Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 52 reviews
on July 21, 2015
I bought a pair of these amazing speakers back in 1999 and they are still going strong; outdoors! Now, 16 years later, I purchased another pair; not because I need to replace my older ones but because they are really that good. This speaker is no ordinary one; it embodies sonic excellence (defined bass, rythmn and musicality), build quality and banana plugs for better connectivity and weather resistance (the successors do not have banana plugs). These also make superb indoor 2 channel or surround speakers and are very efficient and musical when used on mini systems. Every so often, a speaker company creates a "hidden gem" and then they stop building them; the successors rarely live up to the same standard. This is definitely one of those gems!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2014
I was in charge of buying/supervising the installation of a better sound system for our very "live-sounding" (as in 'boomy') community room.
8 of these JBLs mounted on columns and walls made for a superb "blanket" of sound, especially since we have many older residents who are hard of hearing.
Coupled to a high-end DIS conference mic system through a small Yamaha mixer and a DBX Eq and each of them having about 60w available for power, these little beauties sound great!
Very clean soundstage, low distortion and very ear-pleasing.
They fill the room with excellent-sounding music too.
As an old "Hi-Fi" head, I found these speakers to give excellent bang for the buck.
One warning: don't tighten the threaded plastic ring too tightly on the "knuckle" that holds the speaker as it can crack the ring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2013
I purchased the Amazon "Damaged packaging" product - JBL Northridge N24AWII 2-Way speakers. They sound is great. I moved my Yamaha 4 ohm outdoor speakers (see my other review) to the garage because I just purchased a new receiver which requires 8 ohm. Both JBL and Yamaha speakers perform great. Although there is some lack of bass, it works great for our patio deck area. The sound from these 4" speakers is crystal clear. For what I paid, the product was new and completely secure from amazon. I would recommend these speakers for outdoor patios areas or rear surround sound.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2011
I have a patio area around an outdoor pool. For the past 6 years I have been using some 18 year old Heco (German) Legato outdoor speakers which have worked well however I wanted to add a second pair of speakers, ideally with a little more bass, on the opposite side of the pool. I found the JBL Northridge N24AWII 'weather resistent' speakers for under $100 on Amazon. They are now fitted and I am pleased with the result. Although the main driver is just 4" (like the Heco), the bass port definately allows the bass to come through much better at lower volumes. They are not as 'bright' as the Heco but the combination of Heco and JBL gives a great sound either for just laying out or bigger parties. I use a AudioSource AMP-100 (bought used on eBay for $80) to drive the speakers and the music source is an Apple Airport Express linked to iTunes. Since my wife is never without her iPhone, she can easily use that to select and play music (the AMP-100 is set to auto power-on when it detects a signal on line 2). The Heco's have been out in the Houston humidity for 6 years with no issues or rust. I hope the JBL's will last as well. I can't say I would recommend these speakers for indoor use - why spend extra for 'weather resistent' on speakers to use inside?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2007
I purchased a pair of these speakers for the surrounds in a 5.1 channel living room system. I mounted the speakers slightly above ear level on the back wall, behind the couch, facing forward.

These are very good direct-radiating speakers for the money. They are not too big and fairly lightweight. They will blend into your white/off-white wall. The included wall brackets mounted easily and securely into the wall studs (you need to buy your own screws). The mounting brackets allows a great deal of aiming adjustments.

I have not seen any measurements for this speaker, however I did not hestitate to buy it. I have not heard anything other than neutrality, and I have full confidence in JBL as well as all Harman International brands. Harman has the most sophisticated measurement and testing facilities in the United States (if not the world), and they design speakers based on science. Trained listeners then evaluate the speakers in blind tests where the speakers are repeatedly rotated in and out of position behind a screen. I'm not saying these particular JBL speakers were so tested, but the point is that you can be sure you are buying a quality loudspeaker--even when it is a satellite speaker that embodies numerous compromises. For example, Harman manufactures the speaker's drivers in house. Such economies of scale allow them to offer a high quality product with which smaller manufacturers simply cannot compete.

A nice feature of these speakers and all JBL consumer speakers I believe, is the waveguide around the tweeter. Essentailly a horn, this improves horizontal directivity beyond the stereo sweetspot.

Again, I have mounted these speakers indoors and cannot comment on their weather resistance.

In summary, I would not hesitate to recommend these speakers to someone for an application similar to mine where room size, budget, and spousal acceptance preclude larger rear surounds.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
Got these to replace aging Polk Audi wall speakers. These are well-made, fairly priced speakers that are a great deal for their price. I recommend them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2010
I have always been a fan of JBL but never much of a fan of bookshelf speakers. Plus, the outdoor speakers I've always known have seen to sound "tight" and "tinny" typically because they have to be water proof. I can happliy say, not these!

They do lack bass but actually have a good beat to them for their size. I would say it is really only a problem if you are one who enjoys large bass sound. But, if you are, you'd probably have a powered subwoofer - or should get one. These speakers were an amazing price for a Northridge Series and great sound. I would recommend them to anyone. I have thought about replacing all of my surround speakers with these as I am using them as my main pair to save space.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2013
This is my second set of these. First ones have been semi-covered under an upper deck for 11 years and are still going strong. Sound is good for the application- not expecting to hear audiophile quality in my backyard. I power these on zone 2 of my yamaha receiver and they can get pretty loud before showing any distortion. I found the mounts easy to work with and adjust, although I haven't moved them much since I originally hung them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2016
Bracket & speaker teminals, a little painful. Speaker sounds great though
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
Been using them for about 3 months now. Looked hard for a white speaker. These were the best I could find. Very happy with the sound quality and the way they pivot. My wife wanted it to match the white walls, thus the color had to be white. But happy to please her with the color and me with the sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here