Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Get $5 off book purchases over $20* Use promo code GIFTBOOK17 Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by us the duo STEM $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Show Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop Now HTL17_gno



Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Critical). See all 140 reviews
on April 21, 2015
I have read several of Brenda Jackson's books and generally enjoy them. But, this one was so old fashion and sexist, I couldn't believe it.
A grown women needs her brothers permission to live her life. Then when she moves away, her crush has to watch over her. Christie Madaris didn't seem like a grown women, but a little girl pretending to be grown. Usually, I can get with the fantasy of Brenda Jackson's books where the men are almost perfect. But, the women are usually strong and can hold their own. Even though, the book ended okay. I was disappointed in the portrayal of Christie Madaris.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2012
If you are expecting your typical Brenda Jackson romance book, this is not the book for you. This is more of a mystery book for certain. I really didnt feel a heated chemistry between Cristy and Alex that I thought I would feel. After I read Surrender All I just knew this story would be great.....I love Brenda Jackson and will continue to read her works....this one just wasnt for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
Although I am such a fan, this is probably my least favorite of the Madaris series. Still worth reading...if you're a die-hard fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2015
This book was just ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
My number one problem with this book is that the Madaris clan is too perfect.I prefer reading about the friends rather than them. Second problem the scene when Christy has the date rape drug in her drink. They don't call the police because they don't want Christy involved in a scandal?! Come the freak on!!! I think that that is just irresponsible writing on her part. What kind of message does that send? And what of the great Madaris pride? She's too prideful to forgive a man she loves for spurring some childhood crush, but not prideful enough to make a would be rapist and accomplice who works as a bartender pay for breaking the law, and putting other unsuspecting women at risk?! Christy was stupid in the book from start to finish and her brothers and the grandmother were so irritating. I just read Brenda Jackson to pass the time but this book just turned me off from reading anymore about the perfect Madaris clan. I have the books about the three brothers but ill just give them back to the person who gave them to me. I usually don't like the women the Madaris men marry anyway. I'm so sick of reading about how beautiful Syneda is.Why? Because she's blond. Oh please. Unfinished Business is the last Brenda Jackson book I'll read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2014
I give this book 3 stars because the story line is interesting. I thought there was a little too much fluff for my liking. Of course everyone is rich and beautiful and all the married couples are madly and deeply in love.
I thought it was annoying how Alex was trying to assert himself in her life when Chisty said she didn't want him in her life. I skipped the sex scenes because they were so long and I didn't care to read about them. Some of the names in this book are horrible. Blade, Slade, and Shemell. What kind of names are those? If you want total escapism and fluff read this book.
The one thing I did like is you could see how Alex and Christy were made for each other and why they loved each other.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2005
Platinum Reviewers 3.5

Brenda Jackson has brought us all of the loving Mandaris' and their friends but now its time for her to return to the situation that everyone has been wondering about its time to return to Christy and Alex. If you're a die hard Brenda Jackson fan you know that Alex made a promise to Christy when she was just thirteen but later broke it and as a die hard Jackson fan we have all heard the story of how a Mandaris' pride is their downfall at times.

Christy Mandaris has always loved Alex but when it comes time to lick her wounds and move on after he broke her heart she finds that leaving Texas is the only way to make it happen so when a job offer comes through Christy makes no whimpers about leaving her family to mend her heart but not before her brothers can step in and ask a childhood friend to keep an eye on her not knowing that they have set up the inevitable without realizing it. Alex Maxwell had always seen Christy as his best friends little sister but when she returns from college he starts to notice more about her and soon finds himself wanting her in a way that isn't natural but he will do everything to have her even risk the friendship with her brothers.

Brenda Jackson writes an unforgettable plot that leaves her reader waiting on the next book from the Mandaris' family and friends. While I think the part was missing some parts I still believe that Mrs. Jackson wrote an unforgettable book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2009
For me, if a book is really great, I would finish it in a day. This book took me almost 2 weeks to read just because I forgot that I had the book at times. I wasn't excited to finish.
I felt it took too long to get to the good part and when it did, it was over too soon.
What I did love about the book was revisiting the Madarises and their friends. This family is so cute and spunky.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2005
I thought the book was over the top. Although I did enjoy the last three or four chapters of the book the rest was just okay to me. I have to admit there were some very hot scenes between Alex and Christy. I wouldn't mind reading a story about the Sheik I hope in the future Ms. Jackson does his story. Although I didn't care for this book I will still continue to support Ms. Jackson I am a big fan of hers.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2006
I really like Brenda Jackson's books and this one was a good book I guess, but I found it to be very repetitious and too detailed. This book just didn't do it for me like a few of the other books I've read by her. None the less though, I will still read more of her books.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse