Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 5, 2015
Wonderful book, and I'm not even a particular fan of most the genres (it's a genre-bender of fantasy/scifi/romance/suspense). The characters and the plot are first class suspense, the romance is touching without being soppy, and the writing so good that I'm able to suspend my disbelief, something that I can rarely do with fantasy/romance novels. Just an all-round good read, hard to put down, and sad to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2014
Blessed be... After you finish reading this book you will think this.... What a great book... I really enjoyed it... I finished it in one night it was that good .... Great job to the author.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2008
Love Last Forever was an interesting book with an interesting time travel concept. The suspense is what held everything together. However, I was annoyed by how much they lusted after each other when i could have sworn that 'love' was part of the title. If the main characters were just a little interested in each other and not each other's bodies then i would have enjoyed it more. I was surprised to find that it is never explained how the timepiece works in order for Thor to get back and forth through time! That would have been cool to find out! lol And if I never hear 'Blessed be' again in my life, i wouldn't be disappointed. So this book could be better...but it isn't.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
Blessed Be! Drove me nuts!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
This is a really good read! It's pretty sexually explicit...which was a bit much for me, personally. But if that doesn't bother you, it's fine. Only real problem I had was with the typos. I don't know who the editor is but...there were a lot of typos that seems easy to notice. But read it! You'll enjoy. :) If you like this book, you'll LOVE 'Kindred' by Octavia Butler and vice versa.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Having been raised in Atlanta, I especially enjoyed the fact that the male lead character, Thor had been a quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons, and that the story itself took place in GA. The story was quite interesting and believable, and I thought the author did a really good job of transitioning the characters to and from the past with great ease. If you are a fan of stories with an historical theme, and an interracial love story, I highly recommend adding this wonderful book to your personal library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
I love time travel stories and I always appreciate and great interracial love tale. This story is riveting from beginning to end!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2006
I read this book in two days because it was that good! The author did a good job of building the main character's backgrounds and conveying the closeness Thor felt for his family as well as with Willow and her adopted family. It was a good mixture of romance with a little bit of suspense that kept my attention as well as a well developed story. Can't wait for this author's next book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2006
LOVE LASTS FOREVER by Dominiqua Douglas is a historical love story that crosses centuries and color lines.

In October of 1985, Thor Magnusen is a professional football player who winds up injuring himself and ending his career. His entire life is football and he has no idea what he is going to do. Thor constantly stays cooped up in his house replaying the video of his injury. His father and brother try to cheer him up and take his mind off of things, and even teach him a little family history, but Thor shows no interest whatsoever. All of his concerns lie on the football field with his former team, the Atlanta Falcons. In another effort to take his mind off things, Thor's father invites him to go fishing with him and his brother Cal. Reluctantly, he does agree to go, and while away he is given an old family heirloom, a timepiece, that changes his life forever.

While sitting under a tree at the lake and messing with the timepiece, Thor falls asleep and when he wakes up, he is in another place and another time. He is still dressed the same, but his surroundings are different and he notices an African-American woman at the stream getting water. Unbeknownst to Thor, he has just woke up in the year of 1860 right outside the home of his ancestors. The woman at the lake is a lady by the name of Willow and she is a caregiver to Thor's great-great-great-great grandmother.

It is love at first sight when Thor and Willow first lay eyes on one another. Although he is currently in 1860 where interracial dating is not allowed, he still has views and beliefs from the 80's. During the course of time that he is trapped in history, he gets involved in the Underground Railroad and falls deeply in love with Willow. Willow is from a time where white men are seen as superior and feels she shouldn't feel the way she does about Thor. When they are together, secretly of course, color doesn't matter and all they want is to be together. Thor shares with Willow that he is from the future and wants to take her back with him so she can have better opportunities for a happy, healthy, successful life. He also has the chance to meet and get to know his ancestors and begins to appreciate his history as well as the life he currently lives. Can Willow leave behind life as she knows it for the man she loves?

LOVE LASTS FOREVER is a heartfelt love story about two very different people from two very different worlds. The story was well-written and the characters were extremely well-developed. The writing captivated me in such a way that I felt the emotions of the characters. The happiness, sadness and the decisions they had to make I felt as if I had a part in the process. The art of combining both eras gives you the chance to appreciate both the history, as well as how far the world has evolved in the current day. Douglas' debut novel will keep your attention from the first to last page. A refreshing new voice in the literary industry, Douglas has entered the literary world with a bang.

Reviewed by Eraina B. Tinnin

of The RAWSISTAZ™ Reviewers
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2006
In this different twist to the meaning "star crossed lovers". Thor Magnusen's NFL quarterback career comes to a crashing halt after a damaging tackle not only shattered his collarbone, broke his arm, but also destroyed his hopes of NFL glory. Over a year after the injury Thor is still tormented by that day, trapped in misery he can't seem to escape. In contrast Willow Elkridge is a free Black woman whose dream for equality goes beyond attending Oberlin College a school for Negro's. Her foster parents provide a safe and loving home after her mother and father are killed by patrollers but Willow's true desire is to fight in the struggle against the injustice of slavery.

Bo Magnusen, Thor's father and his brother Cal rescue him from the dismal confines of his home to relax at the family cabin built by his great-great-granddaddy, Anders. The discovery of a rusty, heirloom pocket watch tucked in a chest at the cabin keeps Thor up much of the night repairing it. Opting to walk and enjoy the comfort of his surroundings, Thor wakes after a nap headed back to the cabin he remembers. On the way he spots Willow in what appears to him outdated clothing but he is immediately captivated by her essence, and gives male appreciation to her beauty. First believing the scene an elaborate joke, he finds himself hurled back in time and a place where Black Men are not respected and pitted as equals on a football field but are sold as property, un-equal and bound by hatred in cotton fields. Willow is startled to see Mr. Anders walking out of the woods and even more at the way he is looking at her. That is until she learns the secret of the stranger with the familiar face, brilliant blue eyes, curious mannerism and compassionate views of humanity and realizes he is truly a man before his time.

Drawn into the fight for the right to freedom, Thor works with Willow on a dangerous mission to save and reunite a family making himself a part of the historical Underground Railroad. Glimpsing the love of his great-great-grandparents and the sacrifices of people like the Reverend and Olivia, Thor learns to cherish life beyond football and gains his own freedom over personal bondage. Thor and Willow know the love they've found in each other is dangerous during such a divided era. But, he must either convince her to come with him and share a more hopefilled future or decide to remain with her in an uncertain past.

Dominiqua Douglas debut novel is a beautiful, mystical, Sci-fi journey through past, present and future for Willow and Thor and proving the power of LOVE LASTS FOREVER. Kudos!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here