Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 80 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 164 reviews
on June 27, 2008
This headphone sounds good (Sony's headphones, even the under-$20 models, almost always give really nice sound), and the build quality is as good as any I've seen for this price. The behind-the-head band and ear loops hold the phones very securely and allow you to wear a hat. However, I found the band a little on the small side, like it would fit a child better than an adult. The ear loops could also be a problem for people who wear eyeglasses. I have worn these phones for about 2 hours at a stretch and didn't find them to be intolerably uncomfortable, but for a really long day, 6 hours or more, they might chafe your ears too much. If it weren't for the too-tight fit, I'd rate them 5-stars. I am using them with a Motorola cell phone (to listen to MP3's), and sound quality is very good, loudness is about right.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have several sets of earbuds and I got really annoyed with constantly having to reposition them while I was on my treadmill, so I went back to the "old school" headphones. What a deal!

They sound great. Getting a significant difference in the aural experience would likely cost several times as much money, and when you're on a treadmill listening to a movie it doesn't matter so much. However, what does matter is that they fit snug and are still comfortable enough to wear for a couple of hours, and that does matter when you're on a treadmill or working out some other way.

So, now I can exercise and watch my movies when the rest of the family is asleep and not even think about how the sound is getting to me. Great job Sony!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2011
Amazon just flagged me that I never reviewed this item I bought a couple of years ago. When I clicked on "review the item" I thought Amazon was wrong because of the price of them, I would NEVER pay anything close to $100 (or more) for headphones! Thank goodness Amazon keeps your purchase history because I clicked on mine and found that I paid just under $26 for these. They worked great until they were mysteriously lost somewhere. I would love another pair but if they've gone up in price that much then forget it. But for what it's worth, they were comfortable and worked great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2011
It has always been serious business for me to find an everyday pair of headphones. Earbuds are the absolute worst, yet huge over the head styles are uncomfortably, well, huge. I have always found behind-the-neck to be the perfect marriage of the two styles, especially with a slim frame. However, this style of headphone is also quite unpopular. I usually purchase headphones in store, but decided to take a leap with these, especially after reading the reviews, and I am very satisfied.

I have been using these headphones on the regular for almost 18 months now, and I find them more reliable than a golden retriever. They have not broken or bent, even after putting awkward amounts of pressure on them. I have taken them hiking, to the beach, in the rain, sleet and snow, from California to Maryland. They are easily portable (for non-earbuds), incredibly lightweight, and provide good sound. They may not be an audiophile's dream, but for someone who wants to listen to music in all environments and occasions, it is the best I can ask for. One legitimate gripe, however, is that when sitting against a wall with these on, it is hard to find a comfortable position, this is not a frequent situation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2009
Headphones appear to have been built with sturdy parts and construction. The wire feeding into the headphones have been reinforced at the speaker connection so that it doesn't come loose (which is what happened to my last pair of Sennheiser PMX60 Headphones after 2-years of regular use).

Sound quality is above average, but doesn't stand out from all the rest that would allow me to give it 5 stars. However, bass quality is crisp and has been able to play certain songs containing heavy bass without any of the crackling that I used to hear in prior headphones that cost twice as much.

Comfort: In the beginning, a bit tight around the ear. But the headphones seemed to have molded itself to my ear after about 4-5 uses. Now fits snug, with no chance of them slipping off. They wrap around the back of the neck, rather than the back of the head like most other headphones. This helps when you want to rest your head against a headrest on a plane.

Finally, the design of these headphones also placed some emphasis on style. Color combination (Grey with small orange reflector), along with it's "Street Style" is unique and stands out in a subtle way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
Works well - Great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2010
My first pair of Sony headphones were these, which came with my Walkman CD player. They were originally used for CDs, but I ended up making a career change and became a medical transcriptionist, which I have done for the last six years (love it!). These headphones are small (I hang them on my computer monitor when not using them), light and comfortable even while wearing glasses, and the sound quality is excellent when you're tying to pick medical terms out of a doctor who's speaking at 100 mph or he's shuffling papers on his desk. I also love the fact that despite they are so lightweight, they do block out enough background noise that I can continue working without having to stop and wait for the doctors to finish their conversation, which for some reason always happens right next to my desk. I love these headphones and will keep buying them. I hope Sony makes them forever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2009
I bought these when the speaker in my Philips Behind-the-Ear Sport Headphones died after using for about 3 yrs. The Philips were out of stock at Target, I originally bought those at Best Buy, but they don't carry them anymore. This type of product seems to come and go more than anything I have known. Trying to find the exact same model a couple of yrs later seems nearly impossible.

I researched a little and found these here at Amazon. They work OK, but the loudness is not as high as the Phillips and they begin to get uncomfortable on my ears after about 45 min of exercising. They stay on OK, but just not as comfortable as the Philips. Also the cord is very long and does not use the type of elastic that the Philips uses, so it requires you to wind around the iPod many times.

Overall decent but not as comfortable or as easy to use as the Philips. When these die I will try to go back to Philips Behind-the-Ear Sport Headphones if they are still made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2011
I had the predecessor model to these headphones for 7 years until they finally gave out last year. After tons of use and many miles of running, I felt that those were a great value, plus they sounded decent.

When I went to purchase the same model, I found that they had changed slightly to this newer version. The design was identical so I went bought them. Sadly, Sony's build quality which I thought was wonderful, is not up to par on these headphones. Yesterday after 8 months of ownership, these headphone stopped working. The right side speaker no longer functioned and slightly twisting the speaker brought the sound back momentarily. By the end of my run, the right side speaker was completely dead.

Now I see that Sony no longer sells this style of headphone. I guess it's time to move on to a different brand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2011
I've owned a pair or older Sony street style headphones in the past. After a couple years of beating, I had to replace them and wanted a similar brand and style. These MDR-G57G's were the perfect fit for me.

Pros:
- Lightweight.
- Affordable.
- Easy fit for any sized head.
- Sound quality is not amazing like the $100 headphones but they are very, very good. The sound is not cheap by any means like some knockoffs and there is a lot of bass.
- Much more durable than the past street style headphones from Sony.

Cons:
- Sony stopped manufacturing these a long time ago. Some stores now sell the few remaining ones in existence for $100+ which is ridiculous.

If you can find a pair of MDR-G57G S2's for maybe $20, then it's a steal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse