffle work like you thought it would all along, but nevertheless, it's TapStick to the rescue.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2013
Apple must be secretly flavoring their headphones with salmon or chicken or perhaps even mouse. That is the only way I can explain why our cat is uncontrollably drawn to their headphones. She goes out of her way to search and destroy all Apple headphones. Maybe she’s trying to tell us that Apple’s long standing policy of making all accessories proprietary pieces of crap is just not something we should stand for. I don’t speak cat, so I don’t know what she was thinking. What I do know is that after replacing three sets of headphones, something had to change. Either the cat goes or the proprietary headphones go. Luckily for the cat (and my daughter), I found the tapSTICK. The device works as intended with any headphone.

The only real complaint that I have is that the design tolerances are real tight so the iPod was a little hard to get out of the tapSTICK once it was plugged in. Unfortunately, the only way to charge the iPod is to remove it from the tapSTICK. We’ve been using the tapSTICK since May 2012 and it has started to loosen up a bit, making it a little easier to remove from the iPod. The controls still work fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2010
I received the tapStick today and was very excited, i read the reviews for it and purchased it and am very glad i did. First of all the controls work exactly the same as the ones on the ear buds that come with the iPod shuffle, except they are much more functional and are easier to use. The main reason they are easier to use are because instead of having the buttons connected, they are all separated so to don't accidentally click one of the volume buttons when you want to skip songs, second they are much bigger than the in-line controls, which makes it easier to use them, lastly, they are located on the shuffle itself which is a much more convenient location rather than on the ear buds. Another thing that i like about it is that when you pick it up, it just feels well made, which it is. I like that there is much less chance that they will get wet because instead of having them near your face, where you drink which could spill right onto them, and sweat can easily get into the controls and mess them up, they are clipped to your shirt or wherever you clip your iPod. Also i like how it fits over the iPod snugly, but mot too tight where you aren't able to take your iPod out, which you need to do to charge, sync, or turn it on and off/switch to shuffle. Speaking of turning it off, i find that if you just leave it on, after several minutes the iPod will go into standby mode, which saves battery, i usually don't turn my iPod off and have found that the charge lasts for about 2-3 days because it goes on standby, so if you don't feel like taking the tapStick off to turn off your iPod, it isn't a big deal. So overall i would say this is a great product and i would definitely recommend you buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2010
Hi All, this is a combined review of the following items, used in conjunction:

A.) Apple 3rd Generation iPod shuffle 4 GB;
B.) Scosche TapSTICK Polycarbonate Case with Integrated Controls; &
C.) Skullcandy S4CHBZ-BC Chops Earbuds.

I'm mot sure, but I think you can verify that I ordered all 3 of these at the same time. The thing you have to take my word for is that I use them all together. Well, I do -- so there.

What I was after was a small mp3 player to use while running. I'm legally-blind, so that brings problems into the picture about controlling anything that's too complex or has a touch screen, so I was a bit worried about using the Shuffle. I have an iPod Nano 16Gb that I keep audiobooks on, and it works great for me, but that is a Nano, and this is a Shuffle. Less depth of item, less depth of software, therefore less depth of control I thought.

Then, I read the reviews about the latest gen-Shuffle's issue with the controls being near the ear/head on the earbud line, and shorting out when the person begins to sweat. WTF? Who uses a Shuffle except when they are working out = sweating? I didn't understand that. It scared me off for a bit, I admit. I run during the heat of the day here in Houston when the sun's directly overhead so I can locate the curb. Generally, it's about 100F degrees. Sweating could be an issue...

Anyway, that scared me off of the new Shuffle until I read the reviews that tied the iPod Shuffle to the Tapstic controller. There are some good reviews (go read them) of th iPod when used with the Tapstick controller, and I'm here to tell you, they have it right. The combination works like a dream.

I tied my purchase to the Skullcandy quasi-earbuds, so I've got a IPod Shuffle 4Gb, 3rd Gen, controlled and located within a Tapstick controller, feeding the audio through Skullcandy earbuds, which really aren't, truly, earbuds IMO, they are sort of half-way between true "in-ear" earbud speakers, and "cover" ear-phones. I do like 'em though.

The Skullcandy "earbuds'" sound is good, but a bit, and I mean only a bit, "thin" compared to a true "in-ear" ear-bud. The bass is light, and there a slight high-end register, but it's thoroughly enjoyable while running. Don't get me wrong, I give the sound quality an 8 of 10. Maybe I have weird-shaped ears, I don't know. They are the only ears I know how to use.

The iPod itself is just that, an IPod. Load it thru iTunes, with all it's coolness and drawbacks. Play your music randomnly simply by turning the player on, simple. Trying to actually skip around through the songs? Not so simple. Try to do it without missing stride? Forget about it. Leave it alone, suffer through the song you shouldn't have put in the mix, that's the easiest solution.

The player is tiny, you won't even know it is there. If you get the 4Gb player, you get about 800 songs or so (average of 5K per song), and that's a lot of music -- it is over 40 hours! The audio quality of the Skullcandy earbud-things is quite good. They have tiny over-the-ear "hooks" and the speakers fit sort of into the ears like earbuds, so I suppose they "could" fit in that category.

All in all, I give this combination, as a combination, 4.5 out of 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2010
I wanted to use my 4th gen iPod shuffle in my car, but changing songs or even adjusting the volume was not possible without putting the headphones in, adjusting it, then switching to the line out. I bought this product for road trips that would make it nice to use the songs on the shuffle.

Overall I like the physical design. I know the top adds lots of size, but they had to have space for the headphone jack to go into the shuffle, and space for a headphone to plug your headphones into. At least they managed to keep the clip usable. However, the big downside is you can't touch the on/off button without removing the shuffle from the device. Seems like an unnecessary step. Maybe they could have added a mechanical slider to the side of the top area to could slide the on/off button? Anyway, there isn't a way to do it on this product as it is.

Sounds quality does not seem to be diminished.

I will probably keep the device, but that little problem of not being able get to the on/off switch while attached is kind of a downer. If you can get over that, then it is a keeper.

Update: The last few times I have tried to use the device has resulted in failure. It is almost 3 months old, and the button presses are not detected by the Shuffle. If Scosche will not take this product back or exchange it, I am going to use my dremel and cut a slit where the on/off button would be so that I can use my finger nail or key and turn the ipod on and off without plugging/unplugging the device. A second generation of this product may be better, but by then Apple would have changed the Shuffle and new products will not be made for it... so this product will probably final, poor build quality and all.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2009
This is the same as the TapSTICK made by Scosche; for some reason Amazon only has the TapSTICK name with the black version of the product.

Construction quality is okay; call it "polycarbonate" if you want but it's just plastic. As such, it's a bit overpriced ... but we're told the company has to pay a license fee to Apple so no wonder.

The buttons are a good size and function well - doesn't take too much pressure to get them to do their thing.

As others have noted, it fits very snugly over the Shuffle, which makes it a little difficult to separate when needed (like for charging or syncing.) But I'd rather have a tight fit than have it loose and falling off by itself. I do like this design better than the other cable-type controllers made by Belkin and Scosche.

Overall this is a nice improvement over the cheap and small in-line controls on the Shuffle headphones. It lets you connect any headphones you want, or you can plug your Shuffle into another amplifier system with the included connector cable. Very handy!

It's unfortunate that Apple didn't make something like this available with the Shuffle; we're viewing it as a somewhat expensive (relative to the Shuffle's price) add-on that lets us get much more use out of the Shuffle.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2010
Let me say first I RARELY write reviews but this product and concept is so good I just had to.

I bought this device because I was looking for a "work-around" because my new iPod 3g shuffle (which is only controllable by factory headphone buttons) would stop working whenever I would sweat in the gym. I bought the shuffle because of its size and lightweight factor thinking it would be perfect for workouts, however when I'd get about 20 minutes into a workout (and later determined sweat/water/condensation in the headphone circuits was causing the problem)... my shuffle would NOT volume UP or sometimes it would get stuck at a really high volume or really low volume. It wouldn't matter what I did to try and keep it dry ... and the amazing thing is... I'm not the first one to have these same problems. (Just do a google search for "iPod shuffle 3g sweat problems") I hate the fact that Apple made this product with the ONLY way to control it is by using the headphone button controls.

Well, I thought I was going to have to switch back to my old sandisk cruzer mp3 player which I wasn't looking forward to because it doesn't have iTunes integration and say nothing about the fact that I just dropped $65 on the shuffle. I was determined to find a solution...

ENTER... the "Scosche tapSTICK Polycarbonate Case with Integrated Controls for iPod shuffle 3G."

Let's just say before I even received it I KNEW it was going to be the "answer to my dreams" (okay, maybe a little over-dramatic) But I digress; this product is PERFECT and works exactly as described. If you are frustrated with the same issues I was (sweating and interference with the iPod functioning) then worry NO MORE. Buy this bad boy today. Heck, buy an extra one and give it as a gift with an iPod shuffle.

As a bonus, Scosche includes a 3.5 mm audio patch cable so you can connect this to your home or car stereo. I don't intend to use this in the car but it would work perfect.

BUY this if you have a iPod shuffle 3g. You will NOT regret it. It's much easier than pressing the buttons up by your neck anyway. Seriously, who wants to do that everytime you want to change a song?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2011
OK, so you have a 3G shuffle and (for whatever reasons) you like it but can't abide the Apple headphones. What is a body to do? The other adapter that are for sale (I've used both of them) are flimsy and unreliable. They work for a while, but (almost universally) will break after a modicum of routine use.

The tapSTICK case is the way around it. It slightly (and I do mean slightly) increases the size of the iPod, while leaving the clip in the back open. The new headphone jack (to my mind at least) is sturdier and I think will last longer under heavy use. The buttons appear to be sturdy, and should withstand sweaty fingers.

The one down side (and I don't see that this can be helped) is that the switch is covered by the case, so you have to pull it out to access it. Kind of a pain. Also, the price is a bit high. Overall, this saves the 3G shuffle from being an unmitigated disaster. But you have to ask yourself if you want to drop additional funds on this, or just bit the bullet and get a 4G shuffle, or some other player that actually has buttons on it.

I've gone back and forth on this rating. I'd give it 3.5 stars if I could. I wanted to take an additional star away for the price, but give that it is the only solution that works, I don't want people to turn away from it and waste money (like I did) on one of the other solutions that don't last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Need customer service? Click here