Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
155
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 155 reviews
on February 20, 2015
This was my FAVORITE Susan May Warren novel, My Foolish Heart runs a close second :-)
The hook for this novel was so unique and clever. Annalise Decker, a normal woman leading a happy life with her husband and children, finds her world crumbling when the agent that put her in the witness protection program reappears. Oh my. It made me wonder how many people in real life are hiding huge secrets.
We go on roller-coaster ride with Annalise for 350 pages and aren't disappointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2013
Imagine you're sitting on a plane and the woman sitting next to you is visibly upset. You're naturally curious and compassionate, so you ask a question or two: How are you? and Why are you on this flight? The woman says she's on the way to see her daughter, who is going into a federal witness protection program. She's saying "good-bye." Forever.

That happened to author Susan May Warren, and she turned the experience into a book, You Don't Know Me, the sixth novel set in the fictional Minnesota town of Deep Haven.

In the close-knit town, Annalise Decker is a devoted wife, supportive mother and community activist. Her husband is running for mayor, and life, from the outside, looks perfect. Then a federal agent shows up with news that could wreck her world: the man she testified against 20 years ago is out of jail and seeking revenge. And Annalise's carefully guarded secret, that her real name is Deidre O'Reilly and she's in the Witness Security Program, is in danger of being made known. She has to decide if she'll give up the life she's built on a lie to protect her family or entrust herself to the grace and love of her family and the protection of God.

I picked this book up on sale for Kindle before Christmas last year. I've read one other Deep Haven book and a novella, both of which made me eager to pick up another one in the series. Though they all take place in Deep Haven, you don't have to read all of them or have read them in order. I'm not even sure which ones I've missed, but each time I've taken the trip to Deep Haven through Warren's novels, I've not been disappointed.

Warren blends suspense, humor, romance and inspiration like a perfectly seasoned soup. Her stories are warm, comforting, hearty and keep you coming back for more.

I cannot imagine what it would be like to say good-bye to your family forever, start a new life and then have that life threatened. Annalise's choices are not easy and Warren makes her struggle real to the rest of us, who probably will never have to face that kind of choice.

I appreciated, too, that this story was borne out of something that really happened to someone through an encounter the author had in real life. As a writer, that inspires me, because I see stories everywhere. Warren's tale is encouraging in so many ways. It's not fluff; it's tough.

And more often than not, I'm loving books that aren't afraid to go deep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2013
"You Don't Know Me" by Susan May Warren is a story of secrets and honesty and forgiveness and second chances and trusting God to help with it all. I really enjoyed reading this book! It's the sixth of the "Deep Haven Novels," though these books don't have to be read in order. (I still haven't gotten to books 1, 2, and 3, but plan to very soon, I hope!) Each of these books is set in the small tourist town of Deep Haven, Minnesota, and tells the story of some of the inhabitants there.

"You Don't Know Me" is the story of the Decker family. Nathan and Annalise appear to be the perfect couple with three nearly perfect kids. Middle child, Colleen is the only one Annalise worries about. Colleen's attraction to Tucker, the boy Annalise has branded bad news, is cause for great concern.

Greater concerns are coming, though. Agent Frank Harrison has news about the man Annalise testified against twenty years ago . . . when she was still Deidre O'Reilly . . . before she entered the witness security program and changed her whole identity, a little fact she neglected to mention to her family.

I won't tell you any more, except that Susan May Warren came up with the perfect solution to this tragic dilemma while weaving many essential truths about Christian living into the tale. (I was most touched by Helen's struggle and growth.) I'm happy to recommend this book which I obtained on my own just because I wanted to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2012
I have read a lot of Susan May Warren's books. Not all because I only discovered her last year and I have a lot of catching up to do. I have truly loved each book of hers I read. This one was no exception and boy, did it bless me! This book has a theme running through it of how God's grace can take His children through any trial and tribulation they may experience in life. Well, I was going through such a trial, a very dark place of the soul and there were a couple sentences in this book, near the end that just spoke to my heart in such a powerful way that I felt God had allowed her to write them just because He knew what I'd be facing in September 2012.
"No, God would fix this. She'd have to let Him. Wasn't that what trusting in His grace---His love--every moment was all about? Following Him even in the dark places to lead them to the light?"
Wow. What a revelation to me because I'd been worrying myself sick, literally, about this problem I'd been facing. Susan May WArren has a great grasp of who God is and how He works in the lives of His children for their good. This was exactly what I needed to hear to help me understand that God didn't need me to be worrying over this situation. He needed me to hand it to Him and trust His grace to see me through.
Do not miss this book. It is one of her best. You've already read the synopsis. Just get this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2014
I bought a few books all at once and as I started reading this one, the second book in my book buffet, I worried I might start getting characters mixed up. No worries, they don't immediately start throwing characters at you left and right. This is a book that lets you sort of warm up to the story without boring you. I think what started me worrying was how the prologue and start of the story were in two different times/places/people. But, once the story started, it stayed pretty constant. It was a good read fitting for the fall/winter season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2013
Another visit to the Deep Haven community. Warren has another winner, with realistic characters and a mysterious plot. Though part of the Deep Haven series, it can easily be read by itself. Annalise has been living a lie, through no fault of her own. Suddenly she is faced with her past, and the inability to hide. Will those who have been her life for the last 20 years accept her? Will her past enemy catch up to her? Will she trust God and those who love her, or will she run? There are many twists and turns, making you think you've got it all unraveled, when you really haven't. I always enjoy returning to Deep Haven, and this did not disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2012
Awesome! That's the only way to describe this book. Five stars is a drop in the bucket in comparison to the stars this book deserves.

If you've read the other Deep Haven books, you'll enjoy getting to see prior friends. If you haven't, no worries. This book is stand-alone.

This is a romance, suspense thriller, book of forgiveness, page turner, grab a Kleenex (happy) ending kind of book. I'm hesitant to even call it a romance for fear of giving the wrong impression. Maybe, book of love would be better.

Once you start reading, you will not wont to stop. It's that good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2017
This is a must read! Deep Haven has the best stories happen for such a small town! I hope there are many many more! Can't wait for the next one!!!! Everyone should read all the Deep Haven books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
Susan May Warren is so good at creating dynamic families. I love reading her books because she creates a town full of unique people with a story to tell.
This one is no exception. The characters are well-developed and unique. The plot is fast and has a few twists here and there.
Overall, a fantastic read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2016
Had me captivated from the first chapter. Just couldn't put it down. A great reminder of Gods grace & forgiveness woven into a thrilling story line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse