Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 15 reviews
on December 18, 2010
This is a very nice rear surround speaker if you have room for it, as it is rather large for a "bookshelf speaker." IMPORTANT NOTE: These are sold by an individual speaker, not as a PAIR. When I originally purchased it, I assumed (never assume) that it was a pair. When only one speaker showed up, I was surprised and disappointed, however the good people at Amazon sold me a second speaker at the same price I paid for the first and changed the listing title to more clearly delineate that this was only a single speaker - I've never bought a bookshelf speaker as a single item before...

I am running a 100W per channel Yamaha Dolby Digital 5.1 amp/receiver with a 12" powered Klipsch Subwoofer, Infinity SM85 Mains, Infinity SM Video for center and these babies for the rear now. The sound is great, even though my other components are now 11+ years old. The sensitivity of this speaker is not as good as the SM series, but having the ability to adjust my 100W amp evens it all out, and makes for great sound.

The looks are nice and stylish. I could see this speaker as a good main speaker if you have a decent subwoofer to hit the low frequencies, as these will not produce ground shaking bass, being only a rather small 2 way speaker.

If you can get a good price they are worth the money. I'm sure I'll have these for many years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
I got these speakers real cheap during an Amazon lighting deal around Christmas 2010. The price was absolutely insane and I couldn't resist picking them up. They sound great during everything I'm doing - PS3? Yep. XBox? Yep. TV? Yep. And they look absolutely beautiful in my living room - Bonus!

Word of caution - they are big. I don't know if they HAVE to be that big, but I'll tell you that my wife thinks they're intimidating and too large for her decor. I had them hanging as my 6th and 7th speaker in a 7.1 surround sound setup and they made the whole room look atrocious - like giant warts on the wall. And they're so big that they don't fit height-wise on the shelf I had above my TV. So I returned them (thank you Amazon).

Word of caution, if you are going to use these for a 7.1 surround sound system, note that not many things these days support 7.1 and since they go in front of the room, they don't add THAT dynamic of an addition as a good set of speakers in the back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2011
We are replacing our old Infinity floor speakers with bookshelf speakers. We tested these speakers against Definitive Technology Studio Monitor 450's and
KEF Q300's. The Infinity Classia's would have been our favorite had we been willing to add a sub-woofer. They have the clean, crisp sound we love and amazing highs. However, without a sub-woofer, the lows lacked. If you're willing to purchase a sub-woofer, you'll get an awesome sound with these speakers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2016
Took awhile to break in but now sounds great. Maybe my ears just adjusted to it. Sounds great with the matching subwoofer. Really, really needed that subwoofer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2011
I finally purchased an Infinity home audio product, a friend back in 86 had a set of tower2, they where the best sounding speakers i have heard. The price,2k. That price is military Germany, so add 2k. I bought a pair of Boston Acoustics 226, than I purchased these. I had the BA's as front, they are now the surround, and most likely will be returned to be replaced by more Classia. This is a bookshelf replacing floor-speakers. The sound is tight, precise, just plain great. I guess what made it a bargain is, I went used-like new and paid a 100 less than the BAs'. Completely worth it. Saved enough to order the Classia center to match. Ive been attached to Bose cubes since they came out, once tweaked they couldnt be touched for the price. I don't have the Infinities tweaked or adjusted by equalizer and they are, for the price, great. Infinity did not let me down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2010
We bought these to replace some Mirage speakers that blew up right after the warranty ran out. They are quite a bit bigger than what we had before, but the sound is great and so was the price. We are very, very happy with these speakers.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2010
I paid under $200 a pair for these and at that price these are tough to beat in the value department. They have a bit of a polarizing look as people either love them or hate them, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2011
Overrated. The bass is very detailed and very tight. Unforunately that is the only real good thing about these. The highs flat out suck. If you listen to rock music the crashing powerful sound of symbal drums and guitars is completely overpowered by bass sound. They just do not have bite to them. I imagine these are quite good for home theater as part of a 7.1 system. For 2-channel music not at all. They are very light and small . I have returned them and will be buying something bigger. These would never be worth the retail price. At the discounted current price they are a good buy. The problem again is that they are unbalanced for music even by the limited standard of a bookshelf speaker. I beleive this is done purposely because most people are into surround sound and are not using 2 channel audio anymore. 2channel music is the ultimate test on how good a speaker sounds and this pair is not as good as past infinity models.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2010
I decided to try out these speakers given that they have great reviews from about.com, and they were originally priced at $700 pair. For around $200 a pair, I thought it's a steal...

Well, I was wrong. The speaker is very flimsy - the front grill just snapped right off (plastic broke) without any applied force, and the sound quality is decent for $200 pair speakers, but there's no way anyone will pay much more than that. There's also a lot of wasted vertical space - there's no reason for the speaker to be so tall with the slant, I don't think it contributes anything to the overall acoustics of the product.

Overall, decent speakers for the price. If you're on a short budget, it's worth a look - but build quality is quite flimsy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here