Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 67 reviews
on February 15, 2015
Ditto what the other positive reviews said. Don't hesitate to pull the trigger on these. My girlfriend is a music freak and was blown away by the clarity of these. I upgraded my theater room's 15 year old Onkyo surround bundle. I'm using these as the front R & L, a CS10 center, Tsi100's for the rear surrounds, T15's for the surround backs and a JBL (soon to be a Polk) sub all powered by a new Sony 1050 7.1 receiver.

The first movie I watched with this setup had Stallone and Schwarzenegger in it, it was great to be able to understand what the heck they were both saying!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
A lot of speaker for the dollar. I like the natural sound - no heavy bass or excessively brilliant highs. These speakers are
perfect for the baroque period of classical music I enjoy. Violins and other bowed string instruments sound like they should (with a good quality recording). No grit my teeth steely overtones common to many much more expensive speakers. Very clear voices for choral music too. Just enough bass to matter. - these are not speakers for heavy metal blastophiles. In addition, the Polk TSi400s are very efficient - this is especially important for those of us with relatively low powered vacuum tube amplifiers. A 30W amplifier will do nicely with these speakers in an average sized room. The cabinet finish is flawless - typical of Polk. Give them a try - I think you'll be impressed with how good a modestly priced speaker can sound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
First I should make it clear, I am not an audiophile.

I bought these Polks to replace a pair of 12 year old JBL northridge series floor standing speakers. The polks are half the size and sound twice as good, at least to my ear. I'm using these as part of a 5.1 surround system and also for regular music listening. Love them, would buy again. I'm sure an audiophile with super-sensitive ears would hear "problems" with these, but honestly for the average user it's hard for me to believe a set of speakers could sound much better in my front room than these do, especially for the price. 4 starts just because I know that there are better sounding speakers out there, but at what price? Would buy again!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on May 16, 2016
Within the past six months a pair of Polk Audio RTi A1 bookshelf speakers, Polk Audio PSW10 and Sony STR-DH 850 A-V Receiver were purchased in order to upgrade my twenty year old surround sound system. There was a significant improvement in the listening experience. However, recently I decided to purchase a set of tower speakers and move the RTi A1 speakers to the rear in order to more fully modernize the surround sound system.

Unfortunately, living in a rural area without easy access to different manufacturer's dealers to listen to their products, the initial purchase was based on researching product specifications and purchaser reviews. Before purchasing the tower speakers, I determined to find actual sound reviews and located many of various manufacturers on YouTube. Most of these reviews had low quality audio and could not be relied on to reproduce a true sound sample. Fortunately one individual posted a high quality video of several Polk Audio speakers which gave a very good reproduction of sound. The one that impressed me was by LENNShop HD for the Polk Audio TSi400 [...]
After waiting patiently for approximately one month, the price was reduced twenty-five percent and an order was placed. Ten days later they arrived. I chose to take advantage of the free shipping for a savings of $69 over the two day shipping fee.

When delivered by UPS, both packages had several large ruptures. Fortunately the towers were wrapped in a thick plastic envelope and suspended within a large base and top of Styrofoam plus an additional waist-band. This packaging held the tower two inches in from the box and, in this case, protected them from damage.

Removal from their box was easy. An inspection revealed no surface damage. Since the corner feet for each tower were already attached, there was nothing to do except connect the speaker wires. The new A-V receiver is 7.2 surround and the last two channels were used to bi-amp the tower speakers. Within a few minutes the speakers were ready to play.

The shape of these speakers is a rectangular prism measuring seven inches wide, fourteen deep and standing thirty-eight and three-quarters tall. They come in two colors, black and cherry. These speakers are very handsome with a black textured surface on the sides with a glassy solid top.

The room where they are installed is approximately 15 by 20 feet with several pieces of upholstered furniture.. My first impression when listening to these speakers was that there was more music. There seemed to be a greater range of sound than with the replaced speakers consisting of a tweeter and one five and one-quarter inch woofer. The TSi400 have a one inch tweeter and three five and one-quarter inch mid range/woofers. To my ear, the sound produced was clear and crisp at all ranges.

One common complaint of tower speakers is that they require a high power level. The A-V receiver has a rating of 95 watts per channel. This was adequate to create a comfortable listening level using only 20 to 30 percent of power.. A greater number or larger individual woofers may require more power.

The speakers do not have a bass port. Whether this has any impact on the bass sound they produce is unknown. Do you need a sub-woofer? Perhaps, depending on the type of listening you do. I used a YouTube video to test the bass with and without my ten inch sub-woofer [...]. The specified range for bass is a low of 34 Hz. The sub-woofer low is 35hz. The only change observed with the sub-woofer was to increase the volume and pressure impact. For most of my listening, classical, folk and movies, the sub-woofer was not needed. Only for movie special effects would it be desirable and that is primarily for the increase in volume. For most listening I would say a sub-woofer in not needed.

In conclusion, the Polk Audio TSi400 is an excellent tower speaker at a very reasonable price which can be used without depending on a sub-woofer. They fit comfortably into small and medium sized rooms and provide a quality listening experience.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
Excellent imaging and very tight bass
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2014
I have always thought polk audio produces speakers with good sound but I actually underestimated these towers. They have exceptional sound I can't imagine beating without paying a LOT more. I'm glad we decided to go with these. I wondered if we were selling ourselves short of what we wanted by not going with one of polka higher end speakers but these are freaking awesome! I can't even imagine what some of Polk's high end stuff sounds like, but then I realized my home may be a little small for some of their monitors. I'll never be able to play these loud enough to distort in our 2,300 square foot home
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
great speakers, sound perfect!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2011
I started out looking for smaller footprint speakers for my home theater/audio system to replace my aging but still outstanding Dahlquist 905s. Unfortunately all the well reviewed small speaker sets where either too bright or failed to present the soundstage I wanted. As is often said, speakers are a very personal and are subject to the room and system they are paired with. Amazon was offering a free powered subwoofer with Polk Audio purchases over $499 so there was a good financial incentive to consider them. It has been several years since I listened to Polk Audio speakers and my impression at that time was that they were an adequate mid price range speaker. I figured it was worth the chance to make the purchase and the additional effort to return them if I didn't like them. When I first wired them up I did it with a single set of wires to each speaker. Granted, the speakers hadn't gone through a break in period but there wasn't much dynamic range and they sounded a little muddy. My Onkyo TX-NR808 receiver supports bi-amping, as do the TSi400s.So I added another set of wires to each speaker and removed the bridge between the terminals. This was well worth the exercise. The dynamic range greatly improved, producing a very good range of low's to midrange to highs that are reasonably clear. There is good imaging in my listening area. Lossless music, especially 24bit has a wonderful depth and seems authentic. These speakers are my fronts in a 5.1 arrangement and work nicely with the Polk Audio CS-10 center speaker and the free PSW-111 subwoofer. The only reason I gave a 4 star rating is that since I have a champagne appetite on a beer budget I could only give 5 stars for speakers likely costing 2-3 times as much, but I am pleased with the performance and would recommend them to a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
Only had for 3 days and still breaking in, but I think these speakers are awesome. Crisp clear vocals and sound gets richer with use. I use the Polk TSi400 as front speakers, with a Polk subwoofer and two old Kenwood bookshelf speakers as surrounds. I have a 17 x 20 living room and this system fills this room, plus adjoining rooms with great sound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2014
They sound great. I am not a stereo guru and dont know a lot about how they work or why. I know that I replaced my BOSE acoutimas system front three speakers with POLK and couldnt be happier. The put out a lot more (and Clearer) sound than the double cubes I have from Bose.
I will also add that the center speaker is the most important and is where I noticed the biggest difference. The center speaker I used was the POLK CS10. If I could do it over I would get the CS20 and keep these side speakers.

Additionally I use these primarily for watching TV
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 23 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here