Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 79 reviews
on November 12, 2011
I use these as the fronts on my 5.1 surround. For reviews and a look at what else is in my system, check out my other reviews. These came from J&R Music via Amazon. The Speakers were packed in original manufacturing boxes and arrived in great shape. J&R is a top notch partner to Amazon IMO. These speakers look great and sound wonderful. I cranked em up and they had no problem handling it. At lower volumes, they are also very pleasant soundiong with crystal clear sound. I love Polk Audio and have been a big fan for years. I can't beleive I got these speakers (such high quality) at such a great price. They fit in beautifully with my system and I'm very pleased. Thanks to both J&R and Amazon for great speakers and a great price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2008
First, I am not an audiophile but I wanted a home theater system that sounded really good. I've done a lot of research and I looked at speaker systems ranging from $400 to $3200.

I am using these speakers for my front and rear speakers in my surround sound system. They were not by first choice, but decided to go with them as they were 75% cheaper than the some of the others I was considering. I am very happy with them and feel they are truly a great bargain.

They are driven by a Yamaha RX-663 AVR and are grouped with a Polk CSi3 center speaker and a Polk PSW125 12" subwoofer. Once the calibration program on the receiver was run with these speakers the sound quality seemed to really jell. Watching movies became more immersive to the point that it would be very hard to go back to TV sound.

The cherry wood veneer finish is very nice and this really helped when getting WAF (wife approval factor) for adding 4 floorstanding speakers and a 16" square subwoofer to our living environs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2009
UPDATE 2: When I originally reviewed these I noted below they have a strong midrange presence. I have since optimized my Mac output, set at 96kHz, which my amp understands and uses different A/D converters for; needless to say the sound was much better in that there was a better lower mid/upper bass presence. I notice that these are no longer available and their replacement is quite different: it is a sealed cabinet, whereas these are ported. The seal would probably reduce the 'peakiness' I noticed, though again with good amp the strong mids come across more as the speaker's 'character'. The Polk 10" sub (the cheap one) works well with these for the price but there is a hole where the sub doesn't go high enough and these don't go low enough. But their imaging and vocal character are excellent for the $99 each I paid. I replaced these with Dr. Hsu's HB1 MK2 bookshelf speakers and sub.

UPDATE: original review is below. Having owned these for some time I couldn't deal with what seemed to be a pronounced and peaky midrange. Oddly, 5.1 mixes sounded good, but standard stereo 2 ch (like iTunes, running from my Mac with optical output) were way too midrangey. Certain vocals sounded excellent, the projection of voice and detail were more than one would expect from $100 speakers. So, for their price I still say they are excellent, especially if you like music with vocals and acoustic accompaniment. But I just rec'd some HSU HB-1 MK2s and they blow these Polks away for midrange and lower midrange, and imaging. They mate better to Polk's own subwoofer (only need 1, now) and finally I don't have the listening fatigue that I had with these Polks. Think of these speakers as loud and crystal clear, and you'll be fine.

[original review]
These speakers surprised me as they seemed so lacking in bass. But the projection and midrange and high-end detail of these things is truly, for the price, astounding. But if you want the whole scene, you will have to get a subwoofer. However, the sheer presence of these things is so much closer to being at a live show than any speakers I have heard of. And they're so balanced; yes, they have a very powerful midrange, but there is no distortion. And the stereo separation is so clean. For $300, I have never heard anything near them. Still, I would reccomend getting a subwoofer as I was surprised by their lack of bass; however, the bass they present is totally accurate-- it's just not big; but it's accurate. I really love these speakers, even without a subwoofer, and that's what sold me-- eventually I'll get a sub, but even without it, I just love their sound.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2012
I bought these speakers to start my own home theater system,these speakers were recommended by a friend who is an audio composer. They shipped very fast,they were scheduled to come at least 4-7 days after I ordered them but showed up in 3 days,when I got them not only are they very pretty speakers but the quality of them is very nice,they are very well built. After hooking them up to my receiver which I bought with them which is a Sony 7.1 3D ready 945 watt receiver,I was shocked by the sound coming out of them,it felt like the sound was all around me and sounded so full and amazing,but I think the most surprising thing to me and my friend was the bass coming out of these speakers,they hit very low and very loud. Movies sound just like if not better than the theater and when you play video games on them its like experiencing them for the first time again,when you hear movies and games out of these speakers you realize how much you actually have been missing.I highly recommend these to anyone looking for an awesome theater set up,you cant go wrong with these and you wont regret it,Im going on having these for almost two months now and I still get surprised everytime I watch a new movie or play a game.BEST SPEAKERS TO BUY ON A BUDGET!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2010
These are my first speakers i've purchased for a home theater. I used to have a pieced together set with Klipch KG-4 as the front and some other mixed speakers for the surrounds and center.

On to the setup. I've got a 5.0 setup powered by an Onkyo TX-SR606 where Polk Monitor 50s are my front left and right channels, Polk Monitor CS-1 as the Center, and Polk Monitor 30s as my surrounds. I haven't bought a subwoofer yet because I live in an apartment and I'm sure if they can't hear my movies now, they'd definitely be able to hear them then. My room is roughly an open 12' x 20' with the theater setup being in the front 2/3rds.

These speakers sound great. I use them for tv, movies and games. I have my Onkyo set to +2 on the bass which I feel evens the sound out and adds a little more punch during action sequences. These sounds do seem to be very well rounded in that they can take care of moderately low frequencies as well as the highs. They work great for the room size, and i don't think i'd get the bigger ones which would probably over power the room. On the onkyo i'll turn the knob to around 45-50 for movies and i'll feel like i'm there. For tv and games i can set it to around 35-40 and it will be plenty loud to hear everything.

For music they are decent. I don't listen to music on these too terribly often, but when I do they suffice. The monitor 60's and 70's will probably do better than these, but they're still good. They are fairly balanced for music but i'm sure they aren't the best. Having a subwoofer would probably help as well.

In summary, i'm very pleased with these and don't plan on upgrading anytime soon unless i get a much bigger room. the only thing i'll be adding is a subwoofer. if you can pick these up you won't be sorry.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2008
these were the first polks that i've ever bought. i bought them for a secondary setup i have much more expensive speakers in my main setup. but if you are looking for a little bit more bass than what a bookshelf can get i would definitely recommend these. there treble cable be a little sharp sometimes but overall the clarity is very good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2008
Bought the Polk Monitor 50's two weeks ago. They replaced a 25 year old set of B&W DM330's. For the price they're hard to beat. Good clear sound, even at high levels. The reason I give them 4 stars instead of 5 is that you really NEED a subwoofer with them. They are overly strong in the high-end frequencies, and have almost nothing in the low-end. I ended up buying the Polk PSW10 subwoofer and now have a nice, balanced sound.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2008
I purchased these Polk Monitor 50's as front speakers to go along with a Polk CS1 center channel, and R150 surround speakers. I also purchased the Sony SA-W3000 sub locally because of the amazing price at a local retail outlet. When put all together with my Onkyo TX-SR606 receiver, I was immediately blown away from the clarity and detail these speakers were capable of reproducing.

My old setup had consisted of Logitech's Z-5500 series of speakers. That was an extreme budget setup, but for what you pay for that, it was a decent setup that has gotten me by for a few years now. Fast-forward to the end of 2008 and things have changed since then. HDMI has gotten HUGE, and along with blu-ray really picking up now, I decided it was time to invest some well-spent money and step up to take advantage of this present technology at hand.

The first thing I tested these speakers out on was the IMAX prologue on the Batman Begins blu-ray which shows the first 6 minutes or so of the Imax production-shot movie, The Dark Knight. Put simply, I was absolutely BLOWN AWAY by the amazing clarity and detail I could make out in this scene. Everything was perfect. The glass shattering out of the building that the crooks broke out at the beginning was stunning. The noise the gun made when prepping it for a shot was dead-on. The sound of the cable being shot out across the air and onto the neighboring building... all great stuff. The tense music and the gunshots were also perfectly recreated. This was like watching the movie for the very first time again.

Not only movies, but games also were like an entirely new experience on these speakers. I just re-played the first couple hours of Metal Gear Solid 4 on the Playstation 3 this thanksgiving weekend, and WOW what a completely different experience. I never noticed the insane amount of attention to the sound that Konami has incorporated into this game. I mean, it sounded great on the Z-5500's I used to use, but on this new setup, and especially the Monitor 50's and CS1 center channel, the detail came to life. I still can't get over the punctual, realistic notes you hear from all the different assault rifles and submachine guns. The sounds of the bullet casings falling out all over the concrete ground were unbelievably awesome. I found myself wasting away clips of ammo just to hear this over and over again. I've never heard such great high's coming from a set of speakers before.

Music also sounds great on these. One of my favorite soundtracks was from the game Final Fantasy VIII, which I still think, to this day, is the single best video game soundtrack available. Listening to the last couple movements of the ending theme really brought out the amazing quality and clarity that these speakers are capable of producing. The ending theme is one of my all-time favorite instrumental selections and these speakers remind me of why that is. It simply must be heard to be believed. Beautiful music to the ears.

Over this thanksgiving weekend, I had my brother over and he wanted to see a blu-ray on my new surround sound/tv setup. He picked out the Earth documentary (not Planet Earth, but another BBC production feature) and we watched that. This blu-ray was only putting out standard Dolby audio, no DolbyHD or DTS-HD. Just standard Dolby. The first thing he commented on was the awesome quality of the sound. He has a Sony receiver with Sony speakers at his place so this comment coming from him suggested the difference in brands was very noticable.

To wrap it all up, for the price I paid for these and the sound that they produce, I am very happy with the purchase and would not look back at any other brand. My future purchases will always include Polk, because I have never heard better.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2008
All those silly companies like Bose, Altec Lansing, and Orb, promise to deliver big sound in tiny little speakers, and they just can not match the sound quality of a good tower speaker from a reputable company like Polk, Infinity, JBL, or Klipsch. If you're looking for the best bang for your buck, look no further. I listened to all of the Polk Audio Monitor lines at a local retailer, and I can tell you the 50 gives you the biggest bang for your buck. The bigger, more expensive ones all use the same tweeter, which is what gives you the crisp vocals and the clear sounds when listening to music, so the only thing you will gain by purchasing the more expensive models is more bass. However, most of you will buy a subwoofer anyway, so bass is not really that important. These speakers sound awesome when paired with my Velodyne 12 inch subwoofer, and all those tiny little speakers pale in comparison to the big sounds of a Polk tower speaker!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2008
I recently decided to enter into the world of the audiophile by piecing together a home theater system. After looking at several different manufacturers for my front channels I decided on polk. The clincher was a circuit city audition with superman returns. They had an onkyo ht set up with monitor 30s and 50s. It sounded like I was right in the movie theater. The highs were extremely clear and the sound was natural and smooth. I have had my monitor 50s for about a month now and they seem to be getting better the more I use them. I guess that stuff about speaker break in is true. The only mistake I made was I didn't get a polk center channel speaker so the front and center aren't timbre matched. I will probably be going with the cs2 in the near future. And make sure you get a good subwoofer with these if you want your home theater to sound perfect. They are very good with mid and high ranges but the bass is not as effective.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here