Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon harrypotter harrypotter harrypotter  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



on December 27, 2014
I have replaced my twenty some year old speakers with these taller and more narrow Sony SSF-5000 and after three days felt compelled to share what I think about them. I read as many reviews that I could and decided to take the plunge. I am so glad that I did. All this talk about no bass could not be further from the truth! My old speakers had a 10 inch woofer and these have blown that away. They will shake the walls if you crank it up I am sure. I have mine set at 6 and it is more than enough for me. Maybe some of the reviews are from the people that are in traffic with the boom box sound we all have heard. I find them to be perfect for me. Nice highs, nice crisp clear sound, not bulky and they look very sharp. I am using a Sony 135 watt per channel receiver so they are very compatible. Go for it! You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 22, 2013
I'm no expert when it comes to speakers, but I do know what kind of sound I want out of my system. I was using a pair of Bose 301 bookshelf speakers as the front speakers to my home theater. The issue with those was, due to their location, the sound was not projecting into the room (I now use these as my rear speakers). I did quite a bit of research before choosing these speakers - read a lot of reviews on Amazon and Sony.com. Yes, price was a major consideration, but I wanted good performance especially on the low end sound. After installing the speakers and doing a little tweaking with my receiver, I was very happy with the sound. Everything is very clear and the sound projects very good into the room. I was especially pleased with the bass that these speakers produce.
These speakers can more than handle the 250 watt/channel receiver that I have. I can now turn the volume up very high and still hear all sounds clearly. On no movie was the more evident than 'Saving Private Ryan'. The sound separation during the battle sequences was amazing for speakers of this price.
I'm sure you can get even better sound out of more expensive speakers. Based on testing 'high end' speakers at a local electronics store, I found that I would have had to spend $750+ to get speakers that sound 'better' than these.
I've always been happy with Sony audio equipment and these speakers did not disappoint.
I do recommend that you adjust your receiver to get the most out of these speakers. Luckily for me that process was quick and painless.
In my opinion, unless you're a picky audiophile, you won't find better performance at any price close to these speakers.
My home theater room is now filled with great sound thanks to these speakers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2016
These Sony tower speakers have served me well over the past 5 years playing various types of music and movies.
With a front ported design and 8 inch woofers they put out more bass than you might expect from speakers weighing in at just 25 lbs each.
Midrange and highs are clear with the tweeters being positioned near head level.
The towers have a nice clean look with the grills on or off and good quality vinyl woodgrain wrap.
I combined the SSF-5000's with a 100 watt per channel receiver and Sony SA-W2500 subwoofer for an affordable powerful bedroom stereo.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 29, 2013
I bought these to replace a pair of 40-year-old Rectilinear speakers that were the anchor of my living-room system but finally gave up the ghost. I'm on a budget, so getting modern equivalents of those great old Rec's was just not possible. These mid-grade Sony 3-ways looked like a good, short-term solution (I expect to replace them in 5 years or so).

I am very impressed with the sound quality right out of the box. I had the speakers set up in about 5 minutes. After a few days of low- to medium-duty wear-in, I tried to max them out (with a CD player into a Sony STR-DH520 receiver), and there was very little distortion.

Overall, the bass is a bit soft, which is fine for my tastes but likely would not satisfy those who like to rattle the windows. Mid- and high-end is good to great. The speakers are better for watching video than my Rec's were, obviously, but I do miss the "warming" effect those old speakers had on digital audio. ...

The towers are about waist-high with a relatively small footprint, and as such fit into my system's aesthetic, too. The speakers are unobtrusive and classic "Sony black."

I'm sure there are better speakers available in the same price range, but I don't regret at all choosing the SSF-5000s.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 5, 2015
Affordable speakers with great results! We use these with our 1991 Sony stereo set and everything sounds great through them. We've even hooked up our Laserdisc and Blu-ray players to the amp for some great sound!! LPs, analog/digital cassettes, CDs, iPod, AM/FM all sound fantastic. Bass is above average I'd say for this size and price, tweeters good too. Vocals sound clear and instruments sound alive. I haven't noticed any distortion or off sounds. Even in an apartment, these are great. They can produce a lot of sound without sending it through the floor to your neighbor under you. We have a very large living room in our place, but even in the bedroom or small living room these would be fantastic. If you can, I would get these before the bookshelf speakers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 1, 2014
I did not want to spend a ton for speakers that would be matched to an older modular receiver set-up. This set was a very good choice. I listen to a combination of classic rock, 80's New Wave, 90's alternative, and that's about it. The bass is so sufficient that i returned a separate subwoofer. I like bass, and i really don't need the extra bass that a sub provides. These speakers provide sufficient bass. The tweeter and midrange are just fine. No, these are not an audiophile's speaker of choice, but I am discriminating to a degree, and i like the quality of the sound.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 18, 2012
This weekend I had time to setup my stereo system with the newly purchased Sony SSF5000 speakers. The instructions are short, one should use common sense to connect them to the amplifyer. My opinion that the enclosed light diameter wires are not sufficient for 150 watt amplifyer juice, I used #6 speaker wires to connect them. My Yamaha could send up to 200 watt per channel so the stronger wires are well advised for a strong amplifyer. When I turned the amp on, the sounds were exceptionally good, very little distortion, bass and treble are well recognized, full range of bass as well as very delicate treble are coming through. Sony made a fine product again, comparable to their good name.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 2, 2014
Good Speaker for the price I paid ($99.00) in 2009. A lot of the great reviews came at that time. However, make no mistake these are not worth the current $200.00 price tag. I bought the Sony 7000 models for that price in 2010. These are same speakers as they were 5 years ago. Nothing has changed. I have since upgraded to Polks which surprised me at how much better they were than these Sonys. If they ever fall back to the regular price of $117.00 or sale price of $99 buy but if not please check out other brands like Polk before you put $200 on these. They simple are not worth that price.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 5, 2015
Absolutely ridiculous for the price - and shipped for free!

Unless these don't work out of the box, I see no reason that anyone could give them less than a 5 star rating.

They are $198 for the PAIR ... shipped to your door!

Awesome sound cranks out of these. Perfect for a living room, playing movies, streaming music. The sound quality is great. It's taken very little calibration to achieve the sound that I like. I'm not audiophile, and really ... even people that say they are ... aren't ... so no one should really be THAT picky or claim to be able to hear like a dolphin under water.

Unless you want a different color than black, there's no way you can go wrong with this set!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 10, 2014
[This review has been updated to a higher rating after listening to these speakers for a longer time] I'll agree with many of the other reviews by saying that you can't really beat the price. The speakers are large, sturdy and well made. But the most important thing about a set of speakers is the sound. At first I was unsure what to think about the sound, but after time I've realized that the sound quality is really pretty good. However, they aren't the type of speakers where you listen to music, jump up out of your chair and yell, "Wow! These things sound fabulous!" But they do sound pretty good at low and at high volume. The tones are true, well separated and crisp. The tonal range is wide, complete and distinct, but they do suffer a little bit in the bass range--though I'm thankful they don't have a droning sub-woofer sound. We use our stereo to listen to music, plain and simple, not to listen to the television, movies or games (we have a surround-sound system for that). For music, these things turned out better than expected.

We will keep them and enjoy them, but we will continue our hunt for the elusive affordable Ear Candy, if such a beast truly exists.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse