Spring Deals Automotive Children of Blood and Bone New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno

on October 11, 2012
I bought this to be a speaker for an old iPod that sites in a cradle and has an aux out and a power supply. It works for this purpose, and probably for this alone.

After a few weeks of use however we notices odd bursts of buzzing sounds -- we can't figure out why. The construction is quite flimsy, including the on-off switch. I wonder if the product we got is counterfeit. I think, even at a very low price, you're betting buying something else.

If you do buy this, note that the iPod it was designed for no longer exists. I used to have one, but Apple recalled mine and replaced it with a modern Nano. So it seems worthless.

HOWEVER it has an aux in. So that sounds like it would work with any peripheral. Alas, not quite.

This device is designed for the iPod 30 pin (old style) connector. The aux in just connects into the same path as the connector audio, and the power standard for that is higher than earphones. So if you run the aux in cable from an earphone output the audio will be very FAINT.

However, iPod CRADLE aux out is stereo system level, and that's what this device expects. So run the audio cable from your iPod cradle aux out and you'll be fine. Otherwise you'll be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 18, 2007
I ordered the miniblaster (2nd generation) for my husband for Christmas and it has incredible sound. I wanted to keep it for myself! The sound was awesome for such a compact portable unit. I thought he could use it while getting ready for work and bouncing from room to room w/o hooking and unhooking his IPod Nano. I love the fact it also comes w/ an adapter to save battery life. I just wish it came in other colors.....great job and great price. I can't wait till this Summer and try it at the beach!
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 21, 2013
Seems like the price has come down on this speaker, probably since the nano 2G is not so popular anymore. If you still have one, then this is the speaker for it. Really great sound for the size. Other comments about sound quality may not have read the instructions about adjustment. I am very satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 15, 2009
nice little speakers for the price. Good service too. They shipped and we got it right away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 19, 2007
These speakers are fantastic! I travel a lot on business. I also needed something to play my music for work outs at home. In the past, I tried 5 or 6 small speakers but the sound was always poor quality and never provided a full range. I was astounded when I first heard the sound with theses small speakers. They are far superior to much larger speakers I have used in the past. Great value for the money
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2007
If the sound quality that you're looking for can be equated with an old mini-transitor radio, you might be pleased. Even so, you would probably expect to pay around $15 for the product - not something in the $40 plus range! Like another reviewer, I had very low expectations for such small speakers but apparently not low enough. The speakers cannot handle bass at all and to avoid complete sound distortion you need to keep the volume very low which essentially forces you to literally be within a foot or two of the unit. Furthermore, there's no easy way to retreive your ipod once inserted! I feel I have been deceived by the 5 star reviews I used to make my purchasing decision and felt obligated to respond. The Miniblaster is a good concept poorly executed and I'm afraid I wasted my money.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 21, 2007
The sound is fine for small areas(Office, bedroom, etc.) If you want booming sound, hook the iPod up to your home stereo system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 27, 2007
This item is as neat as a pin! Very compact and fairly good quality sound reproduction - certainly good for this size output. Very pleased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 8, 2007
This is a great product. I think the sound quality is excellent for the size. I mainly listen to acoustic music - bluegrass, blues, folk and the like - so can't speak specifically to rappers and others wanting a heavy, boomy bass.

I take mine to guitar/mandolin lessons to play songs that I want to learn for my teacher. Also, I can upload lessons we've recorded to the ipod and play them back, all on a portable speaker that fits easily in my instrument case or purse.

I haven't been gentle with the unit, and it's holding up very well.

I seem to remember when I first got it having problems fitting the nano into the silicon skin and then the speakers. I just had to tinker around with it at first, and eventually it easily went into and came out of the speaker cabinet.

If I ever broke it and another wasn't available, I would be very sad because I haven't found anything else out there like it.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 21, 2008
I've had the JLab Miniblaster speaker for more than a year now and use it almost every day. I am completely satisfied and would definitely make this purchase again. I prefer not to use the earbuds or headphones unless I am in an environment where the noise would disturb others. (I want to keep as much of my hearing as possible!) So I was looking for something that was very small and portable that I could use mainly for listening to audiobooks and podcasts and carry around to different areas where I was working.

For it's size, I think the sound quality is excellent. It does a respectable job with music, although clearly you won't get much bass sound with a tiny speaker like this. For those times when you need high volume and thumping bass, hook up to a stereo system! But for several people just wanting to listen to a song in a small area, it's great.

For spoken voice podcasts and audiobooks that often don't have tremendous volume to start with, you will probably find that you need to keep the speaker near you as you listen. If there is surrounding noise at all you may find that you can't just turn it on and come and go from adjoining rooms as you might if you were listening on a jambox. But transporting is easy enough to do with this little unit that fits in the palm of your hand or a shirt pocket.

I really appreciate the way the silicone sleeve protects my ipod completely, including the dial. I never take that off, even when I'm not using the speaker. The sleeve has the little slot on the back of it that allows you to slip thru an elastic band with velcro closure so you can wear the ipod on your arm and listen with earphones while exercising, etc. (This is not included with the speaker, I already had one and it does work with this silicone sleeve provided with the speaker.) It is true that sliding the sleeve covered ipod into the speaker and getting it aligned properly is a little difficult the first time. But I found that after that initial hookup, it is a breeze to take in and out.

Overall, a really great little speaker - and I haven't found anything that compares or suits my needs better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Need customer service? Click here