Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 41 reviews
on February 4, 2014
Listened to some of the many smaller skinny tower speakers that you see a lot of these days with multiple 6 or 8 inch drivers and tweeters that all seem to have good reviews but, just sounded low on bass and tinny to me in showrooms.

So, I was a bit reluctant to buy these without hearing them 1st...even though they had good reviews.

As I suspected though, it's hard to beat this old school 3 way bass reflex design.

Turned out to be an excellent decision. Great bass, mid's an high end to my ears. Even better than my old power hungry Crown 224 Electrostatics I recently sold. I'd even rate them better than the old Large Advent 2-ways that were my favorites years ago.

These are connected to my HK 7.1 receiver in my media room and dominate. No need for a separate power amp. I mostly listen to music and concerts. But TV shows and movies all sound great to me.

I'm extremely happy with them
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2013
Clean sound good solid bass. I feel like they should be on the side of a concert stage. I'm hearing sounds in my music I've never heard before. I bought 2 and they rock I think I'll be deaf by next summer. I'm even using an eighty four sanyo fisher receiver and they still rock. I can't wait to get a brand new receiver that's next so look out. BANG BANG BOOM BOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you have the room and the means I suggest you get you some. They are huge keep that in mind.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2014
Amazing sound & clarity! Great for all types of music, high & midrange are so crisp & clear. The bass on these baby's is so solid, it literally rocks the house!! You get the solid punch from drums on rock music all the way to the house shaking lows in hip hop! The sound is so immersive, you feel as if you're wearing headphones. My only complaint is not with these amazing speakers but with UPS. Despite the fact that a signature was required for delivery, my speakers were left inside my back gate. The box on one of the speakers was so badly beaten up & torn, the woofer was exposed! Luckily, the speaker wasn't damaged, aside from a small tear in the cover & a small chunk of one corner chipped off.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2015
These are great. They have a very full sound. If you like tinny sounding highs these are not for you! I have them paired with Klipsch reference bookshelf speaker, which amazingly can keep up with them at high volumes.. I blew my other speaker when I had them hooked up with the vega's. I turned it up one day to see how loud they would go.. before i realized it my Athena fs-1's started to distort and I ruined the tweeter in one, and the Athena's can handle lots of power. The vega's just kept sounding better and better the louder I turned it up! These bad boys handle every ounce of power my yamaha receiver can give, and they can handle more! They are way more punchy than I originally expected. You would think that with 15's there would be less punch and more deep bass... that is not the case. They were definitely designed to be used with a sub if you have a regular home receiver. If you get an amp more towards 200 to 400 watts RMS at 8 ohms you probably don't need a sub, but they also do good at low volumes and power with a 95 sensitivity. Bottom line.. I love these!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2011
I just recieved these massive speakers today and entering break in period, but already they sound good i can only emagine what they will be like when fully loosened up a bit. My onkyo 805 never sounded as open. Bass is pretty close to the 18 inch powered sub i have just broken in. but these hit the higher bass better and ive only tested them for about 3hrs already!! Nice set of speakers i have a very i would say audiophile tendency and these blend well with a bigger powered subwoofer. Overall my opinion you cant buy a better pair loudspeakers for this price range or for that matter a bit higher. Buy them you wont be dissapointed. Thank you Amazon for another great online buying experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2011
These are wonderful speakers with great dynamics of sound via the woofer mid and high speakers. If you have the right stereo equipment and area for the sound to let yourself be enveloped, then these are the right speakers. Actually they are very large given the 15" bass woofers. The cabinets are sturdy and they do not rumble or vibrate when playing, like some inferior brands may do. I have a large and powerful vintage Pioneer receiver/amp that puts out the descrete sound at all variables. I have high vaulted ceilings and the sound is very good even at a somewhat loud level, given the trim. Exceptional at best, to last a long time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2013
I really don't know where to start...
If you listen mainly to Classical, Jazz, or are an "Audiophile", I respect, and even envy your tastefully select ear. These speakers don't have the imaging you demand. However, the bass range and efficiency are undeniable. Even the most case hardened listener can appreciate these. To tell you to pass them up, would only be half hearted. I can see these set to a Pre-out, and off in their own respective corners, of the space you wish to occupy selectively. They can be tamed.

For those of you who listen to everything from "The Cult - She sells Sanctuary" to old skool break dance stuff like "The Egyptian Lover - Egypt Egypt", and everything inbetween, then, stop right here. Buy them and don't look back.

I will be purchasing the Cerwin Vega Pro Cv-1800, to get the most out of these speakers. But to let anyone thinking of buying these know, who are concerned with whether or not you have enough watts to drive them. I'm currently running an old Yamaha R-5 2 channel tuner to these, at 50 watts per speaker, and they will more than satisfy you. I can't get them past 25% before I have to jump off my comfy chair, and start saving pictures on walls, anything on tables, their all fair game to falling when you turn the volume knob clockwise. I thought I would encounter static cut out at some point, but, it never happened.

If you want me to say a con about these speakers, it would be, I hope you have the best allocated width and depth they require for optimum performance. They are an intimidating, dark, tall, and wide, tastefully finished speaker.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
I love these speakers. They produce very good bass. It seems that if you send it frequencies with plenty of mid's and high's, it produces three-way sound. When sending extreme low frequencies to these speaker, they work to protect the smaller speakers by filtering all of the sound to the bass speaker. That is very good!! Everyone who hears these speakers are amazed by the monstrous bass they produce.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2013
I absolutely love these speakers. They are very heavy, but the sound quality is incredible. They have an incredible bass sound and the quality they deliver at high decibels is unsurpassed. Very great purchase!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2009
After owning these speakers for a couple months, I went to the local metal club to see my favorite band play. It sounded like crap compared to these Cerwin Vegas. I always thought it sounded awesome there, but now I know just how good music can sound. I paired two of these with the Cerwin Vega 800 watt pro amplifier. I can never turn the volume past 20% because pictures will start falling off walls. But it's not just the volume of these, it's the CLARITY at high volume. At ear-bleeding levels, every high note and drum beat is crystal clear, precise, clean. I also used these for my wedding and everyone commented on how nice they sound. These are great for all types of music, but they really shine with rock and metal. It's nice to get some double bass with no distortion!

These also pull double duty as my front speakers for the home theater (I use the analog outs on my HTPC straight to amplifiers, I have no reciever). Yes, they are serious overkill for front speakers in a 20'x20' room, but I wanted to make sure my music sounded the best it could. I have to constantly tweak the volume though, because in many movies the L/R channels coming through these 15" speakers can drown out the rest of the movie... I also got the Cerwin Vega VE series center channel, which is fantastic (using a Dayton Audio 150 amplifier), and the VE series bookshelf speakers for the surrounds (using an Audiosource amp), which are pretty good too -- I mostly wanted the speakers voice matched, and all the VE speakers use the same tweeter. (I also use two Dayton 12" subs... which was not the best choice since the woofers in the CV 15's are noticeably better!)
33 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here