Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 108 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 129 reviews
on May 26, 2011
I did a lot of research both online (forums and editorial reviews) and in stores. After auditioning other products in the price range and also other speakers from Polk, I decided to make the purchase. The RTi A3's are some of the best performance per dollar speakers out there. They look great and sound even better.

I currently have them running in a temporary stereo setup in my parents basement (until I move out in two weeks - just graduated college). I have a denon avr-1912 receiver powering them that I also just bought - look out for a review of this once I get my setup more fleshed out and work my way through all its features. After running the initial auto-setup on the denon these speakers sound amazing. Their is a little punch in the upper bass that will almost certainly be tamed by running the Audyssey calibration on the receiver. Other than that the sound is amazing. Highs are great, voices sound very natural and distorted guitars and drums sound very life-like.

I am trying to refrain from using audiophile hyperbole here. Rap, techno, jazz and rock are all handled very well.

The bass reproduction is there and sounds great but (and remember, I have not run room calibration yet) is definitely not impactful. What I mean by that is that I don't feel bass hits in my chest but I can definitely hear the bass very clearly. A subwoofer would definitely help on this front but honestly a sub is not needed for music listening - only the lowest of low bass lines will not be handled by these amazing bookshelfs.

And that is exactly what I think they are - amazing. I think they sound great and have tremendous value. You would be hard pressed to find speakers that sound this good at this price range. My friend sat down and listened to them yesterday and he is certainly not an enthusiast and he immediately said they were some of the best speakers he has ever heard.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
I have had these speakers for about 3 weeks and I am very impressed. Cosmetically these speakers are very nice to look at. The cherry finish and the real wood construction makes these speakers look expensive and they feel well built. The teardrop design combined with the cherry finish makes the speakers look elegant (for speakers) and should certainly help get wife approval. I am using these as my front left and right speakers and the rest of my system consists of an RTi A6 center channel, a Bic F12 subwoofer and a Denon S900W. Everything set to 80Hz. The soundstage is very nice and I am very impressed with the clarity of the sound in movies, gaming and music. I have pushed these speakers relatively hard and they have not struggled a bit. Bass performance is as expected for a 6.5" speaker so it's important to keep your expectations in check. Besides, if you truely do want bass that is what a subwoofer is for (I'm waiting for my Rythmik LV12R). That being said I have experimented with setting the crossover to 60Hz and the speakers sounded fantastic. I am very happy with these speakers and I would recommend them to anyone
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2017
Unboxing: Are you kidding me? These speakers are MAGNIFICENT! They are extremely well built and just outright gorgeous! Looks? Like I paid 10 times the price for these speakers than I actually paid.

Sound Test: Out of the box, not even broken in, they blew me away...just jumped right out and knocked me over with incredible sound, and the bass, the bass from a bookshelf..heck, I have heard towers that don't pump out this much punchy tight and solid sound. The highs weren't shrill or harsh, not even in the least, yet still present and crystal clear.

I am truly amazed that I could get speakers like this for this price. I highly recommend them. I couldn't imagine a situation where you would be disappointed. I do have a lot of power, so one suggestion would be to have at least 100wpc to provide "food" for them to feed upon.

I will follow up with a review at a later date once I have had them for some time, to allow for break in. So far, Im just taken by surprise. I have had much more expensive bookshelves, Martin Logan 35's, Monitor Gold 50's, etc.. The RTIA3's are only a fraction of the price of either of those speakers, but in my opinion, they can run with the big dogs for a much slimmer wallet. They also will more than likely be "wife approved", as they are a very good looking speaker :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2016
Very nice speakers. Build quality is very good. Passes the 'knock' test. Well designed. Fill my 20 X 25 room with sound. Highs are not fatiguing, mids and lows are spot on. Really like that they are front ported since I had to wall mount them. All brackets and screws came with speakers to wall mount! Highly recommend these speakers
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2017
these speakers kick butt man! I was kinda nervous just because I've heard mixed reviews on these, but honestly these things are beautiful and sound awesome, they do have allot of top end but you can fix that by lowering the treble on your receiver, I actually don't like crazy overpowering bass so these things work for me, it really has a nice low end, its not over bearing in my opinion its the perfect amount, I listen to allot of rock, punk, jazz and indie rock music, if you collect records and want to upgrade your speakers these are great! happy listening!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2015
Was unsure at first - they sounded tinny. They definitely broke in after a few hours of loud playing and the base sounds pretty throaty for a small speaker. They are deeper than you think but will fit in a bookcase and hang out the front a bit as long as you've got 12" wide shelves. I've hung mine off of the wall in the back of the bookcase to try and isolate the vibration from the turntable. They're working great and I'm running them without a subwoofer on some vintage equipment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
I purchased these to replace a HUGE set of infinity front speakers for my home theater system. I wanted something off the ground (my dogs mark anything standing :( ). I am amazed at the sound they produce. Very clear and realistic to my ears. Movies sound like they never have before. They are VERY DEEP (14 inches) so make sure you have the space for them. The trade off for the depth of these is an amazing sound reproduction. I love heavy base and the sub is a must if you do too. The A3's do ok but if you like to "feel" an explosion during a movie, the sub is a must add on. They were very easy to mount with the included template and have a beautiful high quality build. I liked these so much, I just purchased a set of FXi A6 rears. I am blown away at the value of these. To me, they sound as good as speakers 3-4 times as expensive. I would highly recommend these for a home theater setup.

Music sounds great through them as well but is somewhat "small" to me. I am using these in a 20x20 room. If music were my focus in this room, I would rather have the larger floor standing speakers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2011
The wood is beautiful, smooth and on bottom, top and sides.
The finish is as good as any furniture and the front cover is a good fit.
The speakers are very long which might cause some of you discount these for back speakers on surround sound but not me.
I am using these as the only two speakers on my TV.
The lows are surprising, the double porting really works.
The rear bass port deflector is also where a hole is where you hang these on the 3" screws (supplied).
There are two posts on the back that hold the bottom of the back of the speaker away from the wall.
The result is that the bass port can punch some of that base into the drywall while the air moves between the speaker and the wall.
The speaker has two sets of posts. The come connected together by copper strips. Pull the strips off and each speaker can be bi-amped.
The top post are for the tweeter, the bottom two are for the midwoofer.
The post work with bare wire or banana plugs but are very snug with the plugs.
Just remove the covers to use banana plugs (a minute per jack)
Comes with little rubber feet so that the finish is protected if you are going to put them on a shelf.
Packaging was solid.
The sound is clear and tight. The midrange is unbelieveable. This is not a super hissy high tweeter either.
I can best describe the tone of this speaker as "wood". It is natural, warm, solid sounding. The punch of the bass is precise.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2017
Long time audiophile says that these are some of the best speakers I've used and I have had some great speakers including Bose 901's. Setup is pretty straight forward and bi-wiring option is available, but my research indicated that there was not much benefit to this wiring configuration. I also bought a Polk subwoofer SW10 which is a 5 out 5 stars too. Definitely, recommend these speakers for one of the best sound experiences for music; you'll hear things that you've been missing in cheaper speaker configurations. My rig also includes Audioengine DAC, Denon AVR 1713 all hooked into a Dell XPS. These are so good I am considering the Polk towers for my Home Theatre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2015
Just got these today, but I am already impressed! What is really surprising me is the low end. It's been a long time since I've had bookshelf speakers, but I don't remember my previous Athena's or JBL's to have nearly as powerful bass as these Polk's! I am very glad I went with the bigger A3 over the A1. I'm still going to add a small sub for home theater, but it's definitely not a "must". Overall I am very happy with these so far.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 31 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here