Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 57 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 102 reviews
on December 21, 2012
I bought an entire 5.1 Polk setup along with a Yamaha RX-V671 amp, and it is amazing. The speakers are clear and loud when I want, imaging is very good, and the build quality is outstanding. These look great among my other furniture. I balanced my setup for music with two towers in front (Monitor 70 AM7025-B) the Monitor CS1 speaker for center, two wall mounted bookshelf speakers for rears (Monitor 30 AM3025-A) and a PSW10 Subwoofer right behind the couch. Movies are amazing though this setup, every explosion rumbles the house like you are there. My dog thinks it's a thunderstorm sometimes. 5.1 music is incredibly clear and open, I couldn't be happier with these speakers.

These towers are the glorious highlight of my surround system. They carry 2-channel content nearly as we'll as the entire 5.1 system! These would make an excellent 2-channel system, with the bi-amp option, no real need for a sub, just use a crossover. The bass extension is amazing, which is why I chose the quad driver option. I couldn't be happier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
this January 2013. These are older technology speakers apparently introduced in 2005 (at least to Amazon). For those who can wait I bought a pair of these Polk's in January 2012 for $187 each plus shipping netting at $219 each reassuringly close to current price today of $249 incl. shipping. May be worth waiting until after the holidays.

Not much to add to all the reviews that came before me, speakers sound great I am sure they are sounding better the longer I play them. If anyone took advantage of the Amazon Thanksgiving special on the Yamaha RX V671 yesterday for $300 & free shipping you are in for a treat. I added a BIC 12" powered sub woofer for movies only. You do not need a powered sub w/these Polk's unless you play some pretty special music. The Yamaha will let you activate a sub woofer in stereo mode if you must.

The speakers are tall & narrow, measure your space and picture them. They sit on small pretty stable legs, they are just v.tall (& look great).

Only other comment I had: these speakers sound so much better playing a cd vs an mp3 version of your music. They excel at the depths, peaks and strength of your music on cd. Mp3 downloads or any compressed digital versions of songs contain so much less of the original music it is almost criminal (it is criminal).

Most popular mp3's you buy online from iTunes or Amazon play at between 170 and 250 k/bits per second. Apple Lossless importing level which boasts it allows you to import your cd into iTunes at the same quality as the cd itself and use only half the disc space is between 700 & 900 k/bits per second. The actual cd plays at around 1200-1500 k/bits per second. I only mention this for the customers who don't like the sound of these great value speakers, if you are playing your music from your iPod or iPhone you will never hear the real music, put a cd into your cd player and listen to the music.

Edit: November 24th. Someone emailed me to ask what does that bit stuff mean. I stole a sentence from Wikipedia "Bit rate refers to the amount of data, specifically bits, transmitted or received per second". If a song on a music cd was recorded at 1400 k/bits per second (= 1,400,000 bits per second) that means all the music & vocals on the recording takes up to 1400 k/bits of data (or sound)for every second of play. Obviously if your song only has a single piano playing a simple tune the track may not need 1400 bits to faithfully record the piano however most recordings use the amount of space you give them.
Digital compression of your 1400 k/bits per second cd down to say 240 k/bits per second to play on an mp3 player/iPod means 1150 k/bits per second of data was removed from the song so you can play it on your iPhone or iPod. Luckily the human brain can recognize and appreciate the song with less content and there is a lot of data stored in a song recording you don't need however when you compare the 2 recordings you realize you are missing out on the musical and vocal peaks, lows, depth and volume of most songs. Try it.
If you don't have a good cd player go into Best Buy ask them to play a cd through one of their stereos (they want you to buy) and compare that version with the same song from your mp3/iPod many BB's will have a plug in to play the mp3 through the same stereo. The difference is enormous.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2011
I just setup these speakers 2 days ago and they sound amazing. I bought an Onkyo 360 receiver also and bi-amped them with it. My concern was that I wouldnt get enough bass after spending all this money but I was completely wrong.
Not just bass, the overall sound quality is amazing. I am usually very cautious when spending on electronics just because there is so much out there but I am very happy so far with my decision.
I was looking at Klipsch speakers too and thought Polk lacked detail and after reading reviews I decided to give these a shot anyways.
If youre looking for a good overall tower speaker that plays great music as well, this is it.
The newer Polk models are a bit expensive if I were you, id press Add to Cart ;-)
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2012
These are very good for the price, with much cleaner sound than the old speakers I replaced. They're not true three-ways, though, as a look at the official tech specs on Polk's site will reveal. Even Polk calls it 2-1/2 way, so I'm not sure why Amazon advertises them as 3-way. There's plenty of detail in the sound, and surprising bass from the 6.5 inch drivers. For about $200 per speaker, delivered, you'd be hard pressed to find something better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
These are fantastic speakers but if you are using them in a home theater system with a subwoofer the lower end Monitor 60 speakers are a better buy. The advantage of these speakers is in the lower frequencies that are covered by the subwoofer in a home theater system. For listening for music or other setup that does not involve the subwoofer these speakers will do the trick.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2011
These speakers are a real bargain! The bass is very solid and present, and the midrange very clear and transparent. I have had a great time re-listening to my song collection, and hearing more sounds and timbres in the mixes than I ever have before. It is truly amazing how great speakers can make listening to music, even songs that you have listened to many times in the past, so much more enjoyable. Highly recommended. And by the way, the cherry cabinets are very nice looking!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2013
Excellant speaker once you break them in, but they do lack a bit for the highs or treble,but still a pretty good speaker.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2013
I have these as part of my surround set up with a CS2 center, Monitor 40s for side surround, Monitor 30s for rear surround and PSW10sub. They all sound awesome, and I'm using a Pioneer VSX-1121-K 7.1 receiver.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2011
These speakers are legit. I had a pair of monitor 60s that I really enjoyed so when it was time to outfit another movie watching room, the 60s got shifted and I brought these in and they perform. They are connected to a Pioneer VSX-1019AH-K receiver, a Polk Audio PSW505 sub, and are used with a PS3 for blu-ray. Great highs and lows. Lovin It
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2012
hi,

I bought 6 of these with the CS20-center (RTiA6 was substituted but has very close specs - main difference is solid wood veneers instead of vinyl cherry finish)... and they sound great.

I am NOT an audiophile. I had bookshelf stereo, etc since 1980 and thought it was ok... until I heard these... the first thing that occurs to me is I can actually hear what is being said. The clarity is much better than the $400-$600 bookshelf stereo and wwaaayyyyy beyond the TV speakers. Wish I had made a good sound system (but especially good speakers) a priority a long time ago.

I bought the Monitor 60s for a friend and even in movies, he says there is enough base. Well, apart from a few points in frequency range overall, the Monitor 70s have an extra dedicated base speaker. Unless you really like the floor vibrating sub-sub-base... these 70s will be enough... even without the sub-woofer. They flex my chest and pulse my ears and that is enough for me. I don't need to watch my drink vibrating across the table when the floor is 0.002% off level grade to prove I have base.

The 70s are out-dated models. Really glad I bought these before there were none to have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here