Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 53 reviews
on January 13, 2013
I have had these speakers (Polk Audio Monitor 60's) since June 2012. I ordered what was pictured (silver fronts) but received the ones with black fronts. I was happy the black fronts arrived as they go well with my system when I want to take the covers off. I purchased solely off the reviews here on Amazon and the AVS forum in accordance with my budget of course. I also purchased the Polk CS10 center channel speaker and a BIC 10" subwoofer. These are driven by a Yamaha RX-V571 amplifer (all from Amazon). The 60's sound very good to me. If you are on a budget like me (less than one thousand dollars), I think you would be happy with this setup and this speaker combination. They are placed in a room about 15'x 25'. My last speakers I owned were Infinity SM-120 (1989). It has been too long since I had them I cannot compare the two but I can say the Polk's are lighter in weight and can crank when you need them to. I do not know about sound reproduction, I am just going by what sounds good to me. Certainly, there are speakers costing thousands more, but for the price point and from the reviews here I think it is safe to say they are worth the money spent. If I had to do it over I would buy these speakers again. My setup provides excellent sounding movies & ball games. There is probably a newer version of this speaker out there, but if you are on a budget and need good sound these should do the trick until you graduate to higher end components.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
I use four of these speakers for my surround sound system, it may be overkill but they sound great.

You can read the techical stats in the description section but I can tell you that these speakers are very well balanced, look great, and are built to last. The "screw with a hole" connection (I don't know what it's officially called) versus the spring connection is very welcome.

*Caution* : The last speaker I bought was advertised with this picture but arrived solid black instead of black and gray. This is one of my rear surround speakers and I leave the cover on so I don't see it much but if you are going to put these speakers front and center just make sure you are getting two of the same color.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2013
I've been using these for a number of years bi-amped in a 3.1 setup with a CS2 and PSW110. They've worked amazingly well. You definitely need a sub in that scenario to get fuller and boomier bass.

For music they stand on their own well. I've seen some reviews complaining about harshness. As with any speaker I think a lot depends on your source and how you drive them. I my situation I find these produce a nice natural sound without adjusting any EQ. Just don't expect the walls to rattle with base without giving them some help via a sub.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2010
I just bought a pair of the Polk Audio monitor 60's and hooked them up today. These speakers are awesome! My father has a much pricier pair of jamo's and those dont even compare to these. I have a 7.1 Channel Technics receiver with Dolby Digital surround sound, a polk audio Monitor series center channel speaker and two bose speakers for the rear, with a polk audio psw12 subwoofer. These speakers can handle anything from rap to rock to gaming and movies. The only thing is I definitely would recommend getting a subwoofer in addition to these speakers, because while they do have some bass its not enough for a very enjoyable listening experience, however the treble is amazing! Theres literally nothing i would change about these speakers, even the black paneling is extremely attractive, definitely a satisfied customer and would recommend this product to anyone, especially for only $179.99!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2012
I am so pleased with my Polk m 60's. I had a pair of Cerwin Vegas with 10 inch woofers for years and loved them.When I got my polks I gave them plenty of brake in time and then put them to the test and let me tell you they passed with flying colors.I don't know what people are talking about when they say these speaker are short on bass,they have plenty.When listening to some Heavy Metal they will rattle pictures on the wall at 1/4 volume.Very pleased with these speakers and for the money I found none that will come close after 6 months of looking and the cherry looks great,I did it a little different and got cherry and put it with my xvt3d Vizio tv and it looks good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
I got these to replace a set of Onkyo speakers that I had mounted on floor stands, but the kids had knocked the stands over one too many times, so it was time to find a floor standing model that might be a little more difficult to knock over and still work with the rest of the system. These were easy to install and have produced great sound - mostly TV and movie watching. I've not noticed any issues with their blending with the rest of the Onkyo surround and subwoofer from the previous system using my Denon receiver's auto setup.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2012
39 years ago I met a man that turned me on to music! He had 1 K horn 1 MacC28 1 CrownD60 an old Ampex RtoR TR and a Thorens TT..Simple..but beautiful!!!He ended up designing KGs at Klipsh....Today I thank him for the Music..I own some Klipshes..bought them in 1974..they are in my front room now,The Polk 60s are simple and beautiful also I got them today and fired them up with my Crownd60 and MacC26.with my simple CD player and TT.....1974 is here again...Thank You Matthew Polk They are Simple and Beautiful!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2008
I bought these speakers for bedroom use. I listen to classical music mostly. The speakers produce clear, open sound, emphasizing the high end and giving the impression of an acoustically "live" room. I find this efffect pleasant although realistically this not exactly what you would hear in a typical concert hall. On the other hand, deep base is deemphasized. Other reviewers have said they have obtained satisfactory results by adding a sub-woofer.

Overall, I am satisfied with this purchase. It will be difficult to improve on this without spending considerably more money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
Great sounding speakers. They look awesome and have great build quality. I have 4 in my living room / entertainment room and they sound amazing. The bass isn't crazy, which is good - thats what the sub is for.

Has GREAT mid tones, and the tweeter gives it good high tones, paired with a good center speaker, and good sub - you have a AWESOME setup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2016
great speakers good sound and a great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here