Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 35 reviews
on March 25, 2017
Ok, so getting a pair of these speakers was the result of happenstance and a stupid mistake. My employer uses a subcontracted employee rewards program and I ordered a pair of speakers as my reward...or so I thought. The subcontractor allowed one to believe 2 speakers would be included when in fact only one would. I had to buy another speaker and now here I am writing a review on a pair of speakers I didn't particularly want in the first place but only chose to maximize my employee points value!

It's been over twenty years since I last listened to a decent pair of home speakers so a grain of salt with my opinions if you please....

Beautifully painted and finished. As a lifelong woodworker I appreciate a well-applied top coat and this one is top-rate.

Solid, somewhat heavy and of decent construction for the price.

Smooth mid-range and treble but lacking in bass punch. Floor standing bass-reflex speakers is what you pay for and that's what you get.

I wouldn't pay retail for a pair but the price I paid made this speaker pair a bargain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2015
I wanted to wait to write my review till I used them for awhile. I've been using these for almost a year now and I can say for the first time I am totally satisfied with these speakers. I originally bought these for my main speakers but shortly after hearing how good they sound I bought the NS777's to use as front main and moved these to rear only because the 777's look more the main part. I also use the NS-C444 as my center. Not only do they all sound great, but look great, grills on or off. I use them with a Pioneer SC-1223 receiver and an OPPO 103 universal disk player, and a Klipsch 12" sub, all of which I researched on Amazon and the reviews on all these things helped me make my decisions on buying them. Most of the reviews on these speakers were great and the people making the reviews sounded genuinly excited about them unlike reviews on other speakers. I can't be happier with the purchase of these speakers, they sound great, look great and are affordable. These speakers are everything everyone says about them, low volume or high volume the sound is natural, clean and crisp, every instrument sounds exactly like it should and no matter how much power I send them, they handle it effortlessly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2015
Excellent speakers

Yamaha has what I call a "flat" sound. Clarity and authenticity of each note seems to be the goal with Yamaha. Lots of other speaker systems embellish the bass, largely because many music lovers enjoy a stronger bass register in their music. I notice this each time I get into a shared vehicle at work. The tonal adjustments are invariably set to heavy bass before I set them back to neutral or slight treble increase. I dare say it you get these speakers, you won't be blown away at first. The speakers simply reproduce what was recorded and no more. However, if you love unmolested sound from your speakers, you'll love the Yamaha NS-555. BTW, I no longer use my sub-woofer with these speakers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2012
First off, the speakers are gorgeous. I was blown away by the mirror black surface.

Second, they weight 44 pounds a piece! Quality really does scale with weight.

It's interesting that the NS-555 is equipped with the same cone sizes as Yamaha's highest end $2000 Soavo models. One 1", one 5", and two 6.5". It must be ideal.

The 30Hz - 35kHz is best in class.

Without surprise, they hands down beat my Bose car system.

If you want ridiculous bass, you obviously need a powered sub. But you certainly don't need one, especially if you simply add 3dB to your receiver's low-end via the equalizer or "bass" adjust. With the right content, satisfying bass will fill a large room.

TV audio is extremely tame and balanced. The full frequency range is there.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2011
These speakers are the perfect addition to a Yamaha receiver. They sound great and the piano finish gives them a very nice touch.

These speakers allow you to enjoy a truly home theater experience; the mids and highs sound great and the bass is very good. These speakers sound so good that sometimes I prefer to listen to music or concerts just with these two front speakers instead of the 5.1 setup.

I took advantage of the bi-wiring capabilities, which I would advise to do it to take full advantage of these speakers.

Please consider that these are big speakers for people who really want to enjoy a HOME THEATER experience. I would definitely buy them again!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2008
These speakers are immersive, and that's the only thing that really counts. When you sit down to listen, you don't want to leave. Seconds become minutes become hours; these are the speakers that you could lose days with, just dreaming and beautifully drowning in music. (For the setup geeks: my setup is two of these, an HK 3485 receiver, Cambridge D500 special edition CD-player, Kenwood CT-203 tape player, and 16-gauge speaker wire with Monster banana plugs.) For 2-channel music listening, you really don't need a subwoofer unless you're a total bass fiend.

And the looks? They are polished black and simply ooze class. The speakers don't take up much space either width-wise or depth-wise. In fact, they're smaller than the speakers I replaced, though a bit taller. The height is just right for sitting in a chair and listening, so you don't have to worry about that either. Finally, some assembly is required -- you have to screw in the feet (four per speaker), and they go in fairly deep.

In short, immersive.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2017
I like the finish. Sound is very good. You can spend five times more money and get better sound but for this price I am very happy with them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
Somewhat of a biased review because I've only used these paired with a subwoofer. I actually bought these over the NS-777's to save money because I knew my lower frequency range would be covered my my subwoofer and A/V receiver's built-in tuning algorithms.

Having said that, these speakers are excellent for the price. I wouldn't consider any other floorstanding speakers until the +$800 range.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2015
Sleek, black, beautiful. Wooden. Pretty heavy.
Would buy again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2008
These speakers perform extremely well. They output pure quality sound. The High and Mid range tones are my favorites. I think the lows could have been a bit better, but pairing them with a sub-woofer compensates for the very little gap in bass. If you have or are planning on having a surround system or home theater, than you'll have a great balance once you add a sub-woofer to your speaker set, but if you plan on having these two floors speakers as your main speakers for both music and movies, then I would recommend you go with the NS-777 which output deeper lows.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here