Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Fire TV Stick: $29.99. Offer ends 3/26/18 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno

on August 18, 2006
I bought this based largely on the mention in TIME magazine. My wife got a Contour by Kensington. Overall the contour seemed to be much more sturdy with more space and a far more comfortable padding system on the back. I sent mine back and got my own Contour and I would recommend you do the same.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2006
I purchased a Toshiba laptop with a 17" screen, and there were no backpacks in the store that it would fit in.

However, I saw this one on-line, and it's perfect! If you have an over-sized laptop, this is the bag for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 5, 2006
It fits my 17" notebook, that's good. It seems a little small at first in that you have to really work to get it back out of the bag, but it gets better. I was a little disappointed with the actual space in the bag though. Can't really fit more than 2 textbooks in with the laptop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 21, 2007
i love it, great price, great value. Fast shipping.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 30, 2010
I have been using this bag for a couple of years now. I bought it off Amazon after reading the TERRIFIC reviews about it. It's been a great bag to hold my books and laptop for school. Until today.... I had to walk home from college classes in a rain storm.

DON'T BUY THIS BAG!!! IT IS NOT WATERPROOF AT ALL. I got home after walking home from classes and all of my college textbooks are soaked and ruined from rain seeping through the bookbag from every direction!!! WATER SEEPED THROUGH THE WHOLE THING!! Luckily my laptop wasn't in there or I would have had to replace that.

My Wallet was soaking wet, tissues, pencils, pens, calculator, and everything else!!!

I'm currently drying all of the contents that were in my bookbag with a HAIR DRYER in the bathroom. The bookbag was fully closed when I was walking home from school. There were no holes in the bookbag, except for that stupid headphone hole in the second upper bookbag pocket. It's a terribly designed product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 25, 2010
This is one of the few cases that will accommodate my large-screen laptop. This bag is very sturdy and well padded. The case has ample room for laptop, cords, and accessories. A special pocketed area is fantastic for iPod, digital camera, mouse, cell phone, and a handy clip for keys. There is a convenient port for your iPod ear-bud cord. The bag fits nicely in the overhead compartment on the airplane, and even fit under the seat in front of me on a small commuter flight. It's roomy enough that I actually took it as my ONLY bag for an overnight flight and was able to carry laptop, accessories, a change of clothes, and cosmetics. The only improvement would be to have wheels because fully loaded, this can be quite a weight to tote.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 17, 2009
Unfortunately the item advertised was not the one I received. It was a Kensington bag, but not the one in the picture nor the one on the tag that came attached to the item. Will be returning and filing a complaint with Amazon.com.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 24, 2006
If one is willing to shell out a fair amount of moola for a laptop computer, then one, it reasons, should also be willing to do the same for the carrying case that will be housing it while being transported, yes? The main question that arises is whether that case should be one that looks like a carrying case or a casual backpack. Myself, I've seen two drawbacks to the former: one, with either its handles or its inadequately padded over-the-shoulder strap, it concentrates all the weight onto one side of the body; two, it looks like a notebook case, thus alerting any potential thief that it contains a computer. So, for me, a non-professional who doesn't have an office job and who doesn't meet clients in office-like settings, the backpack-case route seemed the best route to go. So at a local Circuit City I opted for the Kensington 62232 SaddleBag Sport Computer Carrying Case, with a cost of $39.99 plus tax. There are more expensive backpack cases out there, and also slightly cheaper ones, so preferring more often than not to purchase products in the middle-of-the-road price range, the SaddleBag Sport fit the bill for me. And it's been a pleasure for the most part, especially in light of a previous unpleasant experience with a carrying case a year and a half ago, which, coupled with a 9 lb. Hewlett Packard laptop (both of which I returned to Best Buy after a mere week), made for some serious shoulder-aching days. There are a couple of drawbacks to this particular backpack case, it must be noted, but thus far after a three-month period the pros have decidedly outweighed the cons.

Not looking like some kaleidoscope-colored eyesore from Gadzooks or a drab, nondescript JanSport, the SaddleBag Sport is comfortable yet classy- and sporty-looking. It's made out of black waterproof nylon and contains numerous pouches and pockets for numerous needs. On both bottom sides there's an open pocket for a water bottle, which serves its function well enough and is even accommodating for small umbrellas (though if you try toting either by using just one of the straps on your shoulder, the objects will rub up against your side and fall out); and right above each one is a small zip pocket designed for easy access to a cell phone or MP3 device (though I can't aver that this design equates into a success since I own neither such device). On the bottom of the front side, there's a small leather pouch that contains pockets for writing supplies and business cards, along with a gray metal clasp for keys; and attached to the open flap there's a nylon zipper net for storing small loose items, like paper clips and staples and the like. Above that is a compartment more than double the pouch's size that extends all the way to the bottom of the case; ideal for medium to large cupped headphones and paperback books, this. And opening up from the top is the main compartment, which splits into two sections. The first one has several non-zippered mini nets lining the exterior wall, which can be bothersome in that objects, like paper notebooks, can get snagged on them; aside from these needless things (I've no idea the purpose of them), the allotted space is adequate.

It's the second compartment, though (with the dimensions 12.0"L x 16.4"H x 2.0"W) -- the one designed for the laptop -- that's the bee's knees, so to speak. With Kensington's SnugFit(tm) sleeve, your computer will be amid some reassuring surroundings. The lining of the interior back wall and the sides is soft but durable and exceptionally well-padded; and the exterior backside boasts not only good padding for added reinforcement of that inner compartment, but three padded contours -- on the top left and right and bottom center -- for added comfort while carrying the case on the shoulder or back. A couple of possible negatives, however: while the exterior bottom has been superbly designed for water resistance (it's made out of rubber), the interior bottom relies too much on it -- it lacks the generous padding of the back and sides, so if the case were dropped and landed straight down, either side of the laptop could be susceptible to damage; and the top is also a problem in that its interior padding is just as mediocre, and it doesn't have the benefit of the exterior bottom's notched rubber as a contingency. Yet, as bothersome as these vulnerabilities are (why not splurge for just a wee bit more padding in these two spots?), the chances of sustaining damage to your laptop are quite minimal in that the case, when dropped with the rest of its compartments adequately filled, tends to fall in a face-first direction, thus leaving the compartments containing the less-expensive items absorbing the majority of the impact. That leaves the vulnerable top portion, but the likelihood of dropping the case upside down is, as you'll probably agree, low.

As for the carrying comfort, the SaddleBag Sport is quite a wonder. Compared to my Hewlett laptop/carrying case experience, which felt much like a toilful chore, this one with my 7.9 lb. Toshiba 15.4" and this case isn't even in the same ballpark. The contoured (and easily adjustable) shoulder straps, which have been designed to ease neck and shoulder strain, make carrying this on one's shoulder perfectly feasible; and, as aforementioned, the generous padding on the back and its snug (but not tight) fit to your body occasionally make you forget you're toting the case around, believe it or not. Another praiseworthy notable is the zippers. They move back and forth with ease, the material surrounding them is not only reflective, which improves nighttime visibility, but protective in their complete covering and sealing of the zipper, which vastly decreases the chance of water seeping in. Throw in a water-resistant headphone port located at the very top of the case, along with a design that makes it super-easy to gain access to your laptop at a moment's notice with just one zip (for a case that's this protective, it's hard to believe you don't have to wade through two or more zippers to get to it), and you have yourself quite the stylish alternative to those run-of-the-mill satchel cases. Oh, perhaps there could be a bit more room in the main compartment being that with a regular-size laptop, its AC power adapter, a couple of DVDs, and a 3-subject notebook there isn't much in the way of spare room left (of course, a Centrino notebook without the AC adapter would alleviate this), but overall the SaddleBag Sport does its intended job and does it well.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 9, 2006
I was looking for a bag that would hold my laptop, would offer support so I wasn't using just one shoulder to support my computer and books, and wasn't so large that it's length exceeded the length of my torso (I am a female of 5'2'' height). The only reason I give this four stars is the main handle (say you need to pick the bag up to bring to your office-room rather than leave it right by the front door :) ), is not in what I think is the most optimal position. For the wrong person, I think it could cut into your neck just a little. But I do find the backpack comfortable, it holds my 15-inch laptop (Dell E1505, of which I have a different opinion) and several notebooks and/or books easily. It can get heavy with all these items, but it's the extra items, not the backpack that provides the weight. If you're looking at this bag and think it meets yourr equirements, I highly recommend it!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 15, 2006
I've had this backpack for a little over a year now. It was good for most of that time but a little over two weeks ago, when I was zipping up the main pocket (that contains the laptop), the rubber tab you use to pull the zipper closed broke off. I was a little upset but since there were two zippers I didn't worry about it. Then, the next time I opened the bag with the second zipper, the second tab broke off as well! Now I'm stuck fighting the zippers to open and close them on the most used compartment of the bag.

Another problem with the backpack is the reflective material the white stripes are made of. After about 6 months of use the material started flaking and falling off. Now, it's nearly gone from around the main compartment. All that's left is a little bit on the bottom of each side. It isn't really a big deal but worth mentioning.

I carry about 15 pounds worth of stuff in this bag, my PC tool kit and laptop. Other than that I have a few cables.

This is my first laptop backpack. I own a regular backpack that I've had for 6 years that I paid 20 bucks for that is more durable than this one.

At first I thought it was a good backpack and would've given it 4-5 stars but I expected more out of it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here