Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 36 reviews
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon December 27, 2011
I purchased this subwoofer to be part of my home entertainment system. Last year I picked up a pair of Energy CF-30 Floorstanding/Tower Speaker (Black), Each. I was using these tower speakers alone in a stereo configuration until I was able to expand my system to it's fuller potential. Those tower speakers did a great job, but alone were just adequate, though they do a fantastic job of what they are designed to do - midrange and high range sound.

This year I added this subwoofer and a Energy CC-5 Center Channel Speaker (Black) to my system. There are also some smaller wall-mounted speakers that were in the house when we moved in that I also hooked up. The core of my system is a Sony STR-DH510 5.1-Channel Home Theater Receiver.

The room that houses our entertainment system is perhaps 12' x 18' with the TV and speakers facing the long axis of the room.

I decided to try the system out with a DVD of the movie Tron: Legacy, and MAN, that was SWEET! The subwoofer really made the place rumble. You know, that sensation where you actually feel the low rumbles and deep sounds in your chest rather than hear them.

I am a fan of Energy speakers! I also very much like the fact that they are made in Canada, and not in China, like just about everything else these days.

In my experience, this is a 5-star product with 5-star performance. Plus the black wood speaker box looks extra nice!

I'm completely satisfied. And I expect this speaker to performs as well as the Energy tower speakers I've had for over a year. Highly recommended!
33 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2011
I am a sound engineer and wanted something for my screening room that was tiny but had low distortion. This speaker filled the bill. There are adequate controls to properly set up the sound field for perfect Dolby, DTS, or SDDS sound tracks. The eliptical suspension for the cone does make a difference when reproducing LFE from Dolby tracks. The small size is perfect for a small room, like a home living room. It powers up automatically and has a bright blue indicator showing it is ON. I suggest covering it to avoid distraction from your screen.

Of course I took it apart to inspect the internals, and it is on the well made side as far as consumer goods goes. I did not need to increase cooling or rework the DC supply for ripple. It was fine out of the box.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2011
Some of the other reviews are much more technical than mine can be. This is my first subwoofer, so I don't have much to compare it to. My TV and Stereo speakers were built into the ceiling of my new home, they sound fine, but lack any low end. I picked this up on the Gold Box special for a very good price. It hooked up pretty easy, took me longer to figure out how my reciever handles subwoofers than anything on the subwoofer, but it went quickly. For what I want, a touch of low end on movies and music at non-house shaking levels this 8-inch model really fit the bill perfectly. Its small, fit easily where I wanted it, adds just enough bass to make a big difference without rattling the dishes, which I don't want, very well priced (at least during the sale), seems well made, very solid. So as a layman writing to other laymen, there may be better subwoofers out there, but I did not feel like spending days researching (I did spend about 45 minutes and all reviews seemed positive), but for the price/quality/performance I have never looked back and am glad it is part of my system.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
I own two of these subwoofers. One started rattling within a year of ownership. I contacted Klipsch Group, the manufacturer, and received an email stating that a company representative was going to get back to me within 7 business days. After weeks of not hearing from the representative, I tried calling the support number numerous time, but kept getting a recording that asked me try my call later. I give this item and the Klipsch Group one star because of the poor/lack of customer service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2011
Bass delivered by this sub unit is more than satisfying for it's size. I placed the sub in a room with a very high ceiling and was a bit apprehensive in doing so. I was pleasantly surprised; deep, clean room filling lows. This is a perfect sub if you do not want to overwhelm a room with bone jarring sound. It takes up very little space, sounds superb and the finish is incredible! Not much has been said on the topic of finish; no need to elaborate, this unit is beautiful. This item still sells for $300 or more from some retailers and is worth every penny. Getting one for $150 makes it the best deal in audio/video I've seen in years...
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2014
Our Bose 3-2-1 system went south, so we decided to get a new sound system to enhance our TV. Our sound installation expert suggested Energy speakers as a good choice. We read a lot, and also called the Energy Customer Service and got their input.

We settled on this ESW C-8 Subwoofer to compliment two Energy CB-5 Bookshelf Speakers and the system powered by a Yamaha RX 575 AV Receiver. The subwoofer is basically a big box sitting on the floor, but it is unobtrusive and provides good base sounds. We are pleased with the system, all of which was purchased through Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2011
I purchased these to complement a pair of Energy CB-5 Bookshelf Speakers (Pair,Black) in hopes of getting a low profile but powerful system for my family room (15' x 21' cathedral ceilings). They are hooked up to a Marantz NR1601 Audio Video Receiver (Black), on which I use a DVR and PS3 (all connected via high speed HDMI).

I was worried these would be too small for my family room but that proved to be false. I love this subwoofer. For it's size, it puts out some serious bass. Depending on the level I set, you can feel the rumble in the whole house with very deep and clean bass. I don't think they can compete with a 15-inch Velodyne (it's not going to bring the house down around you) but if you are looking for a small subwoofer that pumps out clean/powerful bass then go for it.

I've used it for watching movies via the DVR, playing FPS games on the PS3, and pumping anything from a Bass Addict CD to classical music through it. All of it sounded awesome. When cranked, it sounds like a movie theater in my house to a point where I'm afraid to turn it up any higher less I get a visit from my neighbors.

I have no complaints or buyers remorse about getting these.

Very high quality, very clean/powerful bass, and small form factor. Sweeeeeeeeet.....
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2016
Wow. I've gotta admit I'm impressed with this sub. First off, if you are purchasing an 8 inch subwoofer expecting to shake your house hard enough to make pictures on the wall go crooked, you're an idiot. Otherwise, this is exactly what you would expect: A device that produces deep bass tones from a small form factor. I needed to replace an extremely old sub that came with a PC multimedia speaker system that is so old it's embarassing. I already own a full home theater system, all Paradigm. Which is exactly why I felt I needed to comment on this Energy sub. It turns out that that Energy and Paradigm companies are both based in Canada. When I received my ESW-C8, the first thing I had to do was to take a look inside. But first, the outer finish - it reminded me of my Paradigm speakers. It honestly looked like it belonged on a piano. The internals seemed to be assembled with a reasonable amount of pride. The two biggest shockers were the bellmouth attached to the inside of the tuned port tube and the "Made in China" sticker. I was in no way expecting to see a "velocity stack" on the inside of this thing and quite honestly this product doesn't really give off the aura that it is yet another piece of s*** made in China, which I am so f*****g sick of these days. Sick of it. Sick of spending good money on crap that is manufactured by companies who don't give a f*** about craftsmanship or quality control. Did I mention, SICK OF IT? Sorry, that subject causes my Tourette's to flare up (I'm kidding, and no offense to anyone with Tourette's). Anyhow, I couldn't ask for better engineering or build quality. It sounds as solid as I could ever hope for. Just be sure to Google for instructions on how to set the phase switch and crossover point to match the rest of your system - that is EXTREMELY important with any subwoofer. At this point I can't comment on reliability, but assuming it keeps powering up when it receives a signal, I'm as happy as can be.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2011
The Energy ESW-C8inch 240W subwoofer was the final speaker for my new entertainment room. Being that the room is a medium sized room (22 x 14) this subwoofer was a good fit. The sound really makes a difference for watching movies. I did read a number of reviews before purchasing so I feel I was making a good decision. I have always had great service when ordering from Amazon and have always been pleased with the service from any vendor. No problems to date, so I will continue to order with Amazon.
Thanks
ME
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
I was surprisingly pleased with this sub after reading some of the reviews. However , one reviewer stated it was ok for smaller rooms--that is what I have--12x12. This sub filled the room nicely without being too boomy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse