Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Nothing More GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 278 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 530 reviews
on May 14, 2017
I really enjoyed this thriller. The main characters are intriguing and I'm ecstatic that it's a series. I literally could not put the book down. And, some romance, too. Great start to what I hope will be a great series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2017
Such a good book, so loved it ,love the way Julie Garwood writes so funny and heart warming. I always look for her books, she writes with such flaire, and its a little mystery as well as funny with lots of people showing there love for each other.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2011
FBI Agent Nick Buchanan signs on to help out his best friend Tommy Madden, a priest, who has taken the confession of a man who plans to murder Tommy's sister, Laurant. Nick enlists the help of fellow agent Noah Clayborne and the action moves to Holy Oaks, Kansas. Nick is assigned to be with Laurant 24/7 and Noah with Tommy. As you can imagine, there's the inevitable attraction between Nick and Laurant and you'll root for them.

This story has humor (especially the scenes involving Noah), romance and suspense all well-paced around interesting and likable characters. It held my interest throughout and delivered a thrilling end to the mystery. Enough information was provided to figure out the identity of the killer but it wasn't obvious and I was able to deduce the person but even then there was an interesting twist I didn't foresee.

Garwood has done what most find difficult to do with the first novel of a series and that is to have it be a really good book. I'm excited about finishing the series. I recommend this for all that like suspenseful, contemporary romance stories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2016
Heartbreaker is a book that gives the confessuinal a whole new viewpoint on what we were taught as children. It's spooky and in some ways shocking, but an excellent read. It may have been her first attempt at writing modren day mysteries, but she sure packed a wallop in this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
It's rare to find a book that leaves you smiling. Nick was so afraid he'd fall in love with Laurent that he almost went nuts. There was plenty of laughs and fun to offset the possibility that a killer was going to murder both Laurent and her brother, Father Tom. Nick would finally admit he couldn't live without Laurent. I could not put the book down. I love books like that, but I really need to get ready for Christmas.
Please read this book, but only after the holidays.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2012
This is the first book that I have read by Julie Garwood. I purchased it after seeing how many reviews it had and looking at the overall star rating. I wish I had looked a bit further at the lower star rating reviews.

I did not find this to be a "real page turner" or one that I simply "could not put down", but instead I found myself bored with the characters and the slow moving story line. It took about fifty pages for the story to really get going. I just had a difficult time engaging in the story or caring about the characters. I didn't "feel"the chemistry between Laurent and Nick. I did like the author's description of Kansas City (State Line Road and Ward Parkway) it was just as I remembered it from years ago.

Will I read another book by this author? Yes. I am going to give "Ransom" a try. Hopefully I will like it better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2017
This book is the first in a series that I have been reading annually for years now.
I had to purchase this book for my Kindle so that I will have it whenever and where ever the urge to read this book again strikes me.
I love the whole series.
Thank you Ms. Garwood for the awesome reads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2015
I started this series (without knowing it was a series) with the 2nd book, Mercy (Heartbreaker being the 5th book in this series I've listened to). While that book worked out just fine as a stand-alone book and I was not confused having not listened to this 1st book yet. Listening to this one (the 1st), however, did help enrich my understanding of certain parts of Mercy. I had wondered, who is Laurant? Why does everybody like her so much? What is Theo talking about when he says/thinks that Laurant soothes everybody? How did she come to be part of the family? (As well as some questions about Nick, of course.) Heartbreaker answered those questions.

This is a story by two people thrown together because of some imminent danger (again, but that's neither here nor there, each danger is somehow different anyway). Each knew who the other was, but neither knew what the other looked like (at this age). They are both apparently mouth-watering individuals. The fact that Tommy is a priest is an interesting twist, though there are some times that I felt he did things rather out of character (which happens to a lot, but these were subtle nuances, not big random acts).

As much as I like a long book, I did feel that this one dragged a little. For the most part, there aren't any peaks of action throughout the book to keep you going. The reader waits until the very end for something to finally happen, for the danger to become real. This is not to say that the characters were stagnant, however. They did progress nicely through the novel and they were doing things that pertained to the threat of danger (just not the actual danger itself). The "heartbreaker" interacts with Tommy near the beginning of the novel and then doesn't do anything directly to Laurant, Tommy, or Nick until the end. There was nothing to really significantly increase the threat as the book went along. Sure, another woman was killed and that helps, but the increased threat did not come from heartbreaker somehow interacting with them directly or sending them a message. While Laurant and Nick's actions did make heartbreaker angrier and angrier until he made a mistake, their actions didn't change much. They were at a pretty even state of fear (even with things like the song being played at the community event) throughout the book. None of their actions in the middle of the book were all that exciting. It felt almost as though life was just completely normal (even with the threat). To me it ended up going beyond being suspenseful to being slightly dull. I would've loved to see more excitement in the middle of the book. In comparison to the rest of the book, the final 'showdown' at the end seems like a short thing in comparison to all of this time waiting. Since that danger is what's driving the book forward, it would've been great to see it more pronounced throughout the book. There were things that definitely could be cut from the book, such as the whole thing with the newspaper and Laurant never being able to keep a guy. I'm not entirely sure what it added to the story; it ended up just being plain irritating. I would've loved for the book to have been at a faster, more exciting/intriguing clip. I think getting rid of these unnecessary things, for example, would help a lot.

One thing I found interesting (in a good way) was that Julie Garwood didn't use one of her signature phrases (so to speak): "...the big jerk." I've always found that phrasing very funny and pleasant. In a world full of swearing, I have found this a fantastic, light hearted, good natured description of each situation (in context). Before listening to Heartbreaker, I had already listened to 4 other (unabridged) books in this series including: #2 - Mercy, #3 - Killjoy, #4 - Murder List, and #5 - Slow Burn (I have also listened to the abridged versions of Killjoy and Murder List in Julie Garwood CD Collection: Killjoy, Murder List, and Slow Burn). All of them have used this phrase. It appears the phrase developed in the 2nd book (where it was used the most frequently) and it stuck. I can't say I mind entirely, as I do find the phrase entertaining. After hearing it in the 2nd book and thinking it was great, it stuck out to me in the 3rd book, making me think "That's funny. She used it again." I didn't think too much of it. When I listened to the 4th, however, I noticed it again. I think somewhere in the 3rd or 4th book I started actually listening for it specifically. It was almost like a game and it made me smile every time I heard it. Sometimes, however, I feel as though it somehow makes all of the female characters seem slightly unoriginal. Garwood makes up for this by creating such vivid (original) characters in each book that it seems like a mere coincidence (and perhaps it is; I do not know whether or not Garwood is aware of this trend). Now that I've come to look forward to when it's used in each book, I sincerely hope she does not stop using it. I have recently ordered Shadow Dance (again, as the 1st appears to have gotten lost in the mail) and will definitely be listening for it when it arrives (whether intentionally or not).

Conclusion : I did on a whole enjoy the book. It really was enjoyable to listen to. It just didn't draw me in as much as some of the other books in the Buchanan-Renard series. Still, absolutely a fun read and I am looking forward to continuing the series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2017
It is so slow , especially the beginning. Maybe if I was reading it, instead of listening to it, I could have skimmed through those parts. I made myself fininish it and then donated it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2017
Characters not well defined. Liked the story line. Romance was a little over the top. But enjoyed the book.. A page turner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse