Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now toystl17_gno

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 240 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 485 reviews
on January 25, 2016
I normally love every book I read by Garwood. But the guarantee way to lose my interest is contradiction. Did she write half then come back years later to complete without re-reading what she wrote? First nick wants the family and Laurent does not. Laurent had the failed relationship and closeness issues whitening had large close family then 5 pages later nick wanted kids and was never close to anyone. Could not finish it changing personalities and back story within a few chapters.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
I adore JG historicals but I was very disappointed in this book. I put off reading it forever because its not a historical. I should have gone with my gut and not read it. The audio version was beyond bad. The woman sounded like a robot. I don't even think this book deserves 3 stars but there parts I really liked so I gave it a 3 star rating. There isn't another person in this world that can write historicals like JG and it's heartbreaking to see she has stopped writing them.

What I didn't like about this book:
Figured out who the unsub was immediately
Only 1 sexy time, and it was disappointing
No alpha male
Didn't feel the love between the H&h, and that shocks me because JG always makes the reader FEEL

I'll stick to her historicals. Even though I didn't like this book JG is still my favorite author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2016
Julie does contemporary with all the right stuff; mystery, thriller, who-done-it, suspense and romance in a story you have to start on Friday night. You won't want to put it down even to answer the phone. The spiteful actions of one man wanting to make a name for himself have repercussions that astound time and time again. Pay attention to the details because every word is woven intricately into the whole. The FBI, the psychiatrist, the churchman, the serial killer, the woman - everyone has a part. Obsessions, egoes, power, narcissism, competition, and the race to identify the killer before he gets to the heroine.
It begins in the confessional and ends with a showdown. The best thing about it is that this is the book that begins the Buchanan / Renard series, so there are lots more to read. You will wonder why you haven't read Julie Garwood before.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2013
The price range of this book was a little higher than I usually like to pay for a kindle book. I would be more likely to check it out at the library. However, I was really desperate for a quality book today, so I have it a try. I'm glad I did. It was long enough and good enough to make it worthwhile. I thought the storyline was believable, and although I had suspicions, the ending was still a surprise. The romance was great and steamy without filling every other page with graphic sex. Also, while the nature of the crimes was horrific, this book was without gory explicit descriptions. While I sometimes like a steamier or more graphically scary book. I more often enjoy a story like this full of just enough steam and suspense to get my imagination going. I really liked the characters in this story and will be reading more by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2015
I have gone back to reread this one.
I know it was one of my favorites because I shared the book with my mother & 2 sisters all those many years ago. They were enthusiastic readers, also.
I had forgotten the instigation for the plot. I did remember a priest, a sister, a big family & the FBI.
I must say it was as must fun & excitement this time as the first time.
I particularly enjoyed the honor of the men in the heroic roles. I also loved the fact that Laurant, our leading lady, was not a beautiful airhead. She had character and determination to do things her way.
The "bad guy" was truly nasty and evil. He could easily have fit in the Criminal Minds series.
The story moved along quickly. There were several different things going on at the same time- similar to our normal lives. They all tied together near the end. There truly were no boring sections you would want to gloss over.
I am glad I reread this book. Julie Garwood's writing has always been well-done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
I really enjoyed this thriller. The main characters are intriguing and I'm ecstatic that it's a series. I literally could not put the book down. And, some romance, too. Great start to what I hope will be a great series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2017
Such a good book, so loved it ,love the way Julie Garwood writes so funny and heart warming. I always look for her books, she writes with such flaire, and its a little mystery as well as funny with lots of people showing there love for each other.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2011
FBI Agent Nick Buchanan signs on to help out his best friend Tommy Madden, a priest, who has taken the confession of a man who plans to murder Tommy's sister, Laurant. Nick enlists the help of fellow agent Noah Clayborne and the action moves to Holy Oaks, Kansas. Nick is assigned to be with Laurant 24/7 and Noah with Tommy. As you can imagine, there's the inevitable attraction between Nick and Laurant and you'll root for them.

This story has humor (especially the scenes involving Noah), romance and suspense all well-paced around interesting and likable characters. It held my interest throughout and delivered a thrilling end to the mystery. Enough information was provided to figure out the identity of the killer but it wasn't obvious and I was able to deduce the person but even then there was an interesting twist I didn't foresee.

Garwood has done what most find difficult to do with the first novel of a series and that is to have it be a really good book. I'm excited about finishing the series. I recommend this for all that like suspenseful, contemporary romance stories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
But a great ending. I love Julie Garwood and her historical romance novels so I was sad to see that she went contemporary but really looking forward to what I anticipated to be another great read. I have to admit that some of the lure was lost in translation and it read more like a suspense novel rather than the hot and heavy romance novels I was used to. But I will say the climax made up for the slow start and the bits of humor throughout made it an enjoyable story. Why 3 stars...it was a little predictable. I knew who the unsub was, why he was doing it, how he found them, and who he was pretending to be. Yet, there was still enough to the story to only suspect who he was masquerading as so the story remained interesting. I know this was her first contemporary romance and while I'm looking forward to her next attempt, I sure hope to see more of the supreme alpha male, hot and heavy that I loved so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2016
Heartbreaker is a book that gives the confessuinal a whole new viewpoint on what we were taught as children. It's spooky and in some ways shocking, but an excellent read. It may have been her first attempt at writing modren day mysteries, but she sure packed a wallop in this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here