Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Acoutsic Christmas STEM Limited time offer Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Critical). See all 55 reviews
on July 15, 2011
I was super excited to discover this series...and then to find out that Brenda Jackson and Adrianne Byrd were part of it? Lawd, I was overjoyed! Then I started reading this book - and have been left wondering who really wrote it, cause there is no way that this is the same Brenda Jackson that I know and love!

I'm sorry, but this book did nothing for me. I don't mind a little fantasy when reading, so I can usually buy whatever the storyline is, but this one just annoyed me with the whole fear of being 'in the spotlight' thing; even reading the phrase 'in the spotlight' got on my nerves eventually. None of the characters were that interesting and the whole book was just blah. Even the love scenes were so-so. Ms. Brenda, you are better than this!

I already bought all four books, so I have no choice but to keep reading, but I really, really hope the series improves.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 11, 2012
I like the story as a whole. It was a bit on the predictable side.

I felt like the herione's aversion to the limelight theme was over blown and the reason for her fear of it a bit lame. In the end her sudden capitulation to being in the limelight was a little to late in the story to be believable. Had it happen at the time they were outted, I would have been more satisfied with the capitulation, and the theme that she was truly in love with the hero.

As a rule I like Brenda Jackson's work, and I did like this story, but some of her others were much better done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 11, 2014
No my favorite Brenda Jackson book, but it was ok. The passion scenes were a little lacking compared to her usual style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 13, 2014
same old same all the men or rich and powerful I ENJOY THAT AT THE BEGINNING but now it rather blasé
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2011
I'm gonna do this one in a way that I haven't before... I'm posting my notes that I took down as I was reading the book.

3 chapters in and it's still almost nothing but backstory. And far too much telling, rather than showing. *yawn*

Very slow start. If it doesn't pick up soon, I'll have to DNF it, and I really don't want to do that.

Chapter 4 - I know Paige is supposed to be the thorn in Rachel & Ethan's sides, but I just can't be bothered to care. She doesn't seem manipulative or mean or any of the classic villainess characteristics. She just seems annoying.

Chapter 5 - I don't feel the chemistry between Rachel and Ethan. I'm sorry, and I hate to do it, but I've got to DNF this one as well. I'm not captivated, engaged, entranced, or any of the $10 words that mean my attention is solely on this book. In fact, I'm finding reasons to do things other than read, and that's the worst sign ever when it comes to reviewing a book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 12, 2011
I really tried to finish this book, I really did. It was very difficult to force myself to complete this novel. This was my first Brenda Jackson novel, and I was very dissapointed. Her writing was good, that wasn't the problem with this novel. Maybe it was the fact that the story wasn't a very challenging read?? Maybe the whole scenario was very cliche'??? I couldn't finish. I did not get past chapter 5 and I'm very surprised I made it that far. I'm going to give her another chance though...maybe someone can give me some suggestions of a GOOD Brenda Jackson book :-).
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 15, 2010
I have to say I'm not thrilled with this novel. I love Brenda Jackson, but I should have known from the ridiculous cover that this book was not going to be what I expected. The whole premise of this novel is the idea that a 'playboy' falls for a nice, good girl, but she's too afraid of being in the limelight, that she starts to forsake their love. Of course, there is a happy ending, but you begin to wonder if men really put up with the " I can't be with you" line for as long as he did and still keep saying " I love you, I love you, I love you." It gets old.
Anyway, I love Brenda Jackson so I will continue to read her stuff, but I can't give this one a whole bunch of stars because it would be undeserving.
Better luck next time.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 7, 2015
This book's story line was slow. My heart broke for Rachel. I wish this story had less background & more chemistry & romance. I love Brenda Jackson books but this one wasn't all that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 10, 2011
This was the 1st book of the series and it was okay. I love Brenda Jackson but this book was slow and predictable. It was my least favorite of the Lime Light Series BUT the series is worth reading because #2 and #4 are AMAZING!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 20, 2014
Love Brenda Jackson. All her books end in love and marriage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here